Celebrity Deaths - 2020, Fungi(e) missing, presumed dead

Fair play, I thought he was a Tipp man from somewhere around Carrick on Suir.

RIP but not a celeb

He went to school there afaik, the town is on the Waterford border

In fairness he cycled for Carrick Wheelers though he was reared and still lives on the Waterford side of the county boundary. If he had shown any hurling ability he would probably have played with the Mollerans who play in Waterford. I think the rule in Carrick is that no matter what side of the river you live on, you can choose to play with the Mollerans, the Swan or the Davins.

Anyway I’m happy to share Sean with our friends in Tipperary.

Just being in and around the Tipp border destined him for greatness.

Mick Roche’s father was a founding member of the Davins, who always seem to lose out when players are moving around, they lost lads to Mullinahone, Carrigeen and Mollerans in recent times.
Think some of the Waters (Swan) would’ve played with Mollerans as well. Did Mollerans ever have any county men?

They had a fella called Tony Reide who was a half forward on the county team in 74 and 75. Playing the Mollerans was not an enticing prospect. They would lower the blade at the first opportunity

Just like their townie brethren. The biggest club rows our boys were ever in were against Davins or Swans. I don’t think we have crossed paths in over 10 years though.

Eh, this is my thread so I’ll take it from here.

RIP but not a celeb

Willie Thorne gone to the eternal crucible

They put him into a coma yesterday, I felt he was pretty snookered at that point.

It left the grin reaper with an easy pot

A battle with leukaemia.

Ah no, he seemed a likeable character when acting as a pundit. RIP.

he was one of the greatest of all time, his relationship with Alex Higgins was the stuff of legend, two right boyos

He had a gofundme page to help fund his battle. Hard to believe he hadn’t a bob left. Sure Higgins was the same if I remember rightly.

He was a very likeable fellow Willie. That missed blue against Steve Davis in the Final of the 1985 UK Championship haunted him really for the rest of his playing career, just when he looked poised for a big breakthrough career win.

Sad to hear this. He seemed like a pure gent. R.I.P. Willie Thorne

a tremendous commentator

Fuck all money in professional snooker. According to Higgin’s book they were all dependent on exhibition matches to make a living. O’Sullivan is always giving out about it sure.