All Ireland U21 Football Championship Thread

Can’t believe no-one has started this yet, astonishing.

Laois travel to Aughrim this weekend under the tutelage of former Wexford supremo Pat “Skinny” Roe. The unexpected return of the Portlaoise players for this will be a boost, but the broken hand John O Loughlin suffered playing for UCD in the Fitzgibbon deprives them of one midfielder, and a hamstring strain playing against Kerry in a recent challenge has seen them deprived of senior panellist Damien Lowry.

Again the pressure will be on Donie Kingston for scores, but hopefully Paul Cahillane can take some of the pressure off him this year.

Cork play Kerry saturday week. This normally would be the final most years, but Tipperarys upsurge in football means they’ll be very much in the mix again.

Cork have 10 of last years panel, 6 starters. Thats a good start, and they beat Kerry handy enough at Minor. But, both sides have totally reversed that result in recent years, so its not a great gauge. Cork have put in the usual very good preperation, but supposedly didn’t break the winter training rules, word has it Kerry did, who knows what to believe there.

The dominance of UCC and CIT in Freshers football in “A” & “B” for the last 2 years, and the good performances of both Colleges and Tralee IT in the last 2 years would point to there being alot of good footballers down this side of the country. The winners could come from this match.

But Meath, Kildare, Dublin Mayo, Galway (All-Ireland Minor winners 3 years ago), Tyrone (2 years ago), Armagh (a freakishly huge Minor winners last year) will all have a big say as well. Word has it Monaghan won’t be half bad, and Down have a huge pick of last years beaten finalists.

Bit of a minefield, but i’d go for Mayo, Cork, Tyrone & Kildare to get out of the provinces, after that, who knows?

This competition has gone to shit since 2000.

In the same way as Laois and Tyrone’s paths diverged after 1997 and 1998, so too did Limerick and Tyrones after 2000. :angry:

Not sure what Kildare have in Leinster, Dublin will be the team to beat though.

Just looking at the Limerick panel there. Shocking to think that neither of the two powerhouses in Limerick football (B’Steen and Drom) have a player on the panel. Ian Ryan, Cormac Joyce Power and Eoin Joy would be the main men on the panel, seems a decent enough panel but I doubt it’s good enough to make much of an impact.

Sorry MBB - Forgot Laois from 3 years ago. That brilliant goal from Zac whatever his name is. Ye have lost a few from that though have ye?

what Sigerson players do Dublin have on their team? And how many from last year would you know? Dublin lacked coolness and on-the-field leaders and intelligence last year. Can’t see that changing.

My thinking on Kildare is they have a few lads with Senior experience(massive help), they have had 3 good Minor teams in-a-row, without winning and the influence of McGeeney and his interest in the U-21 grade, which i know he rates highly.

The Ballylanders lad i saw play half back was a bit raw, do you know if he’d make it?

I wouldn’t know much about them, due to their geographical location I think we’ve only ever played them once.

Laois will be weaker this year than we were 3 years ago, the loss of Zack and Conor Meredith robs them of some much needed firepower up front. I doubt there’s a Leinster in them to be honest.

Dublin could and should have had this Laois team 3 years ago, took a replay by Laois to get over them. Don’t know to much about Kildare to be honest.

Cork for the double. Our forwards will be made up of Barry (future Cork senior) and Kevin O’Driscoll, Ciaran Sheehan (future Cork senior), Mark Collins (future Cork senior), Lorcan McLoughlin and Paul Honohan. Add in Liam Jennings, Aidan Walsh, Chris O’Donovan and Eoin Keane and thats a very very strong team.

Dublin beat Louth by 6 after extra time in Dundalk. Dublin were 1-7 to 1-3 down but got the last four points to tie it up at 1-7 each after normal time, then over ran them in extra time. 1-15 to 1-9 I think it was at the end. Kicked a huge amount of wides. :rolleyes:

Laois beat Wickla today, 0-13 to 0-10. Should have won easier, but its not a bad start to the campaign. Westies up next.

I see Carlow won AET against Offaly, Offaly could and should have won it. Carlow will be relatively strong in this after being Leinster finalists 3 years ago and with Brendan Murphy back in tow.

My thinking on Kildare is they have a few lads with Senior experience(massive help), they have had 3 good Minor teams in-a-row, without winning and the influence of McGeeney and his interest in the U-21 grade, which i know he rates highly.

eh westmeath beat kildare 2 weeks ago

Didn’t even see that, but seeing as they only started marketing it last week it seems a bit strange.

So it’s Dublin, Leix, Meathia Irridenta and the Rasta men for the semis? What’s the draw anybody know? A/I Semi Finals is Leinster v Connacht I think? A/I Draw is arseways for the U-21, not the same as the senior.

strange it may be, its still fact.

To answer my own question. it’s Dublin v Carlow next. So with a handy Leinster title already assured and only having to play a Connacht team in the Semis, I think it’s safe to say we’ve an All-Ireland Final to look forward to in early May.

Tyrone 1-7 1-14 Derry
Leitrim 0-09 Mayo 0-13
Limerick 1-10 Clare 0-10

anyone know anything of the heslin buck from westmeath, i think hes a lomans man, meant to be the great white hope of wmeath football.

Thats a fair beating for Tyrone, Kyle Coney held scoreless. Derry were excellent by all accounts. Good performance from Leitrim as well, Mayo are strong at this level, and according to the paper only pulled away near the end.

Cork team announced for saturday. We’ve a CL game, which i know i won’t start, but i’ll miss this anyway, bit disappointed, could be a cracker.

1. John Mellet (Carrigaline)
  2. Rory O’Sullivan (Argideen Rangers)
  3. Rory Buckley (Macroom)
  4. Ian Jones (Bishopstown)
  5. Martin Hickey (Carraig na bhFear)
  6. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk) Not expected to play, Jennings will go full back, Buckley centre back.
  7. J.P. Murphy (Ballincollig)
  8. Chris O’Donovan (Valley Rovers - Capt.)
  9. Eoin Keane (St. Finbarr’s)
  10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
  11. Ciaran Sheehan (Eire Óg)
  12. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
  13. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
  14. Jason Sexton (St. Finbarr’s)
  15. Paul Honohan (Bishopstown)

16.Brian Walsh (St. Oliver Plunketts)
17. Richard Dineen (St. Michaels)
18. Liam Jennings (Ballincollig)
19. Mark Cahalane (Castlehaven)
20. Aidan O’Reilly (Nemo Rangers) Proof if it was ever needed that Nemo rob players, he’s from Carrigtohill, which is only out the road.
21. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
22. John Beston (Mitchlestown)
23. Eoin Buckley (St. Michaels)
24. Alan Holland (Ilen Rovers)