Champions League - match day 3

Really looking forward to Benfica Tuesday night after that Celtic performance this morning. The stuff they played between the 30th and 70th minutes was sheer quality. The passing, movement, fluidity, pace and skill had me creaming myself. The 3rd and 4th goals were super finishes after great passing moves involving most of the team and it all came after going 1-0 down too. They showed excellent composure to keep playing their natural passing game after the poor start.

Ratings:

Boruc - 5 (Should have dealt with the goal and didnā€™t have much else to do. Far and awy the best keeper Celtic have ever had in my lifetime yet has these occasional lapses).

Telfer - 8 (Has actually done a very good job in Wilsonā€™s absence. Was strong in the tackle and got forward well today).

Caldwell - 7 (Not much to do, look assured all game).

McManus - 6 (Beaten in the air in the build up to the goal and then stayed down. FFS get back up and prevent the strike and then get treatment if you need it. Also skinned by Samuel in the lead up to the move where Robson missed the sitter to go 2-0 up. Donā€™t think Iā€™d break up the partnership with Caldwell but I would sacrifice McManus first if Bobo were to come back in.)

Naylor - 8 (A smashing bit of business, excellent at both ends of the pitch today, some of the balls he crossed in were superb).

Naka - 8 (A rank first 30, kicking a corner into the side netting, giving the ball away cheaply, running into traffic and losing it carelessly and then transformed after that. Took all 3 goals beautifully and showed his class after that.)

Lennon - 8 (The renaissance continues. A class act.)

Sno - 7 (Really like the look of this guy. Heā€™s strong, quick and can pick out a pass. There were a few lapses which are to be expected of a 18/19 year old but definitely has the raw materials to be a major asset for Celtic).

Maloney - 8 (Pure class, love watching him play. Excellent first touch and awareness. Beautiful ball to Jan for the goal. Great to see him back to fitness).

Jarosik - 6 (A rock or spoon would show more life than this guy. Heā€™s a level below lethargic yet had the knock down for the equaliser and the final pass for the last goal. Shouldnā€™t be anywhere near the pitch on Tuesday).

Vennegoor of Hesselink - 8 (This guy is class. Great finish, always dangerous and excellent in the air. Hopefully came off as a precaution after his recent ankle problems).

Strachan - 8 (Continuing to impress. Has the team playing some smashing ball and players coming in are performing excellently and putting pressure on the regular starters. Not bowing to reputation, if you deserve to play then you will, i.e. Sno today).

All in all it bodes very well for next week. It must be the strongest Celtic squad in years when you can call on last yearā€™s Playersā€™ Player of the Year, Maloney to come in for McGeady today. Gravesen and Zurawski were not missed either. Watching today I canā€™t help but think that Celtic should play McGeady, Maloney and Naka together in the one line up. A 4-4-1-1 or 4-2-3-1 would work. Itā€™s funny that the latter is what Le Guen is trying at Ibrox and they go and lose at home to Inverness! If theyā€™re all fit on Tuesday (with the exception of Wilson whoā€™s definitely out) Iā€™d go for 4-4-1-1:

Boruc

Telfer
Caldwell
McManus
Naylor

Naka
Lennon
Gravesen
McGeady

Maloney

Jan

Agree with most of those ratings Bandage.

Iā€™d give Jarosik a higher mark - he had 3 assists (one of them a touch jammy but two were key to the goals) and caused them as many problems in the air as Vennegoor of Hesselink did. Heā€™s a touch slow, which gives the impression of lethargy but I thought he did well. Not in my first choice eleven but a useful player to come in on days like today.

Was very impressed by Maloney. Good as McGeady has been they are two different players and some of Maloneyā€™s close control is sensational. If he was playing in the EPL the media would be creaming themselves over him. Delighted to have him back and heā€™ll be hugely important on Tuesday if fit.

Iā€™d also give Strachan a higher mark that 8. That performance was all about confidence, faith and patience. We didnā€™t panic at one down, and believed in our football and in the end it paid rich dividends. The team are playing very fluidly at the moment and Strachan has set them up very well. Also he has built a cracking squad with Riordan and Miller on the bench today even though Magic was out injured and we didnā€™t miss Tommy G with Sno.

