All Ireland Hurling Final 2018

I saw them for he first time in the flesh in the drawn semi final, I couldn’t believe the size of them, they were like massive big apes

“supermacs guy” beats “take it up the ass guy” any day.

Ah delighted for you. Will be some week.

He is and was class. Seems like a top fella.

And great heritage obviously :wink::joy:

Enjoy. If I wasn’t so busy i’d be up

Homophobic comment reported

Good for you mate. But stop quoting my posts for no reason.

Fair fucks Limerick cunts, better team by a distance. Galway were a horror show today, Tessio to blame. Limericks year though, that’s all that matters. Please don’t enjoy yourselves responsibly

I thought Glynn bowled him over at his ease? And Owens incredibly gave a free out.

And McInerney got booked for a superbly timed shoulder on some Limerick lad.

Limerick were clearly the better of the 2 teams but both of them were operating way below their best.

Galway looked weary but in fairness to Canning he produced the magic today and had the last free been 15 yards closer he’d have nailed it.

Limerick won playing some great stuff and some mental shit. Looked like Byrnes had been told to shoot from distance both from play and frees. Fucking bananas with the way the inside line was operating.

On the other side P Mannion had a couple of insane shots from frees too.

John Kiely seems like an alright sort. Another All Ireland won by a home appointment. Is Bond the last outsider to win won?

I’ve read a few times this week that Gavin O’Mahony has no regrets. I doubt that now. I’d be sick if I was him.

Overall a poor enough final. Plenty of endeavour but the wides took from it. If they’d managed to fuck this up it would’ve actually bate all.

Owens had a 'mare and can loom forward to being slaughtered by his colleague Brian Gavin in the examiner tomorrow.

I met GOM after the game, just overjoyed for his mates, he wouldn’t be human though if he didn’t have them

Fine bird though

Im still in shock that injury time was like a blur to me it looked like it was going to be a nightmare loss at the death but credit the lads yet again they dug deep within themselves.The feeling is indescribable still but I think we all just feel pure joy. Following them for so long 94,96,07 hammered in 09 semi final by Tipp,the strike in 2010 which led to relegation and 8 years of league torment in 1B.We have finally buried all those ghosts.What a panel of players and backroom team heros one and all! Time to celebrate it now we deserve it the champions of Ireland!! Luimneach abu!!!

Ah lads.

What a day to be a Limerick man. A few years ago I honestly wondered would we ever do it.

Absolutely class.

Good man. Homophobic??? Fergus isnt gay he just did it for the money.

Amazing game, sums up what it means to be a Gael. The joy amongst the limericks fans at full time was a sight to gladden your heart but let’s not forget the Galway team, looked beaten but the warrior spirit meant they fought to the death and their fans were gracious in defeat,real hurling people

Just read an interview with Dave Moriarty there. I avoided the papers before the game as I thought it’d fuck me up for today.

Limerick seemed like a really backward set up in 2007. Amazing that they made the final.

He refers to the roar also. Richie Bennis thought the roar wouldn’t be a problem today as there was 70k at the semi final and it would’ve been load then. Ignoring the fact that there was 80k are Limerick Waterford semi final in 07.

The fucking roar. For fuck sake.

No pitch invasion was a bit disappointing.

Yeah Owens was very poor but Gavin can scarcely criticise. Very poor ref who always fit in seamlessly with Brian Codys game plan.

Gavin O Mahoney would have been there or thereabouts on that Limerick team given paucity of defensive options.

I’m not sure if you told me a few years ago that a team that finished with Richie McCarthy, Dowling, Hannon, Lynch, Mulcahy etc would win an All Ireland I’d have believed it. Mulcahy got the winner, Dowling got a vital goal and Richie McCarthy hurled like a man possessed. Hannon and Lynch were contenders for mom. It’s an incredible transformation from bring 4th or 5th best in Munster. I know they have been infused with young talent and have real athletes like Morrissey brothers, Hegarty and Byrne’s but its a remarkable shift and also in winning probably hardest all Ireland ever won. One which would expose any chink in the armour.

