Tough
[QUOTE=âmyboyblue, post: 1112442, member: 180â][SIZE=6]How can GPA stay silent when its players are humiliated?[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]Thereâs something wrong with a union that stands idly by while membersâ lives are being controlled[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4]Colm Parkinson[/SIZE]
http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article31092974.ece/3137b/ALTERNATES/h342/60%20ohalloran.jpg
Davy OâHalloran said he was âhumiliatedâ by his treatment by the Clare senior hurling management
Itâs about time the GPA rebranded themselves. How about this: the GAAâs Past And Present Player Welfare Department (GAAPPPWD)? Itâs lengthy but more accurate.
When the GPA began they were a rebel force that fought for their members. Players bought into it and joined en masse. Finally we had a union that had the playersâ backs against lazy county boards and an uninterested Croke Park.
The reason the GPA needs to rebrand is because they are not the playersâ union any longer. What playersâ union would remain silent after one of their members admitted to feeling âhumiliatedâ as a result of excessive punishments handed down by a county manager?
Take it from someone who has been in his position: Davy OâHalloran would appreciate some public support from his union.
The biggest problem facing the modern-day player is the excessive demands on their time. Codes of conduct are now in vogue within county panels. Not only do county managers want to control their training lives, they want to control their private lives too.
Could our playersâ union do something about this? Would the English PFA stand by while their members signed codes of conduct they were not privy to?
I received information on one countyâs âcode of conductâ and here is a flavour of whatâs in it:
l An alcohol ban is implemented on January 1. A mid-season drink is permitted when the manager and three or four senior players (two of whom are pioneers) allow it.
l There should be no mention of the team, or the GAA, on social media as it is a distraction. (One senior player tweeted a picture of himself recovering from an operation in hospital and was suspended).
l No interaction with the media allowed.
l Football boots must be predominantly black in colour. There is a designated senior player who decides whether your boots are acceptable or not.
l No ankle socks can be worn outside your county socks and no tape to be worn on your sleeves or socks.
l No highlights in your hair. (One senior player arrived to training with a hairband and that was added to the banned list).
Why is the playersâ âunionâ standing by and allowing players lives to be controlled like this?
Why are players still paying âŹ50 membership to a âunionâ that is being funded by Croke Park and really just a department of the GAA? You can consider my membership to the GAAPPPWD officially cancelled.[/QUOTE]
Poor ol Plunkett Donaghy wouldnât have got a look in.
Not typical based on what I know.
But it may not be unusual
How many teams does McGeeney manage?
TomĂĄs Waters? He didnât play for a year after he tweeted that picture of himself.
Think they are allowed a cure on a Tuesday during the league but once championship starts thatâs it.
The above should be adopted by the GAA as a code of conduct. Any breech should be punishable by a 3 month suspension.
I think that is just the drink-driving ban?
Would have saved Mark Foley a lot of grief if Limerick had implemented something siimilarâŚ
I think this year that the Tipp lads are only allowed have a few pints after games on a Sunday and one other night out during the week, of their choice Monday - Thursday inclusive.
Seems to be reasonable enough and is working well so far.
"Clare GAA have since released a joint player-management statement declaring all-round approval of the management teamâs actions.
But the input of the entire squad in this statement stretched only as far a text message informing the panel the statement would be released on their behalf, and for them to make contact within an hour if any player took exception to itâs content."
[QUOTE=âSidney, post: 1113933, member: 183â]http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/peers-uncomfortable-with-the-way-davy-o-halloran-was-treated-by-clare-1.2156111
"Clare GAA have since released a joint player-management statement declaring all-round approval of the management teamâs actions.
But the input of the entire squad in this statement stretched only as far a text message informing the panel the statement would be released on their behalf, and for them to make contact within an hour if any player took exception to itâs content."[/QUOTE]
I wonder what the GPA will make of Galvin being forced to play with a bum hamstring- Pressuring young lads like that is more of the same psychological bullying employed by the current regime.
I donât know but according to the above piece it would seem that the Clare players had no input whatsoever into that âstatement of unityâ that was released.
You can only imagine the reaction from Davy had one actually objected.
What are you accusing Mark of?
Clare team named yet?
The hip flask defence
- Patrick Kelly
- Domhnall OâDonovan
- David McInerney
- Cian DillonâŚ
- Jack Browne
- Conor Ryan
- Patrick Donnellan
- Colm Galvin
- Patrick OâConnor
- John Conlon
- Tony Kelly
- Colin Ryan
- AN Other
- Shane OâDonnell
- David Reidy
[QUOTE=âJoe Player, post: 1114605, member: 2692â]1. Patrick Kelly
2. Domhnall OâDonovan
3. David McInerney
4. Cian DillonâŚ
5. Jack Browne
6. Conor Ryan
7. Patrick Donnellan
8. Colm Galvin
9. Patrick OâConnor
10. John Conlon
11. Tony Kelly
12. Colin Ryan
13. AN Other
14. Shane OâDonnell
15. David Reidy[/QUOTE]
I wish ye the best today Joe. Thatâs a decent looking team there. Shane could explode a few goals today.
[QUOTE=âJoe Player, post: 1114605, member: 2692â]1. Patrick Kelly
2. Domhnall OâDonovan
3. David McInerney
4. Cian DillonâŚ
5. Jack Browne
6. Conor Ryan
7. Patrick Donnellan
8. Colm Galvin
9. Patrick OâConnor
10. John Conlon
11. Tony Kelly
12. Colin Ryan