Baseball

Anyone into the baseball? Not a huge fan myself, but would always keep an eye on it. Watching the ALC series these days on NASN. Tampa Bay have taken a 3-1 lead over the Red Sox when they hammered them at Fenway yesterday. They are looking good to meet the Phillies in the final, and maybe Philadelphia might end the longest winless streak of a major city in America. They have the longest time without a major championship in Ice Hockey, Basketball, Football and Baseball, which is bad considering they have a team in all 4 major championships.

From the couple of games I’ve seen Boston play in the series, it looks dobtful they’ll retain the world series, really arent getting the runs in, and Ortiz isnt hitting anything these days. The rays really have a good run going, and they just seem like its going to be their series to lose. boston have been in this situation before a few times tho, so wouldnt completely rule them out yet. The crowd in Tampa make some noise tho, covered dome and they have these fooking cow bells which is just as annoying as the blow horns the former russian countries fans are always blaring in soccer.

Worst game in the world.

Glorified game of rounders

thanks for the valuable input lads.

cunts.

I’m with Pikeman and Mac on this.

Is there any sport that you wouldn’t watch Gman? That woman of yours mustn’t get a word in edgeways with all the GAA, AFL, Soccer, American Football, Baseball etc that you watch

I watch it G-Man.

Have you been to a game?..Tis deadly, you just put your hand in the air and a lad comes running with two large bottles of Newcastle Brown Ale, with frosted glasses. There is no need to concentrate heavily on the game and when you see a home run live, it is fairly class. There is a big crack and then the ball flies out of the ground.

Red Sox have no Manny to bat them out of trouble this time. I’d fancy the Phillies to win it out this year.

Followed Baseball a fair bit when I lived in the States but not anymore. Though if it were on I’d take a look at it. Don’t have Setanta so don’t get the channel. I follow the SF Giants for my sins. They were just building then stadium their in now (Pacific Bell Park I think) and was at a driving range close to it back in the day. Real old style ball park, when a homer is hit it can go into the bay. Went to see them in Candlestick and though it’s a long night (and cold as fook out there) you have plenty of beer and craic. Keep an eye on the standings from time to time. Great sport to have on in the background when having a few beers.

ah yeah, wouldnt watch a whole lot of golf, or horse racing. Could take or leave cricket. They are al in season tho which is handy enough. GAA and AFL go together, and when they finish the soccer and American football start up, so its a constant year long event.

and with the amount of shite I have to put up with, its not so bad on her!

Went to fenway alright TT*. Class ground, and seeing the big green monster there too and a homer over that is unreal, crowd go mental for it. Its a fairly long fooking day tho, and I couldnt see myself being a season ticket holder or anything. Once every few months would be enough for me, much the same on TV. Only really watch it when it comes to the end of the season.

Jesus GMan, were we separated at birth? I love baseball (please tell me you like cricket) - though I really haven’t followed it this year at all. Can’t see the Red Sox getting to the series after last nights thrashing. Would love to see Philadelphia win it.

I spent the summer of '91 painting houses in Boston (the brother lives there) and went every week (practically) to Fenway. Its a great game to watch on TV, but definitely one of the most enjoyable sports to attend.

Its a game steeped in tradition and thats something I really enjoyed about it. Baseball fans tend to be a bit obsessive and the level of knowledge about the game among true fans is extraordinary. Lat game I went to, against Seattle (Red Sox won something like 17-2, biggest win in decades) I sat beside this old bloke who gave me a complete history lesson. He remembered watching Jackie Robinson.

I was working for two Canadian brothers and went up to Oshawa where they were from (near Toronto) a few weekends with them and went to the Skydome (saw a great game between the Blue Jays and the Yankees there under the closed roof).

The brother bought me a great book a few years ago about baseball - Men At Work by George F Will. One of the best sports books I’ve read, you should have a look out for it.

[quote=“Fitzy”]Jesus GMan, were we separated at birth? I love baseball (please tell me you like cricket) - though I really haven’t followed it this year at all. Can’t see the Red Sox getting to the series after last nights thrashing. Would love to see Philadelphia win it.

I spent the summer of '91 painting houses in Boston (the brother lives there) and went every week (practically) to Fenway. Its a great game to watch on TV, but definitely one of the most enjoyable sports to attend.

Its a game steeped in tradition and thats something I really enjoyed about it. Baseball fans tend to be a bit obsessive and the level of knowledge about the game among true fans is extraordinary. Lat game I went to, against Seattle (Red Sox won something like 17-2, biggest win in decades) I sat beside this old bloke who gave me a complete history lesson. He remembered watching Jackie Robinson.

I was working for two Canadian brothers and went up to Oshawa where they were from (near Toronto) a few weekends with them and went to the Skydome (saw a great game between the Blue Jays and the Yankees there under the closed roof).

The brother bought me a great book a few years ago about baseball - Men At Work by George F Will. One of the best sports books I’ve read, you should have a look out for it.[/quote]

Think you’ve pulled there Gman

Well he’s a very attractive man. Though not as attractive as MGG (or Joan as I like to call her)

Is Gman a man? Not sure myself.
We should set up a poll

[quote=“Pikeman”]Is Gman a man? Not sure myself.
We should set up a poll[/quote]

Are you? Do you even own a Pike?

He caught one once

Are you? Do you even own a Mac?

Are you fit? Have you ever had one?

according to the boys on premierview he threw many a fit over on AFR:D…

I lived in Boston in 2004.
It’s hard not to get into it. Some lineup they had then. Damon, Manny, Ortiz, Varitek, Nixon etc… Some buzz when they traded Nomar. The whole city felt like it stopped while they figured out if they got a good deal or not.
Went to a few games but the one that sticks out is obviously the Yankess Redsox game in Fenway.
Serious hatred there, but the best part is that there is no fan segregation.
Fights breaking out in the stands. Amazing stuff.
It certainly was an experience that has stayed with me.
at one point a Redsox fan near us starting berating a Yankee fan who refused to take the bait. Seemed like the Redsox guy starts a fight and the yankee guy retaliates and a mini brawl ensues. Broken up by the cops. They are both thrown out. Immediately a “Yankees Suck” chant breaks out. Seeing is believing…
Talking to Bostonians this seems to be the norm at these matches whether in NY of Boston.
2004 was the breakthrough year for the Redsox so it was nice to be at a few of their games that year. If I lived over there I could certainly get into it.

Now you’re just being silly…

The boys on Premierview being such paragons of reasoned and intelligent discourse…