On the centre halves Iā€™d keep Mick ahead of Caldwell, but I wouldnā€™t change either. I think heā€™s a more honest centre half and deserves to be rewarded for his commitment. Delighted with Caldwellā€™s progress though, and the partnership they have built up is testament to Strachanā€™s decision to play them as a pairing in every single pre-season game.

Gravesen definitely out, Vennegoor of Hesselink probably out, Miller and Magic and Aiden doubtful. Bit short of strikers now, with the Beat injuring himself (again) in the reserve old firm game last week.

You might have to put up with Jarosik for another game Bandage!

ps. why isnā€™t Isaksson playing for City? Ye did buy him didnā€™t ye?

I think Big Jan will be fit. This is a game where we really need him I feel. The combination of his height and power and Millers pace and movement would definitely unsettle them. Dont think they will fancy taking on Jan in the air at all. If hes unfit Im unsure as to what Id do. Maloney could go up front if McGeadys fit. Jarosik would be a last resort for me but Id have no fears about Sno coming in to replace Gravesen at all.

i donā€™t think he will be fit to be honest. not sure mcgeady will be fit either. I think this is the team strachan will pick;

boruc
telfer caldwell mcmamus naylor
naka sno lennon maloney
miller jarosik

if jvoh and mcgeady are fit this is the team i would go for
boruc
telfer caldwell mcmanus naylor
naka sno lennon mcgeady
jvoh maloney

i think maloney has a bit more class than miller but i doubt maloney will be starting if everyone is fit.

I think weā€™ll end up with the first team above that thepiedpier has. Hard to remember a time when Strachan said someone was doubtful and they ended up playing. He tends to downplay injuries and itā€™s more often you only learn someone is injured when the team is announced. Under MON thereā€™d always be talks before big matches of everyone being injured but theyā€™d play anyway. Probably were injured most of the time but the likes of Petrov, Sutton and Agathe used to play when they were crocked. Agathe in particular played games on one leg sometimes against the huns and I remember Valgaeren doing something similar. None as bad as Andy Thom years ago. He played one game with a bad back I think it was and the lad could hardly walk but they played him anyway. Grateful for the squad we have now I suppose.

If the doubts are all fit then Iā€™d start Miller. Iā€™d be very close to starting Shaun ahead of Aiden. Sacreligious given how much I rate Aideninho and the form heā€™s been in but I think Maloney is some player.

Sno looks a definite starter. Saw Strachan reminding everyone in the media today that heā€™s younger than McGlinchey, McGeady, Jim Oā€™Brien etc. Heā€™s been very impressive when you remember that.

Interesting stuff. I can see piedpiperā€™s first team being used if Jan and Aiden are out but Iā€™d have a lot of reservations about that. I really think Jarosik is well below Celtic class and much as Iā€™ve got behind Miller for his workrate and determination when things werenā€™t going well for him I think the Portuguese would fancy handling a pairing of those 2. Weā€™d really be relying on Maloney and Naka creating magic from wide positions.

I read today that Jan was least likely to play out of himself, Aiden and Magic. That surprised me as I presumed he came off with the ankle knock as a precaution. I take your point about Strachanā€™s selections and injuries but I retain some hope that heā€™ll play.

As I said the other day I think Celticā€™s best XI would have Aiden, Shaun and Naka all in there playing off a lone front man, Jan, in either a 4-4-1-1 or a 4-2-3-1. However Strachan is very much a 4-4-2 man. Iā€™d recommend his autobiography to all Celtic supporters. He explains his philosophy on football and itā€™s an enjoyable read. He says he doesnā€™t buy into the whole ā€˜wingerā€™ thing - he says he wants ā€˜inside forwardsā€™ playing in the wide midfield areas and cites Pires as the prototype player. Aiden was talking about it yesterday too, saying Staunton wants him to hug the touchline but Strachan wants him to come infield, leave space for the overlapping full back and then get the ball in areas where he can come inside further or go back on the outside if need be. The 3rd goal the other day with Naka and Maloney coming off either wing and passing through Dundee United would be an example of his philosophy working to perfection.

