Afr

I see what you did there

Checked to here.

Iconic.

He was a real trendsetter. Gave me my debut on the INTERNET. RIP.

Twitter took the vast majority thankfully

We could do with transferring a few more out :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

RIP. I actually owe AFR a lot in life. The hurling club in Dublin was set up from threads on that very board. Weird times. Interesting times. Great times. Sad times.

Whatever your feelings on him, he had to put up with all of us.

Don’t think had much time for me from my interactions with him but sad to hear of Liam’s passing. He must have taken some amount of shit in the early years

Was he unwell or was it unexpected?

He was unwell about 20 years ago.

Was he from Waterford originally?

Yes he went to Mount Sion.

I always assumed AFR and @Fagan_ODowd were one and the same person. I put it down to your eloquent posting style

Nah fagan is wellboy from upthedeise

Auld school pals, they sat beside each other in Brother Prunty’s lessons.

I’m too young to remember the halcyon days of AFR and dipped my toe on Premierview before it turned to shit, but the cut and thrust of AFR sounds iconic.

Who was Trimble?

Trimble was just another of @Tassotti’s many personalities, purely to annoy and bizarrely it worked :man_shrugging:

A simple toymaker iirc.

RIP Liam Cahill

AFR was a harmless sort who started up something and it peaked due to the collapse of Clarehurlers. I think he wanted a nice internet chat room where likeminded people would have reasonable discussions about GAA matters and light hearted stuff. But he didnt count on the world, and particularly the internet, being full of absolute assholes. And it made him awful cynical and thus the bannings came thick and fast to people he didnt like or how they spoke. I didnt really like how he did things and I felt the obsessions with camogie photo reports was creepy, but it was his site and he ran it how he wanted.

I discovered a highly embarrassing thing on AFR, where he had a photobucket account for his GAA pictures, but he also had his own storage of “personal” photos. You would get to it by changing the link directory. I alerted one of the mods (that he belatedly set up) and someone it seemed knew him personally as I didnt want to embarrass him or make it seem like I was being a cunt with it. Anyway, he ignored my warning and a few weeks later someone else discovered it and a barrage of bannings came then. It closed up soon after that.

His biggest issue with the site was it got too big for him and he wanted people to talk and discuss things on his level and the way he wanted. And by doing so it encouraged lads to test boundaries and take the piss.

Fair play to him though, he tried set it up as more than just the forum and have articles and pieces as a GAA outlet, but it never really took off the way it potentially could have. Trying to control it all himself was too much. The Ewan McKenna interview with the cloak and cans of Guinness is a great quote.

RIP Liam Cahill.

David Trimble was one of the most subtle WUM’s that ever touched a keyboard. He would genuinely ruin many peoples days well before they could pour themselves a coffee in the morning. I’d say he still causes nightmares for some and even 1 or 2 on here who have never been the same since.

Where was he from?

Had he many other aliases?

He used be mentioned on PV too a bit i think?

Tipp

No Clue

He was

He was from everywhere and nowhere. He was like the PĂșca.