surprised nobody commented on the freedom given to Colin Fennelly, he scored 0-4, virtually all of them unmarked and out the field. Not the most composed or natural forward, a little pressure could have prevented those. McNamara seemed to be under instruction to hold at a great cost in the conditions I felt. Again, I feel Limerick were very rigid in their game plan
I think @flattythehurdler[/USER] said we were one top quality forward short of winning that game. Unfortunately Downes was that forward. I still maintain his touch and workrate and ball winning were excellent all year, shooting let him down badly and I wonder did taking him off against Wexford knock his confidence altogether, I’d have left him on til he scored, he would have eventually. His shooting can be fixed. I think I prefer him at corner to full forward where his running might cause more problems, but I think [USER=553]@Kid Chocolate was right above, he needs more involvement, and space, and 4 balls a game in the corner will see him frustrated. In two league games in particular this year he swung momentum when moved to half forward. He excelled during the league and for the club early in the year, maybe the long season took it’s toll.
I wanted to see him at 11 all year but Hannon has stepped up and owned that spot. Hannon drifted out of the game v Cork on the wing, constant involvement at 11 got the best out of him. If he could maintain that form on the wing and Downes fired at 11 I’d be happy with that. Hannon’s long range accuracy makes him a safer wing than Downes. This year saw Dowling and Hannon finally deliver what we expected. Downes will next year.
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 998405, member: 1533”]I think @flattythehurdler[/USER] said we were one top quality forward short of winning that game. Unfortunately Downes was that forward. I still maintain his touch and workrate and ball winning were excellent all year, shooting let him down badly and I wonder did taking him off against Wexford knock his confidence altogether, I’d have left him on til he scored, he would have eventually. His shooting can be fixed. I think I prefer him at corner to full forward where his running might cause more problems, but I think [USER=553]@Kid Chocolate was right above, he needs more involvement, and space, and 4 balls a game in the corner will see him frustrated. In two league games in particular this year he swung momentum when moved to half forward. He excelled during the league and for the club early in the year, maybe the long season took it’s toll.
I wanted to see him at 11 all year but Hannon has stepped up and owned that spot. Hannon drifted out of the game v Cork on the wing, constant involvement at 11 got the best out of him. If he could maintain that form on the wing and Downes fired at 11 I’d be happy with that. Hannon’s long range accuracy makes him a safer wing than Downes. This year saw Dowling and Hannon finally deliver what we expected. Downes will next year.[/QUOTE]
From what I can recall of the season gone, Downes most effective spell was when he was moved to half forward for 15 minutes in the second half against Tipp.
Hannon hit a classic belt of a shoulder into a KK player with 7-8mins left, really cleaned his clock
Agreed, but that was just a consequence of them happening to be in front and defending a lead, rather than their particular style of hurling per se. It looked to me like the downpour suited limerick at first, and then it didn’t as they were chasing the game in the last minutes. They should win an AI soon.
The problem for Limerick with the subs was the 2 players that showed up best in the league were David Reidy and Conor Allis. Unfortunately, they both got injured, which is probably why Niall Moran was brought back in.
I would disagree with that, feel his run for Dowling’s goal masked over a not-great overall performance, he even got lucky for that in the sense that three Tipp lads went for the one ball and all missed it. He thundered into the Cork game early on at LCF, was involved in setting up scores/shots and nabbed one himself and then went MIA for about half an hour after the 20 minute mark, which was not his own fault either.
They said that about us in 2012 too… :rolleyes:
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 998405, member: 1533”]I think @flattythehurdler[/USER] said we were one top quality forward short of winning that game. Unfortunately Downes was that forward. I still maintain his touch and workrate and ball winning were excellent all year, shooting let him down badly and I wonder did taking him off against Wexford knock his confidence altogether, I’d have left him on til he scored, he would have eventually. His shooting can be fixed. I think I prefer him at corner to full forward where his running might cause more problems, but I think [USER=553]@Kid Chocolate was right above, he needs more involvement, and space, and 4 balls a game in the corner will see him frustrated. In two league games in particular this year he swung momentum when moved to half forward. He excelled during the league and for the club early in the year, maybe the long season took it’s toll.
I wanted to see him at 11 all year but Hannon has stepped up and owned that spot. Hannon drifted out of the game v Cork on the wing, constant involvement at 11 got the best out of him. If he could maintain that form on the wing and Downes fired at 11 I’d be happy with that. Hannon’s long range accuracy makes him a safer wing than Downes. This year saw Dowling and Hannon finally deliver what we expected. Downes will next year.[/QUOTE]
You’ve overrated Downes all year, pal. You can only give a player so many chances and you can’t keep saying he’s primed or about to deliver. That was his fourth below par championship display in four and I felt he should have been replaced earlier. Not sure how you’ve concluded his touch and ball winning were good when they patently weren’t.
