Ball Ox's Opinions

Although he occassionally lets himself down with some off-the-wall opinions, I must admit that I have had some interesting debates with Ball Ox on various matters:

1. US Foreign Policy
  2. Northern Ireland
  3. Abbeylara Seige

I think that some of the other members ignore his posts but quite often the guy has something interesting to say.

So Ball Ox what gives the USA the right to impose its way of life on other countries?

I rarely ignore his posts but some of them are a touch difficult to respond to. Also if you’re reading this Ball Ox: you’re entitled to your own views but anything overtly racist will continue to be deleted. Most people read this in work and cannot be violating company policies.

I had a decent debate with him on Omagh for a while which I’m meaning to come back to. Wouldn’t mind an Abbeylara thread.

It is the greatest nation on earth.

I am not sure what exactly you mean by “impose its way of life” - is it the idea that they want to sew the seeds of democracy in the middle east? - if yes, then that is to nuetralise a risk facing the USA. (ie an undemocratic M.E. is not good for 1 America and 2 the rest of the world) therefore they are attempting to install democratic systems in the ME. Makes perfect sense to me.

PS rock, oil fookin say what i want, right!

What about their imposition of their way of life on countries like Venezuala. They present no security threat to the United States - just an economic and social one. It’s not in the US’ interests to have a major player so near with access to massive natural resources. Resources that have been nationalised and so fall outside the sphere of US influence. So they initiate a coup of course.

Huge recommendation for The Revolution Will Not Be Televised (the Irish documentary on the Venezualan coup) by the way. Brilliant documentary.

Why haven’t the US tried to install a democratice regime in Saudi Arabia? Are human rights violations ok as long as the country sells plenty of oil to the US?

Huge recommendation for the song ‘The Revolution will not be Televised’ by Gil Scott-Heron…

There are two opposing ways of life causing conflict in the world today. The West, as headed by the USA, and the Muslim extremists as headed by Al Quaida. The argument could be made that the Muslims would not have any problem with the West had USA not interfered in the Middle East. It could be argued that the USA started the war.

How do you defend the war in Iraq? I have had this discussion with you before where you seem to think that Iraq is the first step in the USA’s plan to impose (and I use that word) democracy across the Middle East. I have asked you if you think that they will invade Saudi Arabia and you said ‘yes’. Do you honestly believe that, and if so, what evidence do you have to back it up?

I am going to address farmers point:

Your point about the war in Iraq was that it was somehow less justified/validated because they havent invaded or imposed democracy on all non-democratic ME states. Am i correct?

That is rubbish. The fact that they have STARTED this process is good enough for me. I mean there are lots of states that could do with being “invaded” but give the US a chance! This is a relatively new (post 9/11) policy; you cannot invalidate it just because they havent completed the process. In 100 years time there is every chance that the ME will be entirely democratic.

When i stated that i believed they would get to Saudi Arabia eventually, i meant that if, hypothetically, the current policy (which i support 100%) was seen through. However, who knows what policy will be implemented when the Democrats get in!

Further point:
The world needs a stern leader like the US. I believe that the UN (our “accepted” world leaders/police) have been proved to be GROSSLEY ineffective over the past decade. The US is filling a dangerous power vacuum left by the UN ineffectiveness. Example: if i was North Korea; i would be a lot more concerned with the actions/reaction of America than the UN - its a fookin joke! “Uh, lets impose economic sanctions. Lets not buy rice from them” - Bullshit. Lets blow the fook out of them!

Let me ask you farmer: Do you go to bed at night with any worry that America will attack ireland? I dont; because they do not attack nations that do not have it coming to them. Its the conspiracy theorists and the anti-Bush and anti-American, uneducated stoned hippy groups that blurrs the divide between right and wrong.

Re Rocks point:
No one cares about Venezuala

actually i care about venezuala, their women are regularly voted miss world.

Why is it ok for the US to have WMDs but not for anyone else?

How do you define a nation that “has it coming to them”? It seems to be rather an after-the-event definition, and one into which any country might fall that disagrees with the US.

And why doesn’t anyone care sufficiently about Venezuela to spell it correctly?

Not sure if it’s a well known fact or not Farmer but Gill Scott Heron’s father (Giles) played for Celtic in the fifties.

I generally agree with your comment on opposing world views but there are also political (non-theological) regimes that USA oppose, on the grounds that it threatens their power base. This is nothing to do with freedoms or rights: it is a power struggle. Hence the Saudi contradiction.

One misspelling and they all copied it. Law, get your arse over to the Omagh thread and apply your legal mind to the doubts I have raised.

Will think about the Omagh issues this evening & give it a considered response tomorrow.

You seem to have a hatred for conspiracy theorists
A conspiracy theorist is one who devises an opinion based on very little evidence

Are you not doing the same when you say that the US have started the process of democracy in the Middle East and will continue until it is 100% democratic? Where is the evidence to show that this is what they are going to do?

Without it your argument hasn’t a leg to stand on…

They went into Iraq for two reasons:

1. Oil and
  2. Revenge for Bush’s ould fella

No other reasons make any sense

My evidence is that it is current US foreign policy. What evidence do you have to invalidate it? This evidence is more reliable than some wacko theory you can up with: its coming from the horses mouth.

You are a bogger bastard. I hate Ireland and teh boggers in it. Ireland remains nuetral as a matter of policy in all wars. Thats a load of shite.

What wrong bog monsters? Is that the full dept of your debating skills??

Go home boggers!

Your silece means i win.

PS the level of inferior debate on this website is a mockery to my superior intellect. I am leaving to join mensa. So long bogger boys!

Hey Law,

If some one quits a debate (as the bogger lads have done) whats the legal position? I think legally i win??

Have you answered my question re the Saudi paradox? Haven’t got time to read through all of your replies. You’ll back down, I know you will.

i have answered re saudi raghead abia

hi guys

surelt now with the upcoming execution of sadaam hussein you must concede that the war is yielding dividends.

(apologies on a post card to: The president, The white house, DC)