BREXIT thread

Is reading not yours? Or remembering what you wrote?? You asked what would happen north and south of the border. Most people only referred to the south. From this you established there was a consensus that it would pass in the north. And now you can’t remember it. Oddball. Lay off the weed.

Good bit of banter from him on talkback today- starts at 1:10 in.
Your article is behind a paywall btw
Talkback - 13/12/2018 - @bbcradioulster http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0001k2r

Lot of try hards and edgy lads spouting tripe here – long winded posts saying nothing at all.

Multiple experts in economics and international affairs/policies have shown that not only would a united Ireland flourish, but that it makes absolute sense, in that it’s a no brainer, to have a 1 island economy. Right now we have 2 competing economies on a small island with the duplication of services in both parts of the island – which is utter lunacy. It has also been proved that the 10bn figure often cited as the subsidies from London to the North is way off – it doesn’t account for corporation tax raised in the north as it is declared in London – it also includes 1.2bn for military/defence, something that’s forced on NI presently and wont be needed in a neutral united Ireland. NI pays out another 1.5bn in servicing of debt – which has fuck all to actually do with the north…

Ireland’s food and drinks industry is booming year on year, we are selling more and more to Asia and the Japan deal will only increase that – however, what gormless cunts don’t realise when they bandy about the British state having to subsidize the NI economy is that this happens because there is no economic strategy for NI – everything is set to suit London… An independent NI or a United Ireland would see a significant increase in industry in the north and a United Ireland offers the north access to the the EU and the benefit of all trade agreements the EU has in place — Anyway, economists reckon that the real figure forked out by London is closer to 4bn – Ireland, with EU assistance can absorb that as the north integrates itself into a united economy and the region would clearly go from strength to strength being able to dictate its own industry/trade. NI is poor because London doesn’t give a fuck and never will. For the last 5-10 years both tourists boards + governments have been working hand in hand to promote tourism, one of the country’s biggest sectors, as of course working together is good for the whole Island to this end we in the south have built infrastructure and funded airports in the north — yet the try hards will try and tell us that every industry shouldn’t unite for the benefit of the whole Island … even tho they’re trolling, this is beyond idiotic even for them.

Of course we haven’t even touched on social/ cultural boosts in a new Ireland – the boost to 1 sporting nation – the creativity from combined arts/ entertainment sector — the possibilities with London out of the picture are endless on every front. @Julio_Geordio is probably right in that NI may have to go it alone first before it comes to its senses but every single economists agrees that the north can only flourish once the connection with London is broken and if one part of the Island flourishes then the rest will so why not do it together.

We could move all our homeless to Belfast

A referendum on unification would sail through in the Republic.
What party, individual politician or anyone of any consequence would actively campaign against it?
Heart will overcome head if it ever comes to it.
Sail through.
Eireann abu

What happened paddy in 2008 was against all laws of economics but paddys in charge were simply pawns from the handover of power to a ‘republic’. Twould make you laugh/sigh. @maroonandwhite made a very good point about the Atlantic fishing industry. I’m sorry to say tho that the British Joe soap are as weak as the micks but 60million being rodgered up the arse by corrupt cunts and hailing queen and country to murderers? Worse

You could. What does that yell you?

ok - that’s an improvement and im happy to have facilitated that - but you need to drop this chip on your shoulder as its dragging you into the gutter , people are allowed have opinions that are contrary to yours and that dosent make them “edgy”, and i am glad you are developing a few ideas of your own,
Your post is decent but naive, it is more idealistic than practical and i feel that you may have a lot of theory but little experience of living.

your points , whilst ok vastly overstate the ability of NI to benefit Ireland, a combination of both would be destructive economically and socially and if we were to assimilate the territory the focus would be on developing it economically and that would bring both down,
im agreeing tho that an independent state is probably a viable option especially given the political makeup that is not going to change up there,

This is turning into a pass class politics.ie

reasons for wanting to assimilate NI into Ireland still have not been presented BTW
@anon61878697 makes a few iffy points above but the question i would have for you @anon61878697 is why in god’s name do you suggest this level of risk?
what is it for? look we are over the whole green jersey shite here, that’s grand when you are 16 but we both know these are not valid reasons for the level of risk suggested
why do you want to even entertain the idea of assimilating this part of the UK into ireland?

Have any actual contingencies been put in place for a hard border? Are the FCA gping to man it?

I wouldn’t trust the clowns up there with a quenched match

The same crowd who can’t even run a parliament for slow learners between them :rofl:

They will be paying for the cash for ash scheme for years to come

i was thinking thru this here
Armagh and Fermangh are basically like adding on another Monaghan or Longford,.
Tyrone well that has Omagh that is basically like a large sectarian version of Buttevant,
There is no industry anywhere , in places like Lurgan Catholics dont speak to Protestants
The only affluent areas are prod dominated who may have an issue coming on board,
its not a very pretty picture is it?

isn’t one of the sinn fein solutions to the sectarian issue, shipping protestants off to England for repatriation?

great @anon7035031 is typing furiously here…

he’s at his best after a few drops of whiskey and a joint

he’s still going anyway- this should be good

First of all I don’t think many understand the negative effects partition had and still has on both sides of the border. Neither state could be described as independent, NI dependent on the UK and ROI on the EEC/EU (all significant developments in ROI occurred after EEC entry).
Critical mass, a population of 7m instead of 5m
More efficient public services
A far better health system in NI which can be the template for improving ROI’s third world system
Industrial expertise in sectors non existent or near non existent in ROI, shipbuilding, machinery, etc.
Business investment, in particular multinational
Economically it just makes sense, in particular for NI as London couldn’t give two shits about the place
Tourism, there would be a surge in yanks wanting to visit a UI
Lasting peace