Of course they were going to keep it open. Easy Money. Besides, I’m not convinced the soccer crowd will be able to meet their Landsdown contractual obligations.
I think it could be a pre-emptive out on offer for that shower just as much as its a commercial decision.
Either way, I don’t care. Just take the fuckers money and keep 'em poor.
[quote=“Mac”]Don’t think they’ll ever have the need to use Croker again for either sport. Have they managed to sell out a single football game there? Even the All Blacks game this autumn didnt sell out - how would it at 85 for a stand ticket. Can never remember prices being above e50 for Landsdowne but it was usually more popular due to more standing room = more cheaper tickets.
I’ve seen 4 international Rugby matches and 3 international soccer matches in Croker and its not suited to either sport. Its a grand gesture from the GAA but I can’t see it being used.[/quote]
AB game was sold out alright in fairness Mac. At least I know 4/5 lads who went to Dublin and couldnt get tickets
[quote=“Sledgehammer”]I know you are speaking about rugby there which is fair enough, the games against England and France looked to have a sense of occasion about them.
From a football point of view though, it was a shite venue for a few different reasons, and there was never any kind of atmosphere in the place. If I had my way all international football matches would be played in a 50,000 capacity stadium because that’s roughly the amount of football fans there are in this country.[/quote]
Thats the most sensible thing i’ve read in a while, and from you as well???
[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 751383, member: 1552”]Congress today voted to let the rugby football cunts use GAA grounds for any possible bid to host the World Cup.
FFS, the GAA is under siege in urban areas like Limerick and Cork and we give these cunts the run of our facilities to promote their shit sport. :mad:[/quote]
The black card will be a huge boost for the Rugby crowd.