As well as Limerick played for the game, you’d imagine that if Mick Fennelly and Richie Hogan hadn’t gone missing for the 2nd half then Kilkenny would have won pulling up - its scary how they can pull performances like this out when you think its one game too many for them.
You’ve overrated Wexford all year, pal. His touch and ball winning was good against wexford, one exceptional turnover forced off two defenders followed by a dreadful wide, it was his shooting was bad in that game. He was alright v Tipp and did well early on v Cork until we decided to stop hitting him any ball. His dreadful wide in the second half v cork was his first possession in ages and resulted in a poor decision, a result of him not being involved in the game for so long as I alluded to earlier. He was exceptional for club all year and for the county in the league. As I said, he’ll come good, and when he does you can go and fuck yourself whatever your name is.
[QUOTE=“glasagusban, post: 998470, member: 1533”]You’ve overrated Wexford all year, pal. His touch and ball winning was good against wexford, one exceptional turnover forced off two defenders followed by a dreadful wide, it was his shooting was bad in that game. He was alright v Tipp and did well early on v Cork until we decided to stop hitting him any ball. His dreadful wide in the second half v cork was his first possession in ages and resulted in a poor decision, a result of him not being involved in the game for so long as I alluded to earlier. He was exceptional for club all year and for the county in the league. As I said, he’ll come good, and when he does you can go and fuck yourself whatever your name is.[/QUOTE]
Stage 7 rattled
League & club form counts for fuck all, championship matters kid.[/QUOTE]
You’ve completely overreacted there, mate. You’ve convinced yourself that you’re correct despite the weight of irrefutable evidence to the contrary. He rarely got on the ball and was wasteful and inaccurate more often than not when he did gain possession.
I’m not disputing that he won’t be an important player for Limerick in the future by the way. Just that he wasn’t particularly good in the championship this year and he never really threatened to be good either, which is what you were posting after each game.
Now, go fuck yourself.
That was a classic moment of the game the whole passage after it with KK and Lmk players throwing in shoulders and finger pointing in the pissing rain and height of a battle was immense!
Glas seems to
- Be unable to see the difference between club/minor/21 and senior IC
- Critique Limerick players, especially Na P. players very fairly
- Realize that it takes most players 2-3 years to get near realizing potential (if they are going to at all) and that big lads take longer than anyone else.
That’s yer problem, ye are the Aussies of hurling, it’s all about looking tough.
Killkenny are New Zealand.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998494, member: 273”]That’s yer problem, ye are the Aussies of hurling, it’s all about looking tough.
Killkenny are New Zealand.[/QUOTE]
Eh no it’s about the sheer will to win and putting everything on the line,Lmk don’t have to try “looking tough” either you soft cork cock it’s the one thing we always have had in spades.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998492, member: 273”]Glas seems to
- Realize that it takes most players 2-3 years to get near realizing potential (if they are going to at all) and that big lads take longer than anyone else.[/QUOTE]
Says me man who thinks the sun shines out of every Cork players hole! you are making an even bigger tit of yourself than usual in this thread.
But not the All Ireland’s.
It’s the same old story, ye want all TJ, no Donal O Grady, all tough, no finesse. Big men, little craft.
Ye have the same line for years “the next week houlihan went down to Cork and walked all over the cunts” blaa blaa blaa. How many All Ireland’s have ye won since then? How many Cork?
And it goes on.
Cork have shown plenty toughness, many times. We just don’t jump up and down about it, especially after being out fought and out foxed.
[QUOTE=“Bartosz Bereszynskiego, post: 998481, member: 9”]You’ve completely overreacted there, mate. You’ve convinced yourself that you’re correct despite the weight of irrefutable evidence to the contrary. He rarely got on the ball and was wasteful and inaccurate more often than not when he did gain possession.
I’m not disputing that he won’t be an important player for Limerick in the future by the way. Just that he wasn’t particularly good in the championship this year and he never really threatened to be good either, which is what you were posting after each game.
Now, go fuck yourself.[/QUOTE]
I agree with the second part, he will be. I don’t agree that he didn’t threaten to be good, but that’s a bit of a nonsense argument to be having really. I shall not fuck myself.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998492, member: 273”]Glas seems to
- Realize that it takes most players 2-3 years to get near realizing potential (if they are going to at all) and that big lads take longer than anyone else.[/QUOTE]
Kev, you vastly overrate Cork time and again. (They’ll probably win the AI this year and you’ll mistake that for vindication). Don’t think I’ve overrated Na P players, Dowling has come good, Breen has been about as good as I’ve said he was, Downes was disappointing at the end of the year. What other Limerick players have I not critiqued fairly?