2015 Leinster Final : Galway V Kilkenny

Donā€™t know what it is about Callanan that riles people up so much. He scores an absolute load from play. 9 goals and 16 points from play in last yearā€™s championship. What has Joe Canning done to be ahead of any of these players?

Callanan is absolutely excellent. Better than Canning? No.

Why not?

Joe Canning is too good.

Canning is better under high ball, Callanan is quicker. Callanan has better movement and more relevant than all scores way more

Easy score more in a dominant team. Callanan does not have the range of skill Canning does. And Iā€™ve never seen him double marked. Callanan might score more goals but could never score some of the goals Canning has, thatā€™s the key point. And I know which one Iā€™d want taking a penalty or free at the death of a game.

This isnā€™t running Callanan down, heā€™s easily in the top 5 forwards in the country. Heā€™s an exceptional player and when he was being run down by his county men the last few years I repeatedly said he would come good and Ryan was a fool not to play him.

Lad, Callanan is a savage hurler and Oā€™Shea should be complimented for getting the absolute best out of him by playing a system that places him at the pinnacle of Tipperaryā€™s attack. Ye have so many aces in your forward pack and a system that varies attacks that teams donā€™t have the luxury of just crowding the full back line and closing out the game.

You can spell Canning out in midfield for a couple of minutes but this is just to confuse the defence and try and get a better matchup isolated in the inside line. Youā€™re advocating leaving him at centre forward or midfield which I donā€™t agree with.

Right Iā€™ll leave it there because ye arenā€™t going to agree with me and Iā€™m not going to agree with ye

Correct.

Iā€™m not so sure all of it was wasted cheaply. Mostly it was down to the remarkable harrying done by the kk team across the lines. Great experience for Galway. I am absolutely delighted with the team and the performance. I agree with m&w, I think that was kk near their best, and needed to be. The kk wide count was in main part for the same reason, the unrelenting ferocity of the Galway performance. Galway have seen the benchmark and matched it in terms of steel and effort. A little more calmness in the heat of battle maybe is all thatā€™s required but that is a hell of a lot easier said than done. Fair play to AC. I think he is doing a grand job.

Agree absolutely, but legs and minds get tired. I thought exactly that. Cody was worried enough to completely change formation toward the end.

I agree @flattythehurdler ā€¦ as long as they learn from it.

I believe we fully capable of improvement but I am not fully confident we will improve. You would hope that Cunninghams experience over the past few years will stand to him. Heā€™ll know that he needs to devise a different plan if we are to beat KK. However he needs to be careful as he also needs to over come 2 more games if we are even to get a chance to meet KK again.

Hopefully there will be no injuries in club championship next weekend.

I think we are capable of beating Cork, Clare or Limerick and of beating Dublin again. Thankfully we have a 3 week rest as I believe they will need a complete rest this week after that battle on Sunday.

Isnā€™t there a round of club games on this weekend though? There is in KK and then the panel players go back to the county

Yeah there is a round of games alright.

I was at the game on Sunday and I have to say that I have left other Galway KK games feeling a lot worse than yesterday. We have to take heart for the effort shown which isnā€™t always the case with Galway and is the most common criticism thrown at Galway in the last 20 years. Unusually for Galway their touch and close control let them down. Maybe this is why I am more upbeat than normal as we know that these players are skilfull and on a lot of other days have shown this. True Kilkennyā€™s pressure caused a lot of fumbles and loss of possession but this is something that can be worked on. If it was a case that Galway didnā€™t show any aggression or heart and were beat by 20 pts then Iā€™d be more worried for games later on this year.
Kilkenny moved their half back line 10 yards back towards their own goal and the midfielders and HF line dropped back meaning there was little or no space for our FF line to operate. When a KK back did get on the ball they were pressurised well in fairness but more often than not the ball was forced to a midfielder or a half forward who had dropped back and they were unmarked and cleared an amount of ball. They were unmarked because our backs held their positions and didnā€™t follow Colin Fennelly, Larkin and Richie Hogan up the field. When the ball did make it up to the kk forwards they were often found 1 on 1 with their man and won a lot of clean possession. They were held up a lot by the Galway backs in fairness but the support from kk midfield and hf line then flooded up the middle and they were found with flicks & handpasses for scores.
It is becoming common for teams to tackle with intensity but not many teams can keep the intensity up to chase down 3-4 offloads and not allowing space. Usually after 2 short passes the ruck is cleared and a man in space is found to have a shot. It is very hard to do this with 6 backs v 6 forwards when the forwards could come any of the 6 positions to get on the ball. KK have changed their play to defend their goal with 8 defenders for this reason and there was no space there the last day with 8 defenders chasing down 6 forwards.
I think we need to change a few things to freshen things up for the QF - So what can we do? I would set up the team to play to our strengths. We have Fergal Moore who is still good enough to make this team, id start him in the corner, move Coen out to sit in front of Tannion and let tannion play in between the lines. So this has us with 7 defenders. You still have tannions size under puckouts & his distribution ability from deep along with coens mobility. Midfield with 2 of Harte, Smyth and Cooney. Five forwards from Glynn, Canning, Donnellan, Burke, Healy, Mannion & Flynn. Plenty of movement of these 5 around the 6 positions. If need be Coen is flexible enough to move to midfield and move smith to the forwards if for whatever reason we needed to go 15 on 15. Strong instruction to these 7 backs to find a man in space who can pick out good clean lines into the forwards.
Let Canning go where he wants to pick up ball ā€“ including FF when he wants. If you look at the last day he score 1-1 from play when he was most of the game in FF, Richie Hogan picked off 4 points from HF / midfield and also contributed a lot more to open play out there. So the argument for canning to stay out where he can get on the ball in these situations is strengthened. If there is a good supply of ball leave him inside but if not he is wasted in there as he is very strong on the ball & great shooting from distance.

Thatā€™s a great post. I agree. Brehony s name should surely be in the pot as well.
Kk have in recent times regularly set up this way, and its worked a treat against tipp in particular. All the lines play very deep. If you have fast classy forwards it works a treat, and may be best countered by doi g exactly the same thing, with the proviso that youā€™d still need to work like kk do.
Tipp should have mimicked them, certainly in last years replay, and in 2011.

Galway did alright on Sunday. They gave us plenty of it, if the had a brain, theyā€™d be a credible threat to the AI. They might yet make the final if they keep the energy and workrate as consistent as it was on Sunday and get a little cuter.

Agree. There are some major fucking obstacles between Galway and an AIF, unfortunately. If they lose the next game in that manner though, Iā€™d have no complaints at all.
I reckon the kk team would tell you theyā€™d had a tough enough afternoon.

Good post pal, our backs had to stay back, we would have been destroyed if the likes of Reid and larkin were in there with plenty of space. Kilkenny have really developed an accurate short passing an offloading game. Ours was terrible with passes going to directly to kk lads at times. Think back a few years ago, we had terribly porous backs, no centre back, questionable attitude and were always beaten in the air. Most of these flaws have been addressed to some extent, we just need to develop link play, ie when Donnellan or Johnny catch it someone should be bursting themselves to be available for a hand pass, this has to be practiced, almost scripted.