Ask Rocko about Rugby tactics thread

That was an excellent peformance yesterday. Disappointing weather meant we never got to see the Australian backline functioning properly but it affected us just as much. Really top class first half performance into the wind and we closed it out well second half.

Ratings

Murphy - 7 Should have taken his try but Boss should have released the pass a phase earlier. Dealt comfortably with most kicks, despite one bad punt return from their restart in the second half. Excellent support running for his try.

Horgan - 7.5 Good aggressive performance without the indiscipline of last week.

Oā€™Driscoll - 7.5 Quiet again but defended with his usual aggression and the focus of the Wallaby defenders on him created the room for Murphyā€™s try.

Dā€™Arcy - 8 Another great performance from Dā€™Arcy. Making yardage (however short) with great regularity this season and defensively very sound.

Hickie - 7.5 Took his try very well and won a first half 22 drop out to give us our first real possession. Quiet enough after that.

Oā€™Gara - 8.5 Class act these days. His kicking and distribution were first class - one bad pass to Oā€™Driscoll was probably his only error. He even made a couple of decent breaks. Crucial role in both tries.

Boss - 7 Difficult one to judge. Heā€™s happy to carry the ball unlike Stringer which obviously adds another dimension - that said I felt he was slow to get the ball away from rucks sometimes. Stringer tends to arrive at the ruck and fling the ball away which is one dimensional but when you go through 20 phases in the opposition 22 it can make the difference between scoring and not. Great to have blooded him though and heā€™s streets ahead of any other rivals for the second ranking scrum half spot now.

Young - 7 One bad knock on in the first half. Not overly prominent and the scrums werenā€™t very clean either way. Again good to have given him game time

Best - 7.5 Good game. Throwing in was decent, as highlighted by difficulties Sheahan and their hookers had. Lots of honest hits around rucks and should be ahead of Frankie in the pecking order now.

Hayes - 7.5 Prominent again. One decent tackle in the first half and a great rip from an opponent at their 22.

Oā€™Callaghan - 8 Great steal for the second try. Primary lineout winner on the day which wasnā€™t easy.

Oā€™Connell - 7.5 Made a couple of decent carries and was part of an overall dominant pack.

Best - 9 Superb performance. Three great hits in the tackle and a couple of excellent hits with the ball. The intensity of the match dropped noticeably when he went off.

Wallace - 8 Again part of a great back row display that destroyed Australia. Did all his taks with class.

Leamy - 8 He hurt the Australians time and again with the ball and in the tackle.

Canā€™t argue with that. Great stuff all round. The back-row was indeed particularly class, and Rory Bestā€™s performance in the conditions was very encouraging. Thought the Bull seemed to tire in the scrums near the end, but although Iā€™ve often given out about Oā€™Gara, he really controlled the show in the second half. Very professional display, not a case of us hanging on desperately as is usually the case. World Cup (despite the tough draw) and 6 Nations - with England & France at home - seem to be coming just at the right time for us.

Yeah thatā€™s what impressing me most of late law: the professionalism of the team in securing victories. No hanging on and aimless kicking of the ball. Oā€™Gara put everything away from Latham in the second half yesterday - it must have been so frustrating for him. Like I said in the preview the other day Latham is the best full back in the world in my opinion - so we simply didnā€™t kick to him.

Indeed Sundayā€™s programme recalled again the missed touch-kick in 1991 against Australia that probably cost us a place in the semi-final.

Just goes to show how tough our draw is for the World Cup, that if both ourselves and France beat Argentina (not a given), we then have to beat France in France to avoid probably going out in the quarters to New Zealand. Whereas one of England, South Africa and Wales - all of whom weā€™re probably better than - will almost certainly make the semis. Of course the other side of that is that if we can beat France (and Argentina) we would face Scotland, and then one of the above three, for a place in the final.

Though Iā€™d be satisfied with just a Grand Slam.

Whatā€™s the story with that Fitzgerzald lad who got named on the team for Sunday? Is he worth a game, Oā€™Sullivan must rate him fairly highly considering heā€™s only 19?

Heā€™s the next big thing in Irish rugby. It helps that he came through the Leinster schools structure where the hype is patently ridiculous - even guys like ā€œthe bhoyā€ was a star in that environment. From what Iā€™ve seen of him though he looks a classy player.

A guy I know whoā€™s been studying Leinster schoolsā€™ rugby for the last 50 years or so says he was the best schools player heā€™s seen. He hasnā€™t looked out of place for Leinster either. Heā€™s played more at full-back than wing, but I guess at the moment Ireland donā€™t need another full-back. A good display here could help him toward the World Cup squad too; after Oā€™Driscoll and Dā€™Arcy, Horgan and Trimble are probably our next best centres, so if they are seen as covering that area, we need more players to cover the wings, and at the moment Fitzgerald would be behind only Hickie & Bowe in that regard. Heā€™ll thrive in our current backline too, with the space our centres will give him (even with Horgan replacing Dā€™Arcy).

This is probably for a separate discussion but Iā€™ve plenty of time for individuals like Oā€™Driscoll and Fitzgerald - one of whom is truly world class and the other has bags of potential. But then they play and that gobshite Tony Ward starts spouting shite about what a great young player he is and starts using their middle names when referring to them. Fuck off ya prick. I cannot stand that arsehole and was delighted to see Keyes get the autumn internationals.

Sexton out of the tour to South Africa.

@Rocko loves his rugby

Concussed?

Shoulder.