The game itself was a slow burner. It had the makings of a classic and the score should have been around 3-23 to 2-25. The wides were draining and hard to watch. Limerick came very close to snatching defeat from the jaws of victory and it would have left other defeats in the haypenny place. I’m relieved they didnt throw it away to be honest as it would have followed them around for a long time. Dowling summed it up when he said he was praying towards the end of the game. Ironically enough there was an indian man called Green boots who died just as he was reaching the summit of Everest. Died in the deathzone when he could nearly reach out and touch it. That was nearly Limerick today.

It’s unnatural the size of some of them. They are like big strong rubby men.
At the end of the day tho good fast wristy hurlers are hard bet.

001074ab-642

Love you guys

The Universe is at peace tonight

Ok here we go

This is really written for my ould fella who deserved this day and ill try and portray it thru id say what he was feeling as a limerick man and its actually taken me years to identify with to be honest

I was a fervent cork hurling supporter that must have been even more difficult for him but it shows the power a woman can have on a child ( I would add that I began supporting the limerick footballers in 1991 after Philip Danaher nearly beat Kerry in Killarney but in hurling it was cork

I remember a defeat of waterford in the park in 1985 on a may day when I was given a wham bar to keep quiet but I would say the first real experience of what it meant to follow limerick was on a grassy bank in ennis in 1986 when a defeat to clare saw my uncle roar out that he’d never go to watch the bastards again, that was what I took from that occasion, my first communion day a year later was that famous 3-11 all draw v cork in thurles when Kieran Kingston banged in a few and we were in thurles a week later to see John Fenton score one from 45 yards with a groundstroke,

1988 was a hammering by Tipp in the rain in the park an occasion that I asked my dad to buy me a tipp headband – now this was a decision made by a nine year old who clearly must have been afraid of what he saw even at that age and either hated his father so much that he pestered him until he got that or else maybe it was the sheer passion of what he saw scared him somewhat , its interesting really, watching limerick wasn’t pretty

89,90,91,trips in the car, first round beating- maybe some hope in 92 a win over Waterford but a beating by cork in the park culminating in a car crash on the way home – I think we had a league final win over tipp when anthody carmody was sent off, “come on the 14 men”, “14 v 16”, referees were hated, Willie Horgan was an absolute pariah, but again a theme, “they wrote of us, etc”

I think 1994 was actually the single most deflating sporting occasion I was at, that train home was lads in absolute silence- the odd thing was that I think I was a little, like I never wanted limerick to win for some reason, I don’t think he deserved that to be honest, we were watching from the canal end, I was 16 but ill never forget the absolute silence as it ended and the roars from the hill, it was like been in a trance watching all this unfold to be homest.

I didn’t go in 96 as I was getting serious at soccer at the time and the night before I got 20 mins in a league cup game against well, Limerick City in Rathbane,

I remember that been equally defalting tho that defeat, he came home at about 11 on the train that night just shattered – you’ wonder how he took it all in really,

Literally shag all happened until 2001 and that Foley sideline in the Park, to me its probably the greatest game I was at I think- we discussed it here before but ive never seen such theater really and I look back on it as the greatest game I have seen and the manner in which it was won, Damien Fitzhenry tho put them in their place in august

And so it continued- beaten by offally in 2003, enough about 2007 but at least there was the semi final, 2008 in wexford, 2009 christ, 2010, jesus, they blamed cusack for poisoning the players…

It went on , oh yeah it went on- we went to kilkenny in the rain in 2014 and fuck it I think we became friends after that

This years semi final I decided enough was enough and cheered for limerick, today with 10 to go I thought it literally was 1994 again it was uncanny, Mulcahy;s point to break the siege was unreal …

The man didn’t get to see it tho but maybe I need to ensure my young lad does and that he knows what went on, I know, there is more to it really, maybe we’ll start going to limerick games in the future- maybe not ? but if we do it will be to support a noble cause and carry on a tradition if nothing else

The support the limerick hurling team have is unreal – it must have been pure hardship all this

Duignan said on 67 minutes this isn’t over yet as he knew and he was almost right, to the lads who actually genuinely supported limerick thru the shite since 1986 I literally have no idea who this must make ye feel, but go and fucking enjoy it anyway

End of twee post

What fucking vomit, cop onto yourself you big child