Someone should tell Joe that they’re playing Scotstown.
He’s probablyright about clontibret all the same.
The Ulster club final will now throw in at 3.30pm, I presume this will be shown live as a result?
Heard very good things about the young Cross full back Aidan Rushe, looking forward to seeing him in action and he won’t have many sterner tests than Darren Hughes with the way he’s been playing at the minute.
Good insight into why McEntee struggled with Brigids. Mind you coming in and trying to completely reinvent a team is not the best idea either.
Plenty hyperbole too though.
Maybe he’s not all that.
If his twin brother and McConville win the club AI this year then they will be the fourth managerial team to have done what Tony McEntee did with Cross.
Joe extremely lazy copying and pasting same article from 3 years ago, zzzzzzz
http://gaeliclife.com/counties/joe-brolly-acceptable-in-the-90s/
Has he done any other jobs? Teaching lads the basics that probably have notions about themselves is probably a sure way to fail.
@Nembo_Kid did they relay the pitch in the athletic grounds recently? We’re a dry ground horse. On a heavy pitch, Cross will grind out a 3-4pt win. Not sure if there’s anything other than heavy pitches in late November though. But i’ve heard good things about the surface there.
A nice dry day where we can play football, and avoid the cynical fouling Cross will bring to the table and we’ll win. Hopefully we’ll get a strong referee who will protect our skill players.
I’d say he is good with certain teams and probably learned a harsh lesson about dealing with athletic drill driven teams that you find in dublin.
As shit and all as the coaching is with these types, you have to slowly change as major resurgey usually is too much of a paradigm shift for them and they reject it. Truth is to change a team like that would take 3 years at club level. And of course the pressure was on to succeed with the no doubt big money that he was on.
It doesn’t make him a bad coach, just a major learning experience. Good coaches evolve, they don’t just become one over night. He had made significant changes to Crossmaglen and they had evolved alot since their first success with Kernan. Even Kernan, who has had great success, showed saturday night how one dimensional his coaching is and thats why he struggled outside Armagh.
Its grand having a philosophy and principals, however in the real world they have to be flexible as the game evolves or different types of teams dominant or the rules change. Kerry and Dublin found out in recent years that an idealistic approach is flawed. They both adjusted and won All Irelands on the back of it.
He has a big reputation, he failed in a job with a team with a good pedigree.
The analogies with Kernan are pointless, when Kernan took over Cross hadn’t won an Armagh title in around 10 years, they had never won an Ulster or AI and he guided them to success after success, he was lucky to have a great batch of young players coming through the club at that time but he was the man who turned that club into the giants of club football they are now. McEntee merely continued this success as have other management teams after the foundations had been laid and tradition set.
At Armagh who took on a good team who were on the cusp of getting there and took them over the line.
Kernan won his test on Saturday, his very first game in a completely new game to him. Bit odd to be criticising his coaching for that and his failure outside Armagh amounts to a Galway team who have done absolutely nothing in the period before and period after his appointment.
Tony McEntee gets far too much credit for what he did with Cross.
If you had any insight to galway football you would know why he failed.
I didn’t criticize him for winning, i just said it showed he only knows one way and the system only kinda suited the FF line he had. Alot of irish ball was wasted because of the long ball. However he is a likable man and a good motivator, and often thats good enough too. Few if any managers have it all.
Like any successful club or team there is a follow in. Its absolutely bizarre (and just arguing because its me, and no other reason) to say McEntee is not a good coach based on the fact that he WON an AI, just because he won it with a club (and a team with a fair bit of turnover) who won it before. Yes winning the first one is notable. However creating hunger in a succsssful team or club is also a skill, albeit a different one. Thats not withstanding the fact that both McEntees were involved in underage first so they had an influence on whats coming through, so were part of the build. Any uber successful club like that has many contributors.
He clearly made a mistake with Brigids in the approach. It does not make him a spoofer or doesn’t mean he got too much credit for other wins, it just didn’t work. Do this Cross management not deserve credit because someone else (Tiny McEntee as it happens) laid the ground work? If anything this is his team and there has been far less change. From what i heard/know of Brigids is they are extremely clanny so maybe too much was expected of an outsider and maybe he changed too much too soon. At least from the outside thats whats seems to have happened. Its often multi layered. Iften a big management appointment makes players lazy as they expect this great coach to win it for them.
However your view are completely contradictory. Your problem is you think like a knacker ball fan. You put everything down to one man. If he loses he’s shit, if he wins he’s awesome. Nothing is black & white.
I’ll leave it at that. You can have your long winded, big worded response now and make all tge usual claims. Carry on.
There was a continuum of failure before and after Kernan was over Galway and it was only a season he had there.
In managerial terms the analogies between Kernan and McEntee are way off. Kernan was absolutely crucial to turning Cross into what they are today, McEntee was not. Kernan won Armagh’s only All Ireland with them and McEntee ran a mile away from the challenge of the Down job.
What McEntee did with Cross was nothing remarkable, Cross are expected to be challenging for All Irelands year in year out. He subsequently failed at Brigids.
Brigids in Dublin in a relegation play off from Div 1 this weekend. Says it all really.
For your sake I’d be sorry to see them go down.
Ha ha true but it’ll be nice to wave at them going down as we go up.
Blame the outsider. Standard gaa carry on. Couldn’t be the players
Didn’t you blame the Mayo management?
Insiders. Brought in through nepotism. Got rid of good coaches who the players trusted due to insecurities and doing the dirty work of CB to save money.
Not to mention their dumb tactics in CP.
They shoulder alot of the “fall out” blame. Are the players completely faultless? No chance. Players had chances to put dublin away also.
The thing is, and you are too blinded to see this, i have actually said that this exposed a huge mistake McEntee seems to have made. Of course he is somewhat responsible. But it doesn’t lessen previous achievements. Thats just typical irish begrudgery.
No coach ever in history has won every game and every competition they ever entered though.
His achievement is not that much of an achievement, Cross have a record of being successful no matter who is in charge. McEntee didn’t mastermind success there, Kernan did.
Completely different ball game, say in comparison to someone like Malachy O’Rourke who took Loup to their first Derry Championship in nearly 70 years and went on to take Ulster as well.
So do you think you’d be able to take Cross to an AI?
If its so easy surely you would.