Clare Gaa šŸ Thread mark II

Different hurlers in fairness. Rynne a destructive sort, probably between 5 and 8 while Oā€™Neill is an attacking threat and ball carrier playing a Ryan Taylor or David Fitz role

Oā€™Neill also has a serious paw and is very intelligent in his use of the ball. Tailor made for the modern half forward line.

Galway won by 6. 1-30 to 1-24

Broderick in goal and Oā€™Neill started wing back instead of Oā€™Meara

GerLock setting K2 as the challenge for 2025

He had a great hop off Vincent Hogan in his speech

cc @Bandage

The last time GerLock was giving it the big one at a Clare All Ireland winning medal presentation it didnā€™t exactly work out too well for Clare in the years that followed.

Fair play to him.

Couldnā€™t be any tougher than the hill in Shannon.

Found it a very odd speech.

He spoke for a half-hour, completely off the cuff, which is fair going in and of itself. Youā€™re only seeing partial quotes from here and there

Ya fair enough

Iā€™d say he straight-out doesnā€™t care about another All-Ireland, but he desperately wants to see them win a Munster

Against Tipperary too.

Lock is a devotee of the Old Order in spite of himself

Lads here would want to have a look at themselves having cheap shots at a stone cold legend like Ger Loughnane. The dominant GAA personality of my lifetime. One of the few people I would be in awe of if I met him.

Heā€™s had an 18 months from hell. I was delighted for him when Clare won. Heā€™s more than entitled enjoy it.

That photo of himself and Lohan ( and Dublin Gerry) embracing is a classic.

If you canā€™t warm to Ger then hurling isnā€™t the sport for you.

Surely no one would take a cheap shot a GerLock?

The Lion in Winter. A GAA colossus. I suppose itā€™s a measure of the man that nearly 30 years later he still has the less erudite Tipp lads rattled.

I thought GerLock did a good job going into detail as to the genesis of our Munster final woes and the hang ups it caused to many Clare teams and supporters and his point about the difference in performances between the 97 Munster and A/I final was very fair in hindsight.

Going back as far as Mackeyā€™s Greyhounds wonā€™t have had resonance with too many in the room but he painted the full picture