That was Robert O’Mahony Mickee. Himself and Sexton (the fair haired corner forward) tried hard but generally the Barrs