2011 Rugby World Cup

im not talking about the fitness of ireland specifically but responding to CD’s observation that rugby as a spectacle is not as it once was and pinpointing phenomenal fitness as a possible contributary factor to this.

i know very little about the finer points of rugby unlike most of the lads who post on this thread but surely there is a small bit of an over reaction to these performances which for all intents and purposes are in meaningless enough matches.

surely these games are being used for experimental purposes and performances will be a reflection of that. It only matters when it matters and would reserve judgement until the real rugby is being played.

Fair enough and your point is a valid one but are you saying compared to other sports rugby players are exceptionally fit? I’m not so sure I’d agree with that.
Rule changes have hampered the game somewhat also I think. After the World Cup if the IRB do nothing else I’d love to see them sort out the scrum, breakdown and take a serious look at the use of performance enhancing substances in rugby. Do those things and I think we’d have a better game.
As for the World Cup if referees are consistent then that is half the battle. Too often guys like Bryce Lawrence and Steve Walsh go out there to get themselves on tv as much as possible though imo.

As Larry has said it was the decision to tap before kicking, as opposed to taking it quickly, that makes no sense. If he just kicks it Ireland can get possession if it goes directly into touch. There’s absolutely nothing to be gained from tapping it to yourself if you’re going to kick regardless from the same position a split second later. All it does is give them a tiny window to retreat and means we surrender possession regardless.

a cancer in professional sport. its amazing watching some of the games on rugby gold and seeing the size of forwards in comparison to today.

Jennings in for Wallace.

Healy not travelling with squad due to an eye injury but nothing too serious.

Healy was eye gouged.

Rocko, you must have been watching a different game as Flannerys line outs were very poor.

We are in a bit of trouble now I reckon.
Team looks poor, lacking a plan, no confidence and key players not performing
While these games are only friendlies its the habit of losing is most worrying.
The backs have been unbelievably bad. Centre is a big worry. D’arcy has been anonymous last 2 games, Earls should count himself lucky to be on the plane. BO’D is lacking game time and unfortunately is getting old- I have faith that he will come good- but just not as good as he was a few years ago. Murphy was fine today, pity Kearney got injured. Bowe was a passenger but then again it was his first game. Trimble has been our best back by a country mile
We don’t seem to be clear on who the half backs will be- I wouldn’t be surprised to see Kideny start ROG and Reddan
The pack has been moderate but we just don’t have the intensity required to compete at the level we are going to. If anything happens to the props or POC or Seanie then we are in deep shit. The lineout has generally been mediocre. We aren’t really competing on the opposition throw and seem to be missing Hayes’ ability to launch the jumper.
I am not confident about the team but hope to be proved wrong.

I get ye now. Yeah, tapping was pointless.

Maybe it’s just a shite sport…

Quite possible, league not championship etc. witness Tipp peaking for 1st Sunday in September for past 2 years, here’s hoping they time it right again tomorrow week…

Jog on you fucking uber bore…

That’s a fair point but if you’re part of a team that loses 4 straight games its hard to stop doubts creeping in about your own and your teams ability. Especially as they followed a poor 6 nations that was only saved by a morale boosting win against England. If a county team lost every single one of its league matches its very hard for them to start in the championship ignoring their poor league performance.

The losses will be overstated for this team but they would have expected to win at least 2 of those games before the start of the series.

Dp

A

Thats ridiculous Fenway. Hurling & Football are both better sports because they are faster.

I was in a bar friday night watching rugby from 2000 between NZ & Oz, and by God it was a better sport then. Rugby is different to GAA in that sense, mainly because its Pro i would suggest, but also because of the coaching. The dynamism of the Aussies pick and go in 2000 was just brilliant and the skills of the likes of Joe Roth and Mortlock were immense. NZ weer just NZ and were always dangerous. Watching it actually ruined the game last night for me(well thats a small exaggeration), while a good game, nowhere near as good as the 2000. I think this is down to coaching but also selection. Big and powerful runners from the Islands and elsewhere are getting picked. Also there are many converts from League. In fairness guys from Digbe Ioane buck the trend a bit and the Aussies have built a fine team which the way they are going will resemble the 2000 team alot more.

In the NH there are less obvious excuses as League transfers are less frequent and there are touches of class throughout the Club scene in France and with Leinster.

Coaching and the pressure on them for their jobs has to be blamed for the low standard as i really don’t buy that Ireland are as bad as they are showing now.

Too many warm up games again this time? Injuries seem a little high or are we about the norm?

Larry who do you think are using drugs?

Hard to say kev given the grossly inadequate testing procedures.in fact it is hardly as if testing procedures are inadequate it is fact there is so little proper testing done.despite all this there is certainly evidence to suggest there is systematic doping in south Africa. Goes far beyond them though IMO.irb are more than happy to turn blind eye given sponsorships etc but problem is only getting worse.denial in sports like rugby reminds me of attitude to it in cycling in the 90s

I really doubt any of the top level pros are doping Larry, really doubt it. No way are the Irish and Aussies anyway, they i know are under alot of scrutiny within their own countries. You would suspect SA sometimes, but genetically they are different to the rest of us anyway. I really would be slow to believe its an issue at any sort of pro level. I know in fee paying schools in Ireland there is an issue, but after that i wouldn’t be sure. The academy guys get a tested alot in Munster anyway.