Ating a dog

You a Rathkealer?

You’d want your head examined getting dog if you didn’t half an acre for them to run around on and an island for them to scoot around in the kitchen

He barks like mad when you leave for a minute or two but than he goes back into his crate and generally just sleeps. Nearly always he’s in the crate asleep when you come back. Doesn’t like being on his own though. He’ll even follow you around the house if he’s on his own in a room. He’d always be walked here so he’s generally wrecked after that.

Got a schnoodle about 6 months back, cross between a poodle and Schnauzer. Doesn’t shed, great temperament with kids. We’ve an older lab too so they’re good for keeping each other company

We have a crate/cage in a utility room we put him into at nighttime or when we are not in house for a few hours. He’s happier in there than not in there if we are not around as i think it makes him feel safe.

He’s grand when we’re not there but he does like @Loko_Cove lad follow you around the house if not there or he’ll lie on a bed in the sun.

He comes out off the crate like a bat out of hell in the morning when it’s opened. My wife would want him sleeping on bed with us or one of kids but I draw line at that the only time I’ve ever seen any attitude or him niipping at kids was when we are away in summer and he’s been allowed sleep in bedrooms.

Non shed so you need to get them groomed every three or four months.

Don’t get a hybrid dog… Don’t go on done deal. Don’t get a small dog, they’re usually yappy as fuck.

Any lad buying a dog on done deal should be taken out and shot

I have a natural reservation to these (x) - oodle things, designer breeds in general. Maybe a sort of snobbery from growing up with hounds.

I might have to bite the bullet though

I think it means non shed really

Fairly sure I heard the selling of dogs on done deal has been banned now

Getting a rescue dog can be tricky if you’ve young kids too seemingly. I’ve heard a good few stories of rescue dogs biting kids in the first few days and dog then returned back to the pound. You can never be sure of their background/why they are nervous etc etc

Lads will believe anything when you put a fancy name on it.

Collies are super intelligent and have a lovely temperament , especially with kids but their coat needs work.
Labs are crazy bastards for the first 18 or so months… they’ll chew and ate everything but after that are a brilliant family dog.
King Charles are very friendly but very stupid.
Golden Retriever not too different to lab but not as wild.
Beagle are a great dog but ridiculously energetic and their nose is too strong, they’ll be gone from you on the chase any time you leave them off…

I find the only dogs that bark at us out on walks are the small fellas. Same when we pass a house you can hear them yapping away.

What are you looking for in the dog? @EstebanSexface

It’s for the small one, something that will be for her. Easy to mind.

The dog will never be left alone. Itll get the back legs walked off it, we’re always at the beach or the forest, so not a useless cunt of a yoke

Ah no…

Labs are brilliant and perfect for that… They love water and tonnes of energy. Golden retriever perfect too. My own fella hates water but will run all day. Any of those three would be perfect… I think a lot of the time, the bigger the dog the softer the temperament… Whatever dog you get socialize them with other dogs and humans when young.

Labs are beautiful dogs but they are hard work and will wreck your house. My wife’s family always had labs. They all seemed to have bad arthritis last five years of their lives.

But if you have the room and the time to walk them they are hard bet.

Yes, the first two years are full on with them.

Now

Couple of months ago, he was accidentally locked in a room with a chaise longue

Fucking hell. It’d be me getting the dog house

:grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: jaysus