Bernard Dunne’s fighting again tonight. Can any of you who are more into boxing than me tell me what his standard is like? WBU European Champion isn’t really that impressive when you take away all the hype. It’s the least prestigious of the different factions and I don’t think these lads he’s defending against are up to much. Does he have the ability to go further though and challenge at world level and eventually take on the best the WBO, WBC and the others have to offer?
Hatton/Castillo is on at 3am tonight from Vegas and should be a good one. I believe it’s on Setanta so I’ll probably watch it when I get in. I like watching Hatton fight - he’s raw and despite not being particularly stylish he keeps coming and coming. The Mexican’s meant to be talented so hoping for a belter of a fight.
Hatton fight is on Setanta 1. The countdown they are doing is hilarious. It has started already. Hope Hatton wins as I like his style. At 2/5 he isn’t great odds but is in the best shape of his career apparently because unlike on other occassions he went straight back into training after his last fight and didn’t go on the booze and chips diet. As for Dunne I don’t think the fella he is fighting tonight is of any use at all.
A pretty awesome left to the ribs won it for Hatton. It was only when I saw a few replays of it did I realise the ferocity of the blow. It was the first time Castillo had been down in 50/60 fights so that says something. Up to then it’d been a messy enough fight with all the action on the inside with Hatton landing a lot of uppercuts and left hooks and taking the first 2 rounds. Castillo took the 3rd round with a lot of good work on the inside and seemed to be coming into the fight. He was harshly docked a point at the start of the 4th for a low blow before Hatton got him with a few good combinations before the rocket to the ribs. I like Hatton as a fighter but his supporters can fook right off!
I thought Dunne was impressive enough and fair play to the Norwegian who was incredibly game but I still Dunne has an awful lot of improving to do before he could challenge and potentially win at world level.
Dunne certainly has a long way to go but he’s doing very well at the moment and he’s putting in some super performances. That lad last night was a cracking fighter as well and he took some punishment after he suffered that gash on the forehead.
To me Dunne looks like a skilled boxer who doesn’t have a great deal of power (not that I’d like to get hit by him or anything) in his punches. That means his opponents are always in the fight and with his tendency late on to drop his guard he’s open to getting caught some day. That guy last night wasn’t in his class but was hurting him late on.
Dunne is a cocky fooker. Anyone see him pour water on his opponents head after the fight when his opponent was taking an interview? Prick.
He was just having a mess with him. They’d been throwing punches and heads at eachother for 12 rounds and you’re complaining that Dunne poured water on him. Did you go out of your way to be offended by his actions or are you really that sensitive?
Sport is turning too fecking soft these days.
Anyway little piece of an interview with Ricky Hatton:
“Wayne and me go back a long time, as he is from a
family of boxers. I fought his cousin David who boxed
for the Croxteth club and Wayne saw the fight, since
then he has followed my career with great interest. He
is a great lad and we don’t have none of that stupid
hatred that you get between certain clubs. Waynecould
have actually been good at the boxing if he had chosen
to go that way instead of football.”
Hatton was touched by the level of support that he
received in Las Vegas, among whom were Rio Ferdinand,
Joe Cole and Wes Brown. Did he see any blurring
between the sports of football and boxing?
“I have a lot of mates who are footballers, Robbie
(Fowler) and Joey (Barton) took me up to watch Rangers
as they are big fans, but to be honest I really didn’t
enjoy the atmosphere at all. It might seem strange
coming from me ,but the atmosphere was aggressive
without being hard if that makes sense. I really
didn’t understand them at all. I then went with Wayne
a few years back to watch Celtic and it was magic.
Their fans were passionate and supportive and
gave us a great welcome without getting in our faces
all the time. Celtic has a lot in common with City in
that they are the people’s team of their city (sorry
Wayne!) and they haven’t forgot their roots, a real
working class team which does credit to the city they
represent”.
[quote]Dunne is a cocky fooker. Anyone see him pour water on his opponents head after the fight when his opponent was taking an interview? Prick.
He was just having a mess with him. They’d been throwing punches and heads at eachother for 12 rounds and you’re complaining that Dunne poured water on him. Did you go out of your way to be offended by his actions or are you really that sensitive?
Sport is turning too fecking soft these days.
Anyway little piece of an interview with Ricky Hatton:
“Wayne and me go back a long time, as he is from a
family of boxers. I fought his cousin David who boxed
for the Croxteth club and Wayne saw the fight, since
then he has followed my career with great interest. He
is a great lad and we don’t have none of that stupid
hatred that you get between certain clubs. Waynecould
have actually been good at the boxing if he had chosen
to go that way instead of football.”
Hatton was touched by the level of support that he
received in Las Vegas, among whom were Rio Ferdinand,
Joe Cole and Wes Brown. Did he see any blurring
between the sports of football and boxing?
“I have a lot of mates who are footballers, Robbie
(Fowler) and Joey (Barton) took me up to watch Rangers
as they are big fans, but to be honest I really didn’t
enjoy the atmosphere at all. It might seem strange
coming from me ,but the atmosphere was aggressive
without being hard if that makes sense. I really
didn’t understand them at all. I then went with Wayne
a few years back to watch Celtic and it was magic.
Their fans were passionate and supportive and
gave us a great welcome without getting in our faces
all the time. Celtic has a lot in common with City in
that they are the people’s team of their city (sorry
Wayne!) and they haven’t forgot their roots, a real
working class team which does credit to the city they
represent”.[/quote]
Didn’t know Barton was a Hun. Really like Hatton. Probably my favourite English sportsman.
Rocko, you clown - some guy on Celtic Minded posted that interview as a joke. It was funny though because all the Hun message boards were hopping with lads stating how they always hated Hatton and he definitely had the slimy Celtic look about him. Then they found out it was a fake and they’re all saying what a credit Hatton is to Great Britain and what a great guy he is.
Regrettably I’ve been out of the country and without access to my usual media sources. Baby sent it on in an email today and I took it in good faith.