Auld lads taking pictures of pints

I used to be able to drink maybe 8 to 10 pints of porter in a sitting. I’d struggle to get to 5 now. Covid really fucked up my Guinness tolerance levels

I’ve only had pints one night this year, in Limerick a few weeks ago. I tore through 3 Beamish in under an hour, so put the brakes on, and had another 3 or 4 Guinness over a few hours I’d say. A pint of stout is very satisfying.

Same. You mended yet?

I’m pretty much ok this week. Voice still a bit croaky which is annoying when doing presentations. Did a bit of activity Saturday morning and was wrecked after it but forced myself out for a run Sunday and felt ok.

I haven’t had a drop of any sort in six weeks

Moderation is key lads.

Agreed, a couple of cans now tonight will be a grand way to ease myself into the weekend.

Rubbish! @TreatyStones hadn’t a scoop in 6 weeks - three of which he’s been as sick as a small hospital. Change of routine in eating or drinking habits is only inviting grief on yourself.
You’ve been flying over Christmas & New Year and then you fall for this dry January scutter. Your system is thrun’ out of kilter …You’re sick…

Its tuesday bud, that quite the run up to ease in

I have a few pints every weekend. Consistency is key

Would you cut it off at a certain point?

6 pints is ideal

Each night or over the whole weekend?

If its each night you wont have to worry about making any pension provisions

Deliberate or just lost the taste for it

I’ve never known anyone who routinely drinks 2 pints a night at the weekend.

No , not deliberate. I didn’t even lose the taste for it. I found the krombacher non alcoholic and to me at least it tastes the same as its alcoholic equivalent. So I said fuck it, I’ll give it a go and tbh it’s been a lot easier than I thought

True, but 6 pints is a serious session that would rattle me for days afterwards. Im getting old, alas.

I’m in agreement there. The half-gallon these days is just the finest, one more manageable but after that you’re heading for troubled waters…Sighs!!

For sure, had a tricky day at work today, couple of things gnawing on the mind. Had intended to stay the week off the gargle but went down to the local boozer, had the half gallon, some craic with the regulars, nice wee pressure valve release.