Lads, was planning something with the missus for next month and have decided to coincide it with getting my back (hopefully) fixed, so weâre planning to go to a hotel midweek so I can do a bit of rehab and some fitness work as opposed to getting my back done and then going back to sit on an office chair or whatever for the following couple of days.
Hotel must have a decent pool and some nice grounds or woods or something nearby for going for romantic walks and be close enough to Dublin as sitting in a car or on a bus/train for hours kills my back and makes me even more irritable than usual.
Was looking at Carton House, Whiteâs of Wexford, Mount JulietâŚany other suggestions? They all seem to be 250-300 for 2 nights b&b, which is grand.
Which of those Groupon-style sites are good for getting hotel deals?
Handy spin down the motorway and pretty close to Kildare for a spot of shopping in Kildare village. The Japanese Gardens & Irish National Studs are local too for a wander around.
Handy spin down the motorway and pretty close to Kildare for a spot of shopping in Kildare village. The Japanese Gardens & Irish National Studs are local too for a wander around.[/quote]
Good shout, looks nice. Theyâre doing 3 nights for âŹ350. Thatâd be just what the doctor ordered.
Mount Juliet is a nice spot alright Thraw, and decent grounds around for long walks and that. Pool is generally pretty quiet too, and a decent gym there too. Great breakfast there, and the food in the Presidents bar has good pub type food. Not mad about the French restaurant there, could take or leave it for what you get for what you pay. If you golf, there is obviously the course there, but the driving range could be enough for a novice and showing the missus how to miss hit a golf ball.
I am heading to the Maryborough next weekend, and recommendations for a day trip in the area from your stay?[/quote]
went to fota wildlife park for the day when I was down, but I was probably on a different style trip to what you will be on! Its only about a 15 minute drive from the Maryborough.
The Heritage is a grand spot, The Thatch a fine little pub (nicer before The Heritage swallowed it up, but still decent) and the Italian restaurant there is fairly nice. Not much there after that mind you FYI.
I was in the Killenard a couple of years ago Thraw. Itâs a decent enough hotel which offers good deals now because basically thereâs so much competition in that sector. The leisure centre set-up is quite good but more importantly they have a Thermal Spa which is basically a collection of steam rooms, jacuzzis etc. Make sure a deal includes a couple of passes to that as it would be a grand spot to relax in and get your back going. Itâs got a couple of food options onsite and a pub at the gates of the hotel area which is decent enough. There is also a nice walk around the golf course. All in all it was pretty good value when compared to some of the more illustrious suggestions here.
If you can afford it head to the Cliff House Hotel down in Ardmore. I was there 2 weeks ago and it was fucking sensational experience.
I heard them advertising for mid-week deals on the radio this morning.[/quote]
Iâd a look on their website and it was very pricey, even midweek. Iâll investigate a little further to see if there is any deals.
The Heritage looks like the job, itâs nice and close too. Herself likes to rent a car so weâd have a bit of freedom to go off for the afternoons or whathaveyou.
[quote=âThrawneen, post: 761098, member: 129â]Iâd a look on their website and it was very pricey, even midweek. Iâll investigate a little further to see if there is any deals.
The Heritage looks like the job, itâs nice and close too. Herself likes to rent a car so weâd have a bit of freedom to go off for the afternoons or whathaveyou.
Anyone ever stay in Carton House?[/quote]
Iâve stayed in Carton House and I didnât really like it, cannot pinpoint exactly what it was I didnât like as everything was about what youâd expect but perhaps it was just the general atmosphere, sort of a residual hangover from the worst excesses.
There is a place in Wicklow called Brook Lodge I think is really, really lovely. Gorgeous old house, lovely restaurant, nice wooded setting, I think there maybe golf too.
Marlfield House outside Gorey is lovely too, probably a bit expensive but high quality food and lovely grounds and house, might not have a spa or leisure centre though. I have to agree about the Cliff House in Ardmore, it is really something
[quote=âMidshipman Asha, post: 761129, member: 1508â]Iâve stayed in Carton House and I didnât really like it, cannot pinpoint exactly what it was I didnât like as everything was about what youâd expect but perhaps it was just the general atmosphere, sort of a residual hangover from the worst excesses.
There is a place in Wicklow called Brook Lodge I think is really, really lovely. Gorgeous old house, lovely restaurant, nice wooded setting, I think there maybe golf too.
Marlfield House outside Gorey is lovely too, probably a bit expensive but high quality food and lovely grounds and house, might not have a spa or leisure centre though. I have to agree about the Cliff House in Ardmore, it is really something[/quote]
I wouldnt piss on marlfield house if it was on fire
Ask the oul wan in Marlfield about the Bishop. That would be a good conversation starter.
Personally I donât care for the place. All of these â5 Starâ country house retreats in Ireland are facsimiles of each other and are generally a rip off. The Heritage is one of the most tasteless places you could imagine and it is in the middle of a giant featureless bog.
The only hotels in Ireland that I would gladly stay are the aforesaid Cliff House, which does offer something different and the Merrion, which is in a league of its own. Pretty well all of the others mentioned here are hotels run by cunts for cunts.