Club Championships 2009

[quote=“The Runt”]Martin Ferris is a selector for them.
I saw them playing the Junior final in Croke Park a few years back.[/quote]

:thumbsup:

Thats the one. Apparently Quirke cleared house. :clap:

[quote=“noddy”]i think sars have the stronger team, more balanced like, it really depends on what sars team turns up, the can be fairly inconsistent, like if sars were to play to their potential then they would put it up to the likes of portumna and ballyhale.

drom depend a bit too much on callinan for scores, so i say sars will probaly shade it on sunday[/quote]

That’s true on their day not many would live with them. Liam Cahill is there for the taking but I doubt he’ll be centre back if Callinan starts CF. Springer hasnt been playing well for drom and he would normally clip 3 or 4 points a game. Big games needed out of Butler and himself if Drom are to win it

Did cahill get two yellow’s or a straight red the last day out?

When did the Tipp team go to Portugal?

Two yellows. His second yellow was a dirty stroke.

Runty Tipp were in Portugal back in April/May i think. Why do you ask?

[quote=“Declan Moffat”]Two yellows. His second yellow was a dirty stroke.

Runty Tipp were in Portugal back in April/May i think. Why do you ask?[/quote]

Just heard a bit of a story rising out of it. Didn’t realise it was that far back though.

[quote=“myboyblue”]They have a Club Cship down there also, every Club in the COunty enters into it.

After that they take their regionals very very seriously.

Last week say South Kerry play Jack O Connors boys club, they won the All Ireland IF last year, St Brendans Foilmore I think they are called. They would have played with Sth Kerry for past few years, won the IFC last year, so they were able to enter the SFC on their own steam this year. They ran Sth Kerry fairly close too, only for Bryan Sheehans frees they had them.[/quote]

[quote=“The Runt”]What’s the thinking behind them?
a town like Listowel should surely be able to be competitive in their own right?[/quote]

Short answer is no they aren’t. They are all very happy with them down there, and it works out well.

From March to July the leagues are the all important thing. You may have a round or two of championship played around July, depending on Kerrys situation.
After Kerry win/are out of All-Ireland the championships really start.
The Senior championship is extrememly strong, as is the Intermediate and Junior due to the fact that there is only about 6 or 7 clubs play Senior Championship. Your Local divisional Championship is of huge importance to the club teams. The way it works really is that if your any good at all, and you can make the first team in your club, you will play against good teams and good players. It could be as a Senior club (Dr. Crokes, Kerins O’ Rahillys etc) or an Intermediate club (St. Marys, Keel) or Junior club (Dromid Pearses). For instance in the South Kerry Championship Drmid Pearses could meet St. Michaels Foilmore (Senior) and St. Marys (Intermediate) in their local championship. Thus there is exposure for everyone. Many of these players would then play together for the divisional teams.

In level of importance i would say if your Senior, the County Championship is No. 1 with the divisional a nice thing to look forward to should you loose out, if you are Junior or Intermediate the Divisional and your own level championship would be of equal importance. Thats the general feeling i get from the lads i know anyway. The league is taken very seriously as well.

The league counts towards something as well doesn’t it? It’s not
“just” a league as such?

[quote=“The Runt”]The league counts towards something as well doesn’t it? It’s not
“just” a league as such?[/quote]

There is 6 divisions, promotion and relegaton every year. 10 teams in each. If you are outside the top 2 you can’t play Senior Championship, if your not in 3 or 4 you can’t play Intermediate.
Now the funny thing about that is there has been teams playing Junior Championship as high as Div.2 but they just couldn’t win Junior County, and Div. 1 always has a few Intermediate teams. They play every 2nd weekend without fail from March on. Its a great system IMO.

Kerry really only having one sport and the size of it are perfect for this system.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]There is 6 divisions, promotion and relegaton every year. 10 teams in each. If you are outside the top 2 you can’t play Senior Championship, if your not in 3 or 4 you can’t play Intermediate.
Now the funny thing about that is there has been teams playing Junior Championship as high as Div.2 but they just couldn’t win Junior County, and Div. 1 always has a few Intermediate teams. They play every 2nd weekend without fail from March on. Its a great system IMO.

Kerry really only having one sport and the size of it are perfect for this system.[/quote]

Ya, you wouldn’t get it away with it in a county that has both hurling and football. The fixture list would descend into chaos quickly enough. It’s a bit mad though as the league is county wide and you could have a team like Tarbert heading down to play in Caherciveen etc. Long auld spin for a league game.

True that, but they are generally played on saturday evenings if at all possible. It seems the Kerry CB realise that these chaps should have some bit of a social life as well. Fair play.

Question for any of your Celtic heads out there, ever hear of a young fella from Laois called Paul Cahillane? All I know is he was on Celtics books for a few seasons as a teenager, came back to Laois late last year. He’s been a revelation for Portlaoise this season, and could quite possibly win player of the year at this rate, scored something like 3-6 or 3-7 in the semi final last day out. Was just curious as to how far he went with Celtic? Obviously not far if he’s back kicking gaelic footall?

Yeah, I’ve heard of him. He played upfront or out wide with the U17s and U19s. Last Spring, everyone from the U19 team who were in their last year at the grade were informed they were being released at the end of the season. The new Head of Youth Development reckoned none of them were good enough so loads of bounce games and friendlies were arranged late in the season for scouts to attend to see if any of them could get a contract elsewhere. I didn’t really notice Cahillane featuring much last season so he might have been released or knocked it on the head himself earlier in the season. :eek:

Yea, I think he knocked it on the head himself. Fine player, he’ll feature for Laois next year I’d say. Lacks a little height (nothing new there for a Laois footballer) but he’s well built and has a lovely left foot on him.

tell on Runt. It was back before the League Final anyway. There’s always a few stories from trips like this.

Check your texts.

answered that for you runty

Just to clear it up, the Kerry SFC is at semi final stages, 2 club teams, 2 area sides remain.

Austin Stacks v South Kerry Austin Stack Park 18/10/2009 14:00
Dr. Crokes v Feale Rangers Austin Stack Park 18/10/2009 15:45

1st round of Munster Club sees Kerry reps in action on 8/11/09 so its possible either Club side could progress if things fall right for them.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Just to clear it up, the Kerry SFC is at semi final stages, 2 club teams, 2 area sides remain.

Austin Stacks v South Kerry Austin Stack Park 18/10/2009 14:00
Dr. Crokes v Feale Rangers Austin Stack Park 18/10/2009 15:45

2st round of Munster Club sees Kerry reps in action on 8/11/08 so its possible either Club side could progress if things fall right for them.[/quote]

Whoever gets to the final (if only one) will be the reps. If neither gets there then it will be Kerins O Rahillys as they won Club Championship.
If both qualify then obviously its as normal.

I see a lot of na piarsigh flags on cars in the city today…Have they much of a chance all the same, Adare are an experienced outfit well used to winning…