2010 Football and Hurling Championship Draws

Ye gonna put up a fight this year lads?

The provincial championships (in their present guise) mean absolutely nothing. Kerry arrogantly told us all that after the All-Ireland this year.

[quote=“Mac”]In what way? Are you lads going to go on strike to get em changed or something?

Out of interest Kev, what are Cork folk striking over this winter? T’wouldn’t be the same without it.[/quote]

[quote=“Bandage”]They’re unhappy with some aspects of the Civil Partnership Bill apparently.

I’ve a vague recollection of those Galway bastards only coming into Leinster on the proviso that games would be played at neutral so I take it we’re not at home to them.[/quote]

Ok lads, get them in now. I can see the only things happening are 2 or 3 retirements, thats the only excitement you’ll get in Cork.

The CB have even met with the Clubs Forum after last years debacle, and things are going well. Everything will, eventually, get more streamlined, democratic and i expect the fixtures to get sorted reasonably well also.

God help ye all when we get our house in order, thats all i can say.

Maybe not to the counties who have a chance of reaching Croke Park every year, but to the smaller/weaker counties it matters a great deal. Cork and Kerry can lose the first round and still be relatively confident of being in Croke Park for the quarter finals, only a handful of counties can say that. The draw for Limerick means, no disrespect to Clare or Waterford, that we basically have another chance to better ourselves from last year. Because of the system of the draw we are only 2 games away from Croke Park, which would give a huge boost to football in the county. The same could not be said if we had drawn Kerry in the quarter final round and then had to negotiate 4 or 5 rounds of the qualfiers.

Spot on Runty, for example, I have a feeling the provincial championships will mean a huge amount to the likes of Leitrim, Roscommon, Antrim, Limerick, Kildare, Wicklow to name just a few of the footballing sides.

But isn’t that the whole failuer, the whole system is wrong. Why should Limerick get a better run than the 2 All-Irelands finalists? I’m been devils advocate here now. If it was an open draw with one losers game, or say a group of 4 situation, then Limerick, or anyone else would get better from playing different opsosition.

As it is i don’t think teams are even. And in alot of ways the present system helps the big counties in that they can train hard right through May, while Limerick are trying to peak then. If everyone had a stream lined system it might even things off over a couple of years.

Wrong with Wicklow for one anyway, they got more from the qualifiers than they’d ever get from the Leinster.

Your whole season, and how and when you train for it, shouldn’t be down to a few balls coming out of a hat, thats my main point.

It seems counties are happy with “a bit of a run”, when they should be aiming higher. There is absolutely no reason that a small populated county can’t be highly successful, look at Killkenny.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]But isn’t that the whole failuer, the whole system is wrong. Why should Limerick get a better run than the 2 All-Irelands finalists? I’m been devils advocate here now. If it was an open draw with one losers game, or say a group of 4 situation, then Limerick, or anyone else would get better from playing different opsosition.

As it is i don’t think teams are even. And in alot of ways the present system helps the big counties in that they can train hard right through May, while Limerick are trying to peak then. If everyone had a stream lined system it might even things off over a couple of years.[/quote]

But that’s not what you said earlier. You said why would anyone care about the draw? People care about the draw because that’s the system we are currently playing. Limerick can’t just decide “nah we’re going playing Caoimhaoin’s system instead, he’s from Cork you know?”.

Ok, fair enough, i wasn’t looking from a Limerick point of view, apologies.
But what i was saying is, ye shouldn’t really care either. A Munster title now is completely devalued, Kerry (and i suspect Cork now as well) don’t give a rattlers about it. I think Dublin may do the same, Galway definitely will with Kernan.
They may pass the lip service, but should any of them win the All-Ireland you’ll see a different story.

I would thing, not being from Limerick, that getting to an All-Ireland semi final would be 100 times the achievement of winning a Munster title for 2010 for Limerick, or Sligo or any of those similar teams mentioned.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ok, fair enough, i wasn’t looking from a Limerick point of view, apologies.
But what i was saying is, ye shouldn’t really care either. A Munster title now is completely devalued, Kerry (and i suspect Cork now as well) don’t give a rattlers about it. I think Dublin may do the same, Galway definitely will with Kernan.
They may pass the lip service, but should any of them win the All-Ireland you’ll see a different story.

