Champions League 2016 / 2017 playoffs

Matty, who did ye beat in Iceland in 2004 before beating Split?

BATE Borisov

KR Reykjavik on away goals also.

they beat cork last year and i think they beat Cliftonville 8-1 on agg a few weeks ago

Can we have an update on this please @mickee321, are Olympiacos out?

They are out alright.

Young Boys vs Shakhtar gone to penalties

Shakhtar are out

Dundalk can get Plzen, APOEL, Celtic, Legia Warsaw or Red Bull Salzburg.

Olympiacos getting beaten pushed Legia into the seeded section.

hi matty
yes Hapoel Be’er Sheva took care of then quite comfortably tonight really
i was watching bits of it between bedtime , etc .
not exactly high quality fair but id expect Hapoel B7* to get thru to the groups, perform miserbly and slink away out
Olympiacos were really poor tho, i see PAOK were beaten also tonight by ajax, so bad night for Greek football all around

• sheva is 7 is hebrew, Be’er Sheva means seven wells, like Kiryat Shmona, Kiryat is a hilltop and shmona is 8 so you’d often read Hapoel Ironi Kiryat8

Jock Stein was a big Young Boys fan back in the day i believe

All winnable.

legia would be the difficult tie suely, mind you Pats did ok there in 2014 only to suffer badly in the return leg
be some sad site to see a stadium full of paddies cheering on a scottish side v dundalk in the aviva
@gilgamboa, that’ll tell you all you need to know about the shoes off, YBIG brigade…

Very much so. None of them better than BATE Borisov, I’d suggest.

Legia are flakey.

were they lucky v Trencin tonight do you know @Balbec?
id them backed in a double with Steau and the cunts let me down

They were very poor. Tired performance and they were lucky in the first leg last week. Just reading Gazeta Wyborcza there and they are saying that it is hard to see Legia beating anyone in the last round, even Dundalk.

Olympiakos & Shakhtar are particularly big casualties at this stage of the comp. Of the teams Dundalk could draw, none are better than BATE - maybe Plzen are close enough in standard. Still think Dundalk could beat any of those teams. But would rather avoid Plzen & Red Bull Salzburg. Celtic are imminently beatable and the weakest of the lot. Legia are average. APOEL score a lot but shit defence. Dundalk should fear no one.

The one thing I wouldn’t look forward to if they drew Celtic, is the thought of 30,000 Celtic fans in the Aviva, and two thirds of those Irish. 20,000 Irish lads cheering on the Plastic Paddies - fucking cringeworthy. Dundalk should stick to Tallaght anyway. They like playing there, it’s more intimidating/compact venue than than Aviva - why change a winning formula.

i agree Gary
maybe irish football needs this tho, itll show what a shower of utter cunts these people really are, cheering on Scot Brown as he hacks down Daryl Horgan, probably calling Dave MacMillan a wst brit cunt when he goes in hard on Craig Gordan…
Itll really show these bastards up and prove they have no shame, that’s where we are headed

just to clarify, is it the Celtic fans who travelled over from Glasgow or the ones that are born and bred in Ireland that are plastic paddies?