AISHS Limerick v Kilkenny-The Game to unite the board

[QUOTE=“corner back, post: 997940, member: 1572”]Random thoughts
Hickey was outstanding.
I never rated Ritchie Mccarthy but he was very good today.
O’Mahony always excellent when I see him.
Conditions showed up lack of skill level of supposed hoty contender jimbob and breen.
YNOTH is right. Limerick dominated during biblical rain.
KK should just play Mick Fennelly midfield and TJ at 12.
Richie Power put in a great shift with about 3 lads marking him.
Taking off Downes was madness.
Murphy and Holden were excellent. Buckley impressive yet again.
Colin Fennelly is an animal to work. If he had a first touch he’d be some player.
Bar professional foul incident McGrath had good game, esp considering the conditions.
I’d prefer Cork in final[/QUOTE]

ffs. richie mccarthy is the best full back in the country for the last two years

Richie Power roasted him.

I thought that Fennelly and Hogan kept KK in it in the first half. Hogan is a super hurler.
We were missing a couple of anchors today. An Iron Mike, a John Flanagan, a Ciaran Carey. I told ye that “Dodge” was past it months ago and got dogs abuse for it. I was right.
I am not disappointed, we did our best. Not enough on the day. But……….no clear shot on goal I mean a real shot, not a fumble.
And you should never concede a goal off an overhead strike, that’s basic defending.
It is very disappointing, but at the same time it isn’t. We have a youngish team and we have good young fellas coming up.
I have never in my life seen a Limerick team going a half without hitting a wide.
The Rain was epic, Better than 1973. We had them in the rain.
You have to say fair fucks to Hickey, From doing his cruciate this time last year to that performance today. Tremendous stuff.
And for all off ye slagging off GOM before today, fuck ye all.

[QUOTE=“Thumper, post: 998015, member: 2305”]I don’t think refs are making any point to be honest. They apply the rules inconsistently. Shefflin got sent off last year for something very innocuous.

I think the ref made a conscious decision not to send off O’Grady after the first pull, even though Horgan got red last year for something much lighter.

There seems to be a massive amount of off the ball fouling this year, holding, dragging, checking, etc and refs are very inconsistent on it.[/QUOTE]
Had a look at Shefflins intro - seen worse at mass!

Application of rules really is the issue here.

[QUOTE=“Thumper, post: 997962, member: 2305”]Late in the second half as he came on. It was a dunt into the ribs type of thing.

Bugler got red for similar, but lots of lads get a warning as happened today, with O’Mahony getting one for good measure.[/QUOTE]

O Mahoney brought it to him, he gave it back, nothing more to see

[QUOTE=“balbec, post: 998104, member: 193”]I thought that Fennelly and Hogan kept KK in it in the first half. Hogan is a super hurler.
We were missing a couple of anchors today. An Iron Mike, a John Flanagan, a Ciaran Carey. I told ye that “Dodge” was past it months ago and got dogs abuse for it. I was right.
I am not disappointed, we did our best. Not enough on the day. But……….no clear shot on goal I mean a real shot, not a fumble.
And you should never concede a goal off an overhead strike, that’s basic defending.
It is very disappointing, but at the same time it isn’t. We have a youngish team and we have good young fellas coming up.
I have never in my life seen a Limerick team going a half without hitting a wide.
The Rain was epic, Better than 1973. We had them in the rain.
You have to say fair fucks to Hickey, From doing his cruciate this time last year to that performance today. Tremendous stuff.
And for all off ye slagging off GOM before today, fuck ye all.[/QUOTE]

o mahony was excellent but doubting him was a valid opinion up to today as he was poor all year.

your statement about o`grady is total shite though.

Balbec,
Were you the mad man with the straw hat roaring and shouting in section 328?

[QUOTE=“Phil Leotardo, post: 998117, member: 197”]Balbec,
Were you the mad man with the straw hat roaring and shouting in section 328?[/QUOTE]

No. But i was the guy turning back to the crowd in the pissing rain trying to get them going.