I would thing, not being from Limerick, that getting to an All-Ireland semi final would be 100 times the achievement of winning a Munster title for 2010 for Limerick, or Sligo or any of those similar teams mentioned.[/quote]

It’s a physcological thing. We haven’t won anything in about 100 years. I’ve seen Limerick football teams fail to close out games countless times over the years. There is this nagging doubt in the back of all Limerick peoples heads that we are just destined for failure. I said it at half time in the Munster final this year, I meet a old friend of mine in the jacks and he was ecstatic at the first half performance, my only response was “It’s a pity we know how it ends”.

I would take Limerick winning a Munster over a narrow All Ireland semi final loss any day of the week and I would be pretty sure the majority of Limerick folk would think the same. Other than that it’s just another group of Limerick footballers with another “how close we came” story while looking at an empty sideboard. Until we have a few trophies and instilled a sense of confidence within in the team then winning Munster has to be the goal at the start of the year. It’s grand for Cork and Kerry players with heaps of titles under their belts to say Munster doesn’t mean anything anymore. You know the old saying, Familiarity breeds contempt.

[quote=“The Runt”]It’s a physcological thing. We haven’t won anything in about 100 years. I’ve seen Limerick football teams fail to close out games countless times over the years. There is this nagging doubt in the back of all Limerick peoples heads that we are just destined for failure. I said it at half time in the Munster final this year, I meet a old friend of mine in the jacks and he was ecstatic at the first half performance, my only response was “It’s a pity we know how it ends”.

I would take Limerick winning a Munster over a narrow All Ireland semi final loss any day of the week and I would be pretty sure the majority of Limerick folk would think the same. Other than that it’s just another group of Limerick footballers with another “how close we came” story while looking at an empty sideboard. Until we have a few trophies and instilled a sense of confidence within in the team then winning Munster has to be the goal at the start of the year. It’s grand for Cork and Kerry players with heaps of titles under their belts to say Munster doesn’t mean anything anymore. You know the old saying, Familiarity breeds contempt.[/quote]

well said Runty.
there isn’t a man alive who has seen a Limerick football team win a Munster Championship.
I’d dine out on the occasion for a week after it.
start off at home, then tour south limerick, before heading to the city via bruff and kilmallock, then generally moseying in the direction of the kerry border, stopping in every shebeen on the way.
end up in abbeyfeale and start tearing down the kerry flags.

if the footballers could offer a realistic chance of silverware, it could help playing numbers, and would be a kick in the hole for a few hurlers too.

Getting back to the draw, Kildare will be extremely happy with the Leinster draw. They’ve avoided the big guns of Dublin, Meath and Laois and instead only have chaff to negotiate their way through to get back to another Leinster final.

Micko will love that draw. With a side like Wicklow they have no dream or aspirations of winning All Ireland, a run in the back door is grand, but in the end, where does it leave you? For a side like Wicklow a provincial final appearance is the be all and end all for them, and I think this year, they only have the likes of Carlow, Westmeath to negotiate, at that point they will most likely meet Kildare in a Leinste semi final. Micko will have them well up for that.

Chalk it down, Wicklow could make a Leinster final this year. That would by far outdo anything they managed last season.

[quote=“treaty_exile”]well said Runty.
there isn’t a man alive who has seen a Limerick football team win a Munster Championship.
I’d dine out on the occasion for a week after it.
start off at home, then tour south limerick, before heading to the city via bruff and kilmallock, then generally moseying in the direction of the kerry border, stopping in every shebeen on the way.
end up in abbeyfeale and start tearing down the kerry flags.

if the footballers could offer a realistic chance of silverware, it could help playing numbers, and would be a kick in the hole for a few hurlers too.[/quote]

I’ve gone over my Monday post-Munster Final victory tour in my head too many times now. I somehow doubt I will ever get to do it.

Why were Clare in hurling draw?
Did they not get relegated after failing to win a single competitive senior hurling match?

[quote=“The Runt”]Why were Clare in hurling draw?
Did they not get relegated after failing to win a single competitive senior hurling match?[/quote]

No, it was Wexford that was relegated if memory serves me correctly.

Well they mean ye will fail to make the quarter finals again next year.

Nope, Clare got relegated, Offaly beat Wexford in division 2 final and got promoted.

huh?

It was banter in relation to both Clare and Wexford being muck in last years championship and both of them nearly being relegated from the Liam McCarthy.