Anyway, I digress. If Aidenā€™s fit Iā€™d play Maloney up with Miller and leave Jarosik out but if both Jan and Aiden are out then Jarosik will more than likely play as heā€™d be considered ahead of Pearson and Riordan in the pecking order I think. Celtic should be well capable of beating this mob either way. Nobody will get an easy ride in Glasgow and the supporters need to intimidate the fook out of them and the referee as per usual as these fooks, despite their talk in the media of coming over to attack, will dive, cheat and time waste in order to try get a draw. In 8 home games against Portuguese opposition Celtic have won 7 and drawn 1 (Boavista in the Seville season). I expect a 2 goal victory tomorrow night.

As for the Shaun versus Aiden decision, Iā€™ll sleep on it.

Interesting stuff? Not, what a load of shite this forum is; im ashamed to be here. im off to f365.

I cannot fooking wait for 7pm when Im likely to get out of this prison known as work. Celtic Park will be rocking later - the players, management and supporters all know how critical a win tonight would be for qualification prospects. Just stuck 30 on Celtic at 3/1 to be ahead at both half and full time. Also, 20 on a Celtic, AC Milan, Porto and Real Madrid accumulator that comes in at about 5/1.

Wonā€™t be having a monetary interest in tonightā€™s proceedings but cannot wait for kick off. Itā€™s weird but Iā€™m really looking forward to seeing it on tv because I havenā€™t seen us on tv in the champions league for a couple of years.

Supposed injury to Naylor is a worry but not sure how true it is. Thatā€™s the one area we have zero cover - Pearson, Thompson or Oā€™Dea are the alternatives.

Starting to get very nervous now. Wonder how the fitness tests went.

A little ditty for you:

In the east end of town
A big stadium stands
Its called Paradise
By all the Celtic fans

COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEE OOOOOOOOONNNNNNN THE HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPS.

ā€œWith the green and white upon my chest
And a four lead clover on my breastā€¦ā€

Too pissed to post but this says it all:

Get out of it Bandage. Youā€™re only jumping on the band-age wagon. Where did this undying allegience to Celtic come from? You wouldnā€™t look at the cooonts 5 years ago, it was Man City this and Many City that. Feed the Goat and he will score???

All that said they were fookin good last night, 3-0 was maybe a bit flattering but comfortable winners nonetheless, and attractive footie ball too. And that coming from a philistine. Gash the way a rangers reject was the scorer in chief though.

Cracking photo Bandage - thatā€™s a belter.

Player Ratings:

Boruc 8 - dealt with everything comfortably, including a couple of shots that were bouncing just in front of him. Kept the defence organised and on their toes.

Telfer 8 - very good on the ball and solid enough against Simao. Struggled a little when Leo and Simao doubled up on him but thatā€™s to be expected and Naka is not the most defensive winger in the world.

Caldwell 8 - kept Nuno Gomes very quiet. He gave away a couple of sloppy free kicks but other than that he was calm with the ball and they never got in behind.

McManus 8 - the organiser back there. He keeps everyone else doing their job and like Caldwell he never gave Nuno Gomes a sniff of a chance.

Naylor 9 - what a signing this lad has been. Willingness to get up and down the flank all game and put in a couple of quality crosses, especially for the first goal. Covered very well also.

Naka 9.5 - I donā€™t want to give him 10/10 because Iā€™m saving that for later but what a fucking performance from the bhoy. Brady seemed astonished in the studio afterwards, hailing Nakamuraā€™s contribution to everything. He was superb all night and they couldnā€™t live with his skill level. Involved in all 3 goals

Lennon 8 - Did his defensive job vey well. Never let Nuno Assis get the better of him and he kept the ball all night, donā€™t think there was one stray pass. He has clearly adapted to Strachanā€™s possession game and it has given him a new lease of life.

