2012 Cunt of the Year Log Thread

It’s ironic that McGuinness claims that Bogue hadn’t done his research. Where else would you get research for this subject matter but from members of the Donegal panel or management? Is McGuinness actually implying that Bogue should have got the views of more players, despite having thrown the one player who did give his view off the panel?

Sir Alex is to be admired for his stance against the lies told about him and his son in that programme. Sir Alex is most certainly not a cunt. Brian Cody is though.

Lies? When the truth emerges about whisky nose and his cronies I firmly expect him to put Clough in the shade.

It’s fine to criticise Cody and Loughnane but the guru is off limits. His father is ill you know. Lock this thread.

Is Jimmy alleging that the book is Bogue-us?

Jim McGuinness had just completed perhaps the great coaching journey of the modern era in Gaelic football an hour earlier, but when he walked into the post-match press conference it quickly became obvious that he had something on his mind.

The positivity that had radiated from him all season was absent as he fixed his stare on a stopwatch strapped to his arm, clearly gathering his thoughts. He rose from his chair and returned briefly to the ante room that links the TV interview area and the dressing-room corridor.

A representative from the Croke Park press office then re-entered to deliver a request from McGuinness to Declan Bogue, the Ulster-based journalist who had collaborated with Kevin Cassidy for the controversial book ‘This Is Our Year’ that led to Cassidy’s removal from the squad last November, to leave the room. Only if his request was acceded to, it emerged, would he return to conduct any print media interviews.

When McGuinness re-entered the auditorium he gave the background to the request and why, after 10 months, he was now addressing the vexed issue of Cassidy’s contribution and seeking the author’s removal. Bogue had been to all of Donegal’s post-match press conferences this summer without any disapproval from McGuinness and had even been to the Donegal media night in advance of the final three weeks earlier.

But now McGuinness, with the journey complete, was delivering what he felt was the necessary riposte in their time of glory.

"There were a lot of untruths in the book. There was a lot of things said about me. I’ve never broken court on it since the whole thing happened. I’ve held my dignity. I’ve let myself be castigated. And I did that because I gave somebody an agreement that I wouldn’t break my court on it.

Incorrect

"There were a lot of things said in the book that were incorrect and untrue, some of it about me personally and about some of my players. The person who wrote that book had no researcher on the book to qualify what was said. The other people in the media that wrote fairly vile articles had no researcher to qualify the comments. It was an all-out attack for a couple of months on my character. I know what I’ve done, I know what I’ve coached, I know what I am as a person.

“So I’m not going to let somebody sit in a room and fill their pages tomorrow on the back of what we’ve done today when they in their wisdom degraded me as a person and some of my players,” said McGuinness. “I’m not a two-faced person, I’m not going to be two-faced here and let somebody have their jam on both sides. It was a very hard period in my life, for my family and everybody else and I still held my dignity.”

Pressed as to why he hadn’t responded at the time of the book’s launch, McGuinness said there was little comeback for him. "If I challenged it at the time, it makes the story bigger and the people who’ve read it in the first place have made up their minds about it anyway. So why would I go over old ground, creating a bigger story, making it bigger and bigger and bigger and the people who have read it in the first place will have their own view? I’m not going to answer any more about it.

"And there’s another person who if he was here would be out of the room as well. It was absolutely vile what he wrote, all on falsehoods. Absolutely vile that you could get away with that and degrade somebody to that level and feel then that you can write another article to rectify the wrong.

“It’s wrong that people should act in haste and repent at leisure. It’s not hard to get a researcher on a book. That’s the end of it. I’m leaving if there’s another question.”

• Colm Keys

Irish Independent

That journalist is a boguey man as far as he’s concerned.

In fairness to McGuinness he has held himself and his players to high standards since he took the job and I can’t recall any other occasions where he came across as bitter in the media and for the most part has come across as an articulate and decent man. To the victor the spoils and if he felt that it was the right time to right what he felt was a wrong against him then more power to him.

“Perennial chokers Dublin”

Have you a likely date for this?

I cant see anything wrong with that, I dont know the nature of the comments but if some cunt was looking for it then regardless of when it was given to him there can’t be complaints. What better time to stick it to some cunt then when you are crowned King. The only problem is when he is dethroned there will be plenty more willing to stick the boot in after doing something like that. But he will always be a hero in Donegal and he can now join a long list of managers/players that can retort with ‘’ I’ve got two All Irelands, how many have you got?"

Has anyone here actually read the book?

I don’t think people can draw conclusions on this matter without knowing what the alleged lies are and how far from the truth they might be. If the journalist has lied about McGuinness then he’s within his rights to call him out on it. If not, then obviously it’s something different.

In any case, I think this Donegal group will make for good copy while they’re around. There’s a wild streak to them that won’t be restrained under intense media spotlight, despite McGuinness’ best efforts.

I imagine they’ll become fairly unpopular in time as well, especially if they win another one in the near future. It’s always the way, especially with Northern teams. Northerners always seem prickly and abrasive to people in the South.

And they’ll say “No Jimmy, you have one, from 1992”

Ah here. You can’t kick out a journalist who’s trying to earn a living without giving more concrete reasons than the ranting and raving he gave the press. He sounds like a maniac. Bogue seems like a decent man, and a fine writer. He researched with All-Star Cassidy and Cassidy has stood by everything written. Fuck McGuinness, he’s a cunt. *

[size=2]*I haven’t read the book but it’s down in the house and I’ll read it this weekend and report back.[/size]

We have a right to be pricky and abrasive. Southerners have an inferiority complex to those from the North and are intimidated by us.

I’ll wreck you or any nordie bastard that gets in my way.

We laugh at threats from you guys.

Agreed, I can there being a lot of parallels to the Clare team of the mid 90’s. A team of super-fit, demented but limited players who won an All Ireland while their respective sport was at a low ebb. And as you say, like the Clare team and supporters of the time they will become despised over the next few years.

We won two All Irelands and ye won fuck all.