Similar thoughts…yeah, yeah he hurled away in a hurricane etc…where will the countless All-Irelands, All-Stars etc get him in his 40’s if his wife/kids can’t count on a full head of hair and a peachy expression.
Seriously , FFS??Really, he looks old - When I’m old n Gay I hope I notice such shit!

I thought the limerick support in that section were by and large very vocal

The atmosphere when Limerick went 2 points up in that downpour was unreal,the KK crowd in the hill looked on in awe almost.

so unreal that nobody has mentioned it before

The hurling equivalent of winning the singing in euro 2012

[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 997965, member: 1742”]51. It is obvious.

I think we both expect that the Sunday Game will not mention anything about it.[/QUOTE]
They covered it allright, seen worse shape ups at communion dress fittings, Limerick were and are more than able for any shaping and fluting of this sort - is this a back handed attempt to say this rattled them, don’t think so - they were man for man all day today , graft lost it for them.

Wake under high ball, unrale shot stopper - although Cusack put different perspective on Croke Park Crossbars tonite!

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 998088, member: 464”]Ah fuck it, year after year we build up hope and confidence to be knocked back again. I really thought we had it, even after the second goal.

Bitterly disappointed again. But proud of the squad and the sideline team[/QUOTE]

yes, you should be so proud, losing the 2 big games of the year is quite an achievement

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 998088, member: 464”]Ah fuck it, year after year we build up hope and confidence to be knocked back again. I really thought we had it, even after the second goal.

Bitterly disappointed again. But proud of the squad and the sideline team[/QUOTE]
If you were to look at this from a purely development POV I would be happier yesterday about Linericks future. I’m genuinely happy from a Cork that KK won in terms of the final.
KK still relied on a few plays from old battered warriors like Power and Larkin. And fair play to them, they are superb. But other than R Hogan, C Fennelly and Murphy there isn’t a huge amount of leaders and consistency from the rest, especially the younger lads.

Limerick seem yo have more room for improvement. I know ye don’t like to hear it but DOG, coach, was a loss. Just the little bits of hurling decision making he adds was definitely missing at times yesterday. There was still clear remnants of his support play there.
Hopefully these decent minors produce just one more decent forward. That’s the only difference.

I think this would be Codys greatest triumph if he pulled it off. They are literally hanging together with plaster tape.
I think it’s the first time ever I was actually happy enough for KK

I’m still waiting on my medal for that. Did anyone else get theirs?

Thoughts on today;
Very happy with KK full back line after the amount of goals conceded earlier in the year, Limerick rarely looked like scoring a goal apart from Herrity’s juggling acts.
We wasted a shitload of possession today with poor short and overhit clearances even when players had time to have a look up and pick out a pass, easy to blame the forwards for such a poor return but the service was brutal.
Richie Power made his most significant contribution in a long time, even if he was only on the pitch for 20 minutes. Must start in place of Kelly the next day.
Limerick dominated for a period of about 20 minutes at the start of the 2nd half and had a great goal chance where Tobin eventually lobbed the ball over the bar, if that had gone in it would have been curtains for KK.

[QUOTE=“Fran, post: 998163, member: 110”]Thoughts on today;
Very happy with KK full back line after the amount of goals conceded earlier in the year, Limerick rarely looked like scoring a goal apart from Herrity’s juggling acts.
We wasted a shitload of possession today with poor short and overhit clearances even when players had time to have a look up and pick out a pass, easy to blame the forwards for such a poor return but the service was brutal.
Richie Power made his most significant contribution in a long time, even if he was only on the pitch for 20 minutes. Must start in place of Kelly the next day.
Limerick dominated for a period of about 20 minutes at the start of the 2nd half and had a great goal chance where Tobin eventually lobbed the ball over the bar, if that had gone it would have been curtains for KK.[/QUOTE]
We rarely looked like scoring a goal but Tobin had a great goal chance? Fuck off.