The Official Irish Times Best Places to Holiday in Ireland Thread

Up north formanagh

Heading back to Killarney next week for a few nights with the kids

Anything down there I should do with the kids - will probably tip over to Dingle one of the days, is the dolphin thing worth doing?

Had to cancel a trip to London with herself end of next week due to the hurling QFs - all picture no sound at the moment but she’ll come around

Mate, you’re going to have to tell us what your role with the Cork hurling team is once and for all rather than alluding to it every now and then. I know someone who was outed in REAL LIFE on TFK and he lived to tell the tale, albeit he was sacked from work.

Who was that, pal? pm there, thanks.

I just know some people involved is all. “Had to cancel” was over stating it - more like “wasn’t going to miss it”.

I have deep GAA connections pal. I have a cousin on the Galway panel too.

Most of the “touristy” things to do in Killarney are for yanks. Horse and cart rides etc.
Muckross house is grand, but wouldn’t suit young kids I’d say, we’d a right snooty one taking us around the last time we were there kept talking in a really condescending tone to the kids in the group about behaving and not touching things. Kids had nothing to do with me, but I wanted to deck her after about 5 minutes of it.
The tour is also a bit simplistic as well aimed at the yanks rather than anyone Irish. Boring as fuck really. I didn’t learn much from it anyway.
The grounds are fantastic there in fairness, well worth a walk around.

Killarney is a great spot for pubs and food, I’d use it as a base and for evening entertainment rather than trying to spend a day there. You’ll have no hassle finding good food or pubs with live music (no matter what day of the week you are there).

Ring of Kerry obviously is the main thing to do from Killarney, loads of nice beaches & villages on the way around. Torc Waterfall, Gap of Dunloe, Valentia etc.
If you were doing Dingle on one of the days then Inch is a nice quiet beach on the way back. The Maherees which are just outside Castlegregory aren’t on the way back but not a million miles away. They have a water sports thing there, trampoline out in the sea that kind of stuff which is good craic in good weather.
There’s an aquarium in Dingle which is grand as well, load of penguins etc in there.
Fungi is worth a trip if it’s a nice day, bit of rob though.

If the weather is bad the Aquadome in Tralee will pass a few hours, an Irish version of a waterpark.

great stuff - thanks

Was in Muckross on the last trip - grounds are great but not much there for young kids

If someone was in the Dublin region for a few days and wanted to spend an afternoon at the seaside, go to arcades and eat nice fish & chips where would be best?

Bray is your only option pal.

I’m pretty sure I’ve never been in Wicklow :flushed:

Are there no arcades out Dun Laoghaire way now?

Re Dingle: If the kids haven’t seen it before, the Fungi thing is worth it. There’s also sea kayaking in the Harbour over to the caves that would keep the kids busy If you have time take a spin out to the Slea Head drive and stop off at a few spots along the way like Paidi’s pub, the Beehive huts etc. I thought the trip to the Blasket Islands was good but you could be struggling for time.

Don’t think so.

@artfoley?

There is no beach either

There’s a “casino” on Georges st and that’s as good as it gets.

@TreatyStones just head to courtown, get fish and chips in the dinky and enjoy the 2 arcades

Bray is a grand spot for an afternoon
wicklow is great actually, Powerscourt, Glendalough, the wicklow gap, wicklow town

dublin coast is boring
dun laoire pier is nice, but like u have that in Foynes

Any posters ever been to Lahinch midweek. Yay or nay?

Dun Laoghaire would tick those boxes except the arcades are more dingy casinos.
when u up?

Be grand in the summer I’d defer to resident expert @Mac though

Has he been there before?

All depends what your looking for.
Midweek it would be nice and quiet.
Nothing mad about the place but a good base to tour west Clare.
Surfing and golf if your into them.
No beach when the tide is in so plan accordingly.