Sno 8 - Unfairly criticised by Trevor SteveHun who singled him out as a weak link for no apparent reason. A touch tentative on the ball early on but his passing improved hugely and together with Lennon he bossed the midfield. Restricted Benfica to long shots. Also seemed to be instructed to watch out for Simao because he spent a lot of time giving Telfer a dig out on the right.

Maloney 8 - started very brightly and went out of it for a while (understandable given his medium-term absence from the side). Superb contribution to second goal and was important in the first goal as well. What a replacement for Aiden.

Zurawski 8 - did a huge amount of work off the ball last night. Asked to compete in the air when needed to and tracked their full backs every time they went forward, especially on our right flank. Assis came inside him for the shot that hit the bar but Magic at that stage was defending as right back with a winger overlapping as well. I hope the work he did doesnā€™t go unnoticed by the supporters because he put in a hell of a defensive shift and stopped them playing out from the back.

Miller 10 - What a performance! Ran all night and held onto the ball so well at times. Won a couple of frees from being prepared to fight for possession with two opponents. Great striking instincts for the first goal and a superb finish at the end of a 90 yard run for the second. Top class attitude and a top class display.

Subs - not on long enough to rate

Strachan 9.5 - He got it just right again. The two defensive midfielders and the deep line meant their wide men and Nuno Assis couldnā€™t get at our defence to help out Nuno Gomes who was marked out of the game. Patient play with periods of increased tempo is the hallmark of this Celtic team and they are all so comfortable on the ball. Iā€™m not sure we hit one shot off target in the whole game while they were just shooting from anywhere because they couldnā€™t break Celtic down. When Celtic were struggling to get behind them, they just kept passing it anyway believing the gaps would come.

RTE coverage - bizarre at times. Trevor Steven was a bitter man last night. He was obsessed with trying to suggest Sno was out of his depth and kept making that point, even when Sno had clearly grown into the game. Criticised Celtic for passing the ball backwards at 2-0 and then Naylor for going forwards a couple of minutes later when he could have just passed it back. Jarosik was apparently ā€œanonymousā€ about 2 minutes after coming on a sub and clearly ā€œwasnā€™t carrying out the managerā€™s instructions.ā€ At the end he said it wasnā€™t a great performance. Bitter, bitter man.

The studio were odd. Beforehand only Dunphy thought Celtic might win. In fairness to the others they didnā€™t have anything against Celtic, they just didnā€™t know if they were any good or not. Obviously theyā€™ve seen nothing of Celtic under Strachan because they thought we might be too ā€œgung-hoā€ - the exact opposite of the patient style of play we have developed.

Dunphy stuck to his guns at half time and even defended Sno which was clearly at odds with Trevor Stevenā€™s analysis.

Post-match the lads seemed to hold their hands up and concede they had underestimated Celtic. Dunphy seemed to love Sno, while Brady loved Nakamura.

ā€œLook at the touch from Nakamura Billā€ when any piece of action was being described. Bill: ā€œStrachan is doing well isnā€™t he?ā€ Liam: ā€œHe is, he signed Nakamura Bill. And my lad Vinegar.ā€

All of them acknowledged the contribution of Miller who has turned into a cracking signing by all accounts. Couple of crazy questions from Bill as well:

ā€œIf Strachan keeps this up will he be wanted back in the Premiership?ā€
ā€œIs Millerā€™s good form an indication of how weak the Scottish league is?ā€ Bizarre.

I was in stitches when Bill said that about Strachan being wanted back in the Premiership. I could just see all Celtic fans up in arms.

ā€˜What did he say? I am going to write a page about this on thefreekick tomorrow. Everyone is against us.ā€™

And Miller is only doing well because he is in Scotland. He was an average Championship player in England

How does Miller being top scorer in the Champions League (despite not starting the first game) have anything at all to do with the league he is playing in? I didnā€™t think he looked the part at Wolves but he was playing on the wing. He was superb last night - even the panel had to acknowledge it. People get caught up in where guys have come from and who they play for rather than judging performances. He gave as good a display for Celtic last night as any striker will in this round of the Champions League.