Champions League Final 2009

Shite!

Barcelona face an anxious wait over the fitness of Thierry Henry and Andres Iniesta ahead of next week’s Champions League final against Manchester United.

Striker Henry has had a ligament problem since Barca beat Real Madrid 6-2 on 2 May, while midfielder Iniesta injured his thigh two weeks ago.

“I don’t know if they will make it in time - we’ll see on Monday or Tuesday,” Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola said.

“They have faith and the will to be there but it depends on their muscles.”

The Spanish giants have growing selection problems, with defenders Dani Alves and Eric Abidal suspended and Rafael Marquez injured for the final in the Stadio Olimpico in Rome next Wednesday.

One player available for Barcelona is playmaker Lionel Messi and Guardiola believes his star man is better than United forward Cristiano Ronaldo.

Messi, in the Barcelona squad that won the Champions League three years ago but then missed the final against Arsenal through injury, is desperate to feature this time round.

“I wasn’t able to get on the pitch and enjoy the final in Paris but I have the opportunity now and it is something I’m very excited about - it’s the biggest game of my life,” he said.

The 21-year-old Argentina international added that he thought his side would be worthy winners of Europe’s top footballing prize.

“I know that many people who are not Barca fans admire the club for its brand of football,” he said.

“We deserve the title for the football we have played throughout the year. We deserve this reward.”

Barcelona are aiming to become the first Spanish club to win the league, domestic cup and European title in one season.

Messi added: “We know that we are close to making history.”

Henry won’t make it I think but apparently Iniesta could. Has a tiny tear in his muscle I think.

The signs are good
Both Iniesta and Henry went through their paces at the Joan Gamper sports centre on Thursday. Club doctors told us that the signs are good and that this weekend they will undergo a series of tests to assess their chances of being available for Wednesdays final.

Both players were able to kick the ball though rather more hesitantly than usual.

Messi will be doubled up on I’d say. He’ll have Evra on him with Rooney on the wing helping out-hopefully Messi’s class will outdo them both.

Be interesting to see who he goes with if both Henry and Iniesta are out. Bojan and Busquets maybe.

Even though Alves is suspended he would have missed it anyway as he injured himself and can’t play for 3 weeks.
Barcelona will probably play Puyol at right back in his place with Marquez or Milito maybe in centre.
If Puyol plays right back, it’s advantage United IMO as I thinks he’s shite there.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Henry won’t make it I think but apparently Iniesta could. Has a tiny tear in his muscle I think.

Messi will be doubled up on I’d say. He’ll have Evra on him with Rooney on the wing helping out-hopefully Messi’s class will outdo them both.

Be interesting to see who he goes with if both Henry and Iniesta are out. Bojan and Busquets maybe.

Even though Alves is suspended he would have missed it anyway as he injured himself and can’t play for 3 weeks.
Barcelona will probably play Puyol at right back in his place with Marquez or Milito maybe in centre.
If Puyol plays right back, it’s advantage United IMO as I thinks he’s shite there.[/QUOTE]

Is Marquez not injured as well?

Despite the fact that I don’t rate Puyol terribly highly as a defender he is the best centre half Barcelona have.

I think you can nearly pick the United team now;

Van Der Sar
O’Shea, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra,
Park, Carrick, Giggs, Anderson, Rooney
Ronaldo

Only possible change would be Scholes for Giggs.

I thought both Marquez and Milito were out for the season too? Yer man Caceres might get a start - he hasn’t set the world alight this season by any means but he looked a good player at Villarreal.

Yeah both Marquez and Milito are injured but thought one of them would be right for next week maybe.
If not, it will be interesting.
Puyol centre back with who? Possibly Caceres, who I don’t rate much. Sylvinho left back with the Victor Sanchez lad on the other wing. Ain’t gonna be a great backline, a lot of inexperience together anyway, and Sylvinho could be destroyed by Ronaldo.
Wonder could Toure step in centre back with Keita in midfield either.
With all the injuries you’d have to say advantage Man Utd.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Yeah both Marquez and Milito are injured but thought one of them would be right for next week maybe.
If not, it will be interesting.
Puyol centre back with who? Possibly Caceres, who I don’t rate much. Sylvinho left back with the Victor Sanchez lad on the other wing. Ain’t gonna be a great backline, a lot of inexperience together anyway, and Sylvinho could be destroyed by Ronaldo.
Wonder could Toure step in centre back with Keita in midfield either.
With all the injuries you’d have to say advantage Man Utd.[/QUOTE]

Ronaldo will be upfront - mark my words.

What is the story with Pique? Is he not fit?

Valdes,
Puyol, Caceres, Pique, Keita
Xavi, Toure, Iniesta,
Messi, Eto’o, Henry.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Ronaldo will be upfront - mark my words.

What is the story with Pique? Is he not fit?[/QUOTE]

Sorry yeah, forgot about Pique.
Still think Puyol will go right back though so someone will have to start in centre.

:rolleyes: I’m trying to figure out who is Dunphy, Giles, Souness and Whelan here.

[quote=“Bandage”]Valdes,
Puyol, Caceres, Pique, Keita
Xavi, Toure, Iniesta,
Messi, Eto’o, Henry.[/QUOTE]

Not a bad team if Henry and Iniesta make it of course.

Would prefer to see Ronaldo upfront rather than on the wing from a Barcelona pov.

[CENTER][SIZE=“4”]C’MON BARA[/SIZE][/CENTER]

Bunch of hippies

[quote=“Pikeman”]Not a bad team if Henry and Iniesta make it of course.

Would prefer to see Ronaldo upfront rather than on the wing from a Barcelona pov.[/QUOTE]

Gudjohnsen, Busquets and Bojan are the main options if either of them fail to make it. I don’t rate Bojan too highly to be honest. I reckon Gudjohnsen would be well capable of playing in midfield - it’s not like Giggs and Carrick will destroy him for pace. Busquets is a decent player but I’d probably go with Eidur.

Think Gudjohnsen is injured too so dunno if he’ll make it either. Think he only has a bruised foot or toe though so maybe.
I like Busquets I have to say. This time last year he was involved in a promotion battle with Barcelona’s second so is a fair jump in a year. Good passer of the ball and bundles of energy.
Bojan hasn’t lit the world alight as yet but is the only option really if Henry is out and they want to keep the same formation.

I predict a 2-1 win for Barcelona. :rolleyes:

http://images.mirror.co.uk/upl/m4/oct2008/7/1/FCF3C871-F359-CE26-A871580BD6DC3445.jpg

http://www.virginmedia.com/images/manutd-1968-gallery.jpg

:thumbsup:

Them’s fightin words Shan-

http://cms.442.haymarketnetwork.com/contentimages/blog/ChampionsLeague/Guardiola.jpg

http://rescindedred.files.wordpress.com/2008/12/messi.jpg [SIZE=“7”]> x 100[/SIZE] http://www.livenews.com.au/static/view/F_0_ronaldo_crying_g_320.jpg

Too many pictures when Ronaldo and trophy put into google.

Put in “Ronaldo” and “Diving, cheating Cunt” and your google will crash.

Suprised you didnt get around to.

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/2008/SPORT/football/04/23/football.champions/art.miss.gi.jpg

http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/JonMC/May2008/ron-pen-500.jpg