All Ireland Final 2’19 - Kilkenny v Tipperary, a Traditional Final

*unpossible

Take that up with lazarus

I think what he’s trying to say is nobody should be sent off in a final, unless they attempt to murder somebody in cold blood

I agree

Eamonn Scallan’s sending off in 1996 for instance was ridiculous

Only Benny Dunne qualifies for a deserved sending off in an All-Ireland final in my time watching the game

Ah ok. I thought you were trying to make a sensible argument. Carry on.

I feel sorry for Hogan, it was a split second movement which he’ll deeply regret but it was a definite red card and it killed the game for KK

Is that because Benny used his hurley rather than his elbow like Richie did?

Couldn’t agree more. Hogan went in hard and clumsy but if he’d gotten a yellow they’d have shaken hands and gotten on with it( when Barret eventually rolled himself up off the floor) The tone would have been set then for an almighty game of no frills hard fucking hurling.
The ref had a choice to make today, he made the wrong choice. Benny gave the ref absolutely no choice that time. Hurling is fucked more watered down now than the grand national

Patrick Horgan’s sending off in the 2013 Munster final started this nonsense

Then we had Henry and Ryan O’Dwyer being sent off harshly that summer too

a light tap on top iirc, today was no worse

Be assaulted, roll back up. All ok…

But shur Tommy jumped up

Before this year, who was the last player to score a goal in every game and win the all Ireland? I can’t think of one in the modern era. And that would have been a 4 or 5 game season. 8 goals, all from play, in 8 games is just astonishing consistentcy.

Noel McGrath had a great year. A credit to him. Seamus Callanan has had a record breaking historicly legendary year. He’s surely Hurler of the Year.

Shur Ozzie has it sewn up again.

This is obviously quite contentious but if you do a quick search to confirm the parameters on what a head high tackle or dangerous play is defined as under the latest guidelines then Hogans red card today is Justified.

A larger issue concerning Player welfare is the very strong possibility that Hogan was concussed given the mistiming of the tackle. There is no protocol as such to complete concussion checks as part of the blood sub routine.

When Barrett makes contact with Hogans head with the hurley causing injury whilst Hogan has no opportunity to protect himself , its quite obvious from the head injury sustained by Hogan that more than a fresh jersey is required in terms of medical attention.

Excellent point. Barrett disgraced himself out there today, no question

Worse than what Patrick Horgan got sent off for

Could have broken his neck. 2 yellows would have sorted it, cop on to yourselves lads, shake hands and best of luck

Guidance to Referees on high/head tackles -

If contact is made to opponent’s head; if opponent has no opportunity to protect himself; if contact/impact is excessive or causes injury; if the elbow/forearm/hurley is part of the contact; if the player making contact jumps or has two feet off the ground; if the player making contact had a realistic alternative by way of challenging opponent ; the direction and distance covered by the player who makes contact.

Peter Osgood did it for Chelsea in the 1970
FA Cup.

You need more posts like this Sid