Surely the free itself is killing the momentum of the game rather than a keeper kicking it?
It is when it takes the length of time to take it that it does. Its just a bizarre act at this stage, and 1 minute “injury time” is patently wrong, even when taking into account the number of subs made. I mean, cmon, 1 minute?! Its just bizarre, but to be fair, it wasn’t the most bizarre decision made by a joke of a referee over the course of the contest for both sides.
I don’t rate Duffy as a good ref either. The only good thing you can say about him is that his brother is even worse.
The present rules are open to abuse re free taking. A team could be a point ahead and get a free in front of the goals right on 70 minutes. Board goes up for one minute. Bernard Brogan could have been taking all the close in frees all day but Dublin - like any other team - could bring up the 'keeper and eat up the last minute, denying the opposition time for one last attack.
One minute added time is a cop out when there are a load of subs introduced in the second half.
Timekeeping should be taken out of the hands of the referee.
Should be a specific time-keeper.
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 765961, member: 180”]Stephen O Neill tripped over a ball in the warm up area in Croke Park
Cluxton was overjoyed, FFS crack a smile you dour cunt, lifes not that fucking bad
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BI9CIo_CcAAtiFS.jpg:large[/quote]
you´d be the first cunt giving out if he was celebrating too much…cluxton seems to be very comfortable in his own skin…no interest in talking bollox or seeking attention in the media …i doubt he has a twitter account etc.
thought Marty duffy was poor…definitely should have been a bit more time added on at the end…Brogan wouldn´t pass water…it was ok to be so greedy when O´Gara was the only option inside him…its different now when there´s good scoring forwards there…Dublin defence still a worry and the forwards didn´t really play as a unit today…
great effort from Tyrone…still very much work in progress but going the right way…
[quote=“scumpot, post: 765974, member: 182”]you´d be the first cunt giving out if he was celebrating too much
That is pure conjecture
…cluxton seems to be very comfortable in his own skin…no interest in talking bollox or seeking attention in the media …i doubt he has a twitter account etc.
He didnt sound awfully comfortable in his own skin up there today. I have no time for speeches in GAA, but they’re there, and if a Junior C Captain made a speech like that you’d be embarrassed. To make matters worse, it seemed like he had actually prepared something. I know he doesn’t like media, but that was woejus.
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 765977, member: 180”]That is pure conjecture
He didnt sound awfully comfortable in his own skin up there today. I have no time for speeches in GAA, but they’re there, and if a Junior C Captain made a speech like that you’d be embarrassed. To make matters worse, it seemed like he had actually prepared something. I know he doesn’t like media, but that was woejus.[/quote]
i´m not being smart but what does the term shot selection actually mean to you?..i fookin hate it used in GAA…ok on a golf course…but when a fella is under pressure in croke park and 2 lads up his hole do you really think he´s time to weígh up all his options…
its like the term ´keep the scoreboard ticking´…its not like rugby where a team can be camped in another team´s line for a full 20 minutes…
really boils my shite these terms from other sport being used in GAA when there´s no need…
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 765977, member: 180”]That is pure conjecture
He didnt sound awfully comfortable in his own skin up there today. I have no time for speeches in GAA, but they’re there, and if a Junior C Captain made a speech like that you’d be embarrassed. To make matters worse, it seemed like he had actually prepared something. I know he doesn’t like media, but that was woejus.[/quote]
You’d hardly expect a guy who couldn’t cut it at St Pats to be a confident person, would you?
[quote=“scumpot, post: 765979, member: 182”]i´m not being smart but what does the term shot selection actually mean to you?..i fookin hate it used in GAA…ok on a golf course…but when a fella is under pressure in croke park and 2 lads up his hole do you really think he´s time to weígh up all his options…
its like the term ´keep the scoreboard ticking´…its not like rugby where a team can be camped in another team´s line for a full 20 minutes…
really boils my shite these terms from other sport being used in GAA when there´s no need…[/quote]
Spot on. We have all these dull, meaningless cliches creeping into the game. “shot selection”, “game management”, “recycling (???) the ball” etc.
[quote=“scumpot, post: 765979, member: 182”]i´m not being smart but what does the term shot selection actually mean to you?..i fookin hate it used in GAA…ok on a golf course…but when a fella is under pressure in croke park and 2 lads up his hole do you really think he´s time to weígh up all his options…
Of course he has, he can weigh up whether he has the time and space to comfortably kick the score judged on by his own ability which he is full and well aware of, or whether he should find a way to get the ball back outside if he has no one in front of him available. He’s an intercounty player, this shouldn’t be awfully difficult for him. The term may bother you, fair enough, but the fact of the matter doesn’t change, Tyrone’s substitutes made poor decisions in front of goal in the last ten minutes of that game. Tough on them granted, they were coming into the white hot atmosphere and had to adjust immediately, but Rock got a split second to take his first point and nailed it. That was the difference.
:D:clap: think there´s a blue bin out the back of Superquinn car park for that…
think you´ve just made my point…its a split second…instinct…he didn´t sit down on the ball and weigh up the shot selection…
But Rock had the abilty to execute it, Thats the difference. Know your limitations.
think we´re arguing two different things…
Scumpot, are you disappointed Dublin won because of the inevitable media hype?
I think Kevin Mc Stay can be blamed for inventing each and every one of them.
‘Shot selection’ is fine. ‘Game management’ comes from NFL where using time-outs etc is a skill, its a worthless word in Gaelic Football.
They did go[quote=“myboyblue, post: 765938, member: 180”]Tyrone have put in a huge shift here today, they may not win it (and if they dont, they can blame the poor shot selection of their subs) but its been a very very good league for them. They haven’t gone away.
His have been incredibly persistent.
Kevin O Brien couldnt resist having a bite there at the Tyrone attacker, could be costly.[/quote]
away already mbb, they have been very poor last year and year before.
This is a new team. Think it’s more their back as opposed to not have gone away.
They still won’t win AI though.
Set shots should have 30 secs allowed, 5 for all other frees. Reverse free for taking too long. None of this retarded throwing the ball up.
Sounds like a cracking match. How badly injured is O’Neill (surely they would have him wrapped in bubble wrap until the throw in, given his injury record?).