Congratulations Chucks. Is this the first since 1993? (I was at the 1993 celebrations, a mad night).
We took it down 2 years ago Fitz. McGleenan memorably switched Kieran Hughes from full forward to corner back to shackle Conor McManus. Haven’t heard any reports yet because there’s no reception in Moyna’s. I should get the full lowdown on Thursday when they leave.
What were you at in '93? My brother was playing in the minor final that day. I just about remember it.
I had just arrived to start a job in Monaghan town where I worked for a year, got taken over to the celebrations in Scotstown by some chaps I had gotten to know in Terrys in Monaghan. It was an eye opening experience I can tell you. There was trouble rumoured to be on the way that night and some individuals who may or may not have been members of a paramillitary organization, may or may not have been carrying firearms that night. It was great craic though, the little I remember of it.
The lads probably thought you were one of the Bunclody tinkers, and wanted to keep you onside in case the racket broke out.
I think they were more worried about loyalist tinkers that night.
Peter Robinson wouldn’t venture into Scotstown. Clontibret, now, is a different story.
AIB LEINSTER CLUB SENIOR FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP
Sunday 25th October 2015
Netwatch Cullen Park (2.30) - Palatine (Carlow) v Portlaoise/Emo (Laois)
O Connor Park, Tullamore (2.00) - Edenderry (Offaly) v Rathnew (Wicklow)
Glennon Bros Pearse Park Longford (2.00) - Killoe (Longford) v St. James Ramsgrange (Wexford)
Come on Pal !!
#hondajimmies
Rumour abound that @count_of_monte_crist will be unleashed in a roving full forward position where he will be encouraged to fart and vomit the Bulmers consumed over the week on any Killoe players he can keep up with.
Worth the admission price alone to see that.
As long as he fills the back of the bus with slabs for the trip home he’ll be allowed do anything he likes I’d suspect.
Were ye not Intermediate not too long ago?
Promoted 12 months ago.
Regardless of that well done, but double well done.
Serious achievment. Momentum os a savage beast.
The Meath County Board must be delighted about their decision to move their County Final to Bank Holiday Monday so that everyone can watch Argentina vs Australia.
So does Portlaoise/Emo have to be played before sunday?
Yes. It was due to be played midweek, but both Clubs have players living in London, so they agreed upon Saturday at 6-30. Winners play Palatine on Sunday in Carlow at 2-30. Palatine are managed by Mick Lillis, the new Laois manager. Portlaoise are captained by Kieran Lillis, son of Mick.
Portlaoise will tear Pal a new one.
Thats a fucking disgrace. How does this happen?
Laois are out of championship with months
Laois Championship starts in August regardless, we’ve spoken about this system on here before if you recall. There were a number of replays this year which were out of the norm. Combined with the number of teams which they made a balls of reducing we are left in this situation unfortunately. It wouldn’t be so much an issue if the replay could take place midweek but it can’t and here we are.