Senior Kev?
Why the fuck would that be more important then C’Martyr winning Kev? :rolleyes:
FFS.
Yes, and elsewhere Erins Own beat Ballinhassig & Cloyne beat Blackrock.
Ya, Piarsaigh were one of the favourites, have a good young team themselves, but they also had the 2 Gardiners and the 2 O’ Halpins. Midleton are ridiculously young and they are after beating Sars and Piarsaigh now this year. Newtown won’t be what they were, so i can see Erins Own and Sars being their main rivals now. Cork hurling has always done well when Midleton were going well, they have about 9 or 10 Cork Minors & U-21’s on the team now, all very recent. Luke O’ Farrell and Paul Haughney did all the damage, 2 of Corks best Minors (supposedly) in recent years, although i have never really seen O’ Farrell been any more than adequate, but i’m told he’s the real deal and just needs time to get over injury.
I’d fancy the famous Blackrock to be relegated now after Cloyne beat them, they play the losers of Bride & Blarney, both who’d i’d rate higher than them.
Ballhassig hit away the game against Erins Own i believe, standard operating procedure for the Blues to hit 7 or 8 wides in the last 1/4.
Midleton in the Junior final i’d say Turenne ya? We played Mayfield again there recently in a challenge, they are very tasty hurlers for Junior. Nicky Kelly is far too good for it, literally waltzing around the place scoring long range points, there is a bit of Cha about him.
Should be Midleton in the final imo, they have three Cork Minors playing for them (and another lad who would have started but turned them down). Anyone, will know in a few hours.
A massive amount of bitterness in Cork over the recent Nemo Rangers-Valley Rovers Senior football championship game. Could be serious issues out of it.
Quick backround;
- A young man from Knockavilla unfortunately took his own life 4-5 days before the game, knockavilla is a place near Bandon and would be Valley Rovers territory.
- He was close to a number of the Valleys players, and played himself for a long time
- He had some hassle with the law over recent times, there was accusations of him being bullied, or at least rumours of such.
- One of the Guards in Bandon is a Nemo Rangers player, said Guard is extremely unpopular down there
- After the death Valleys asked for an extra 4-5 days for the game to be played, reasonable considering there was games upto wednesday night being played involving Cork players.
- Nemo refused to play ball
I read the match report the next morning, read it was a very violent game, with fights breaking out all over the shop, late tackles etc going on the whole time. Whats transpired since;
- Rumours of nasty comments being made by Nemo players, i say rumours as the only people who ever really know about these are the guys on the pitch, but still;, one or two Nemo lads have form here.
- James Masters got his jaw broken, i’m not suggesting he said anything too bad, but he is a cop in Bandon…
- Its believed the cops are looking into it all
Some of ye might remember a story about an off duty cop being beaten up by a 2 Valleys players last year. That was swept under the carpet in the end, despite it looking like jail time. It is also rumored that one of the lads involved was the man who hit the Nemo player. He’ll do time this time i’d say if it gets legal.
Oh i hope Valleys get promoted to Div1 for next year, and draw nemo in 1st round. Will be great craic altogether.
What 3 Minors? lehane is surely playing senior?
I’ve heard it a few times now from Cork people that Masters is fucking despised down there. An absolute cunt of a guard I’ve been told.
You’ve been talking to the right people. Petty and insulting i believe.
Its pretty hard for a cop who was a county footballer to be so disliked in a GAA mad area like down there, but he seem to have nailed it.
O’Mahony, Moore and Burke. There is a second O’Mahony who would have started for the Cork team but refused to play due to his leaving. Hopefully they’ll hammer Dungourney today and will lose a couple of players next weekend.
It’ll be a tough final anyway, even though Midleton are a second team they are supposed to be taking this very seriously, have a serious team and are supposedly gunning for ‘revenge’ after losing to us last year. Dungoruney are just a shower of dirty cunts from a few miles up the road.
Masters is the gay chap iirc, probably some vicious bigotry from the Valley lads ala Sherlock in the early 90s. :unsure:
Ya the big clubs 2nd teams are very strong these days, Muskerry could be won by either Ballincollig, Inniscarra or Blarney this year, all pretty good. Clough Duv, Grenagh and Ballinora are the only decent 1st teams anymore. Midleton were Intermediate as well back along weren’t they? I’d say thats what they are aiming for.
Wouldn’t be overly worried about Cork Minors playing junior though, i’ve found in the past that they thrive more at Senior and maybe premier Intermediate where the speed of the game means they can avoid the physical stuff. When Tom Kenny was playing unreal stuff for the Cork Minors he always struggled in the Junior with Grenagh. Dara Ring is the same with Clough Duv.
Quite possible Turenne, i wouldn’t have a massive amount of time for certain Valleys players/former players/mentors. I think it was just a large grass field full of cunts that day, i just wish i hadn’t forgotten about it and gone down.
Dungourney/Castlemartyr final it is, should be interesting and filthy.
Sars and Bride Rovers won in Cork. Was at the Sars/Killeagh match, awful quality altogether.
Some good value in Powers pricing of the Limerick SFC games this weekend. One stand out game in particular.
CIT beat B’Town by 8 points tonight. Have a strong enough team to worry some of the big clubs, with Dillon, Desmond, McLoughlin, Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton) and Adrian Mannix.
Ya, i picked them as dark horse at start of the year, they are through the summer now and still in it. Its a very young championship this year.
Newtown are 1/10 this saturday, yet i think they are slightly vulenerable. Still favourites, but they could get rattled by Cloyne who got a big monkey off their back at the weekend.
Apparently Newtown absolutely hammered the Galway U-21s a while back, put seven goals on them. :unsure: Clyone are a one man attack really, an intermediate team in the waiting (along with 3-4 others at this grade).
20th Aug 2010
18:30 Carrigtwohill v Bride Rovers 8/11 9/1 6/5
18:30 St Finbarrs v Glen Rovers evens 8/1 10/11
18:30 Newtownshandrum v Cloyne 1/10 14/1 5/1
Carrig/Bride draw and Glen Rovers win…?
Jaysus, thats the end of that so. I always thought they’d struggle when the O’ Connors got old (and they are struggling), but it doesn’t seem so with results like that. Cloyne are limited alright, but are on a high i believe after last week.
Pity the run of good Intermediate sides has dried up, anyone going up now will be down within 2-3 years, Douglas being an exception. Courceys or Ballymartle or Tracton are nice teams, but are all caught for size and/or real scoring power.