Just cooked myself a stew there, my own recipe of:
500g of diced beef
5 carrots peeled and sliced
6 spuds peeled and quartered
3 beef stock cubes boiled with a litre of water
Some paprika, mild chili powder, cayanne, black ground pepper and salt.
Very pleased with the end result. 7/10.
Any additional flavourings youâd recommend lads? I do need to stock up on my flavourings cupboard as the choice is quite limited at the minute.
Get some fresh herbs in, IBD. For me, theyâre the thing thatâll take a dish up a couple of notches. Problem is the plants are bolloxes to try and keep alive and the packets of herbs are dear enough.
I had to make do with what I had, Iâd normally throw an onion or two in, a garlic clove and maybe some more variety in the veg. Any herbs in particular youâd recommend, Thraw?
Get some bouquet garny. Couldnât be arsed trying to explain, google it!
IBD, you should throw th meat in to sear first, take it out then fuck in a can of stout,bit of tomato puree, simmer for a while then add the beef stock, herbs, veg and meat and into the oven then instead of boiling it. More of a casserole than stew but far superior, need a good pot though that you can do the whole lot in
Made this lemon chicken and chickpea stew recently, bout 15 mins and youâve got a different and really hearty chicken stew. I replaced cinnamon (canât stand it) with nutmeg. Add some chilli flakes after if you like a bit of heat. Had it with cous cous.
Can anyone recommend a utensil that guarantees a proper Mashed mixture that doesnât cost a bomb. Please, none of these shite hand held gadgets.
Also, saw in a Sunday magazine over the weekend the idea of black pudding crumbs mixed in with buttery creamy mash that made my mouth water. Any of ye tried this? I am going to be all over it with my spuds next time i boil a few.
[quote=âMac, post: 707131â]Good thread bump harry, was looking for this.
Anyone got a handy tasty recipe for cottage pie? Plenty online but looking for one thatâs a bit different.[/quote]
I make mine with beef diced carrot onion and garlic. Worcester sauce, tomatoe puree, a sweet chutney and beef stock you can season and herb to taste. A nice creamy mash on top.
The Runt, can you cook an omelette with say mushrooms and onions etc all in the same pan or would you need two separate pans? I was reading an instruction there on how to cook an omelette and they were recommending cooking the eggs first in a pan and went fairly solid pouring whatever contents you want on top of that. Donât think that would work with my uncooked mushrooms and onions somehow. :strokechin:
Nah cook other ingredients first and only add them when the egg part is nearly done. Two pans is handiest. Love omelettes but pain in the hole to make I think