All-Ireland U-21 2013

Three in a row for Cavan in Ulster as well. …:clap:

Who’s over the cavan team boxty

Excellent result for Cork, surprised to be honest going on pedigree of Tipp.

Anyone see it? Did the mOve of Clancy back to full back line have a big influence?

Clancy was at 6, Dorman in the corner, Cahalane on Quinlivan.

Fair enough. Nobody that amazing in All-Ireland series by looks of it, any of 4 could win it really going by results.

Insightful analysis as always Kev. That’s why you get paid the big bucks :clap:

Thats fantastic work by Cavan, credit to Peter Reilly, and special mention to Nicolas Walsh, who seems to have to have a large influence on putting the systems into place that have allowed this to come to pass. Hopefully they manage to drive on at Senior level, they seemed to put up a few showings in Div 3 this year but fell off the pace, perhaps partly due to the U21’s focus being elsewhere. Would like to see them win this out now, but its hard to see anyone stopping that Kildare juggernaut.

I appreciate your admiration, even if you are a bit of a tard.

I was at this as my brother was playing for Tipp and I must say the scoreline flattered Cork.For 45 mins there was nothing between the 2 teams and Tipp had been ahead by 1 at half time.Tipp missed 3 one on ones in those 45 mins and were hit with a sucker punch when Cork went down the field after 45 mins and scored with their only goal chance up to that point.Tipp were hampered severely by injuries carried into the game to a few key players and realistically we would have needed all of those firing to beat that Cork team.

The last 10 minutes was a procession really and Cork fired over 6 or 7 unanswered points as our heads dropped.They were very clinical in front of goals.Number 2 Clancy I think was moved to centre back and impressed along with number 8.He caught 3 or 4 clean kick outs in a 10 minute spell in the second half.Cahalane wasn’t as good as I thought he’d be.Tends to be beaten out in front to most balls.Corks strength and conditioning was superb.Big athletic Aidan Walsh types.Tipp couldn’t compete physically but most of their cork counterparts had a year or 2 on them.

Cork would be my pick to win it out.They can rack up a score.

[quote=“Whiplash, post: 757716, member: 638”]I was at this as my brother was playing for Tipp and I must say the scoreline flattered Cork.For 45 mins there was nothing between the 2 teams and Tipp had been ahead by 1 at half time.Tipp missed 3 one on ones in those 45 mins and were hit with a sucker punch when Cork went down the field after 45 mins and scored with their only goal chance up to that point.Tipp were hampered severely by injuries carried into the game to a few key players and realistically we would have needed all of those firing to beat that Cork team.

The last 10 minutes was a procession really and Cork fired over 6 or 7 unanswered points as our heads dropped.They were very clinical in front of goals.Number 2 Clancy I think was moved to centre back and impressed along with number 8.He caught 3 or 4 clean kick outs in a 10 minute spell in the second half.Cahalane wasn’t as good as I thought he’d be.Tends to be beaten out in front to most balls.Corks strength and conditioning was superb.Big athletic Aidan Walsh types.Tipp couldn’t compete physically but most of their cork counterparts had a year or 2 on them.

Cork would be my pick to win it out.They can rack up a score.[/quote]

How can you say that when you haven’t seen the other teams play? Was your brother any use?

Whiplash
I presume the age profile of the Tipp team was much younger than Cork’s? If Power stays with this bunch for 2 more years i would strongly fancy us to win a Munster crown & hopefully push for an All Ireland.

Fair play to Cork though, they are producing good underage Footballers year in year out.

What are Galway like maroonandwhite? They needed extra time in the Connaught final i believe, Kildare are favorites to win out the competition ahead of Cork. They just about saw off Longford so Galway will surely fancy their chances.

Kildare U21 11/8
Cork U21 15/8
Galway U21 7/2
Cavan U21 6/1

Cavan are a serious price considering they are Ulster champions.

I haven’t seen them play so can’t really say. They’ve good a few good scorers and big enough around the middle. I suppose Kildare are so highly rated as they beat the team who beat dublin who would have been fancied. And no doubt the horsey set is backing them. I asked the above lad to just make the point that no one has a clue about the opposition in this grade. Galway beat a cork team two years ago that were supposed to walk the all Ireland based on provincial results.

Agreed.
A very unpredictable grade is U21. Kildare were fancied to hammer Longford in the Leinster final but that didn’t materialize either.

The amount of Kildare players who have played Division 1 this year and are part of the side in the NFL semi finals is another reason they’re highly fancied. 2 AFL would be recruits there as well as a fuckload of other talent is what makes them stand out. Of course they could be timbered by Galway, but as things stand, its hard not be impressed by the absolutely horrible band of hateful fuckers.

galway would be the team to throw money on. the other three all tend to sh`t the course when they reach the final strait in all ireland football competitions while galway tend to arrive out of the wesht and promptly beat all before them simply because they have the novel approach in underage football of picking forwards who can actually kick scores when the chances present themselves as distinct from a lot of other counties who are using a measuring tape to pick lads

There’s a good few of them who have been involved with strong athy and edenderry school teams so no doubt they have a bit of pedigree. Beating mayo and Roscommon isn’t easily done at this level though so galway won’t fear them.

Imagine how far further ahead of everyone Cork would be if they didn’t shit the course so often eh?

Idiot.

An Irish lad will have to be blinding good to be given a contract over here again. Ciaran Killkenny, in the most amazingly nice way possible, telling them they are a shower of cunts with a very strange culture has them thinking twice, in Melbourne at least. Not flavor of the month there at all.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 757806, member: 273”]Imagine how far further ahead of everyone Cork would be if they didn’t shit the course so often eh?

Idiot.[/quote]
While he is indeed an idiot, the fact of the matter is that they really should have harnessed all those U21 sides better at this stage though, 4 leagues, a skelp of provincials is more than decent, but there really should have been more than 1 All Ireland. Counihan might surprise everyone this year, but it would be a surprise and there has to be someone down there better equipped for the job than him at this stage of his reign.

Yep, he shit the bed in a big way thats for sure. He most likely also wet it quite a bit too and had to run home.

[quote=“myboyblue, post: 757808, member: 180”]While he is indeed an idiot, the fact of the matter is that they really should have harnessed all those U21 sides better at this stage though, 4 leagues, a skelp of provincials is more than decent, but there really should have been more than 1 All Ireland. Counihan might surprise everyone this year, but it would be a surprise and there has to be someone down there better equipped for the job than him at this stage of his reign.

.[/quote]

I was referring to Cork being top of the 21’s Roll of honor with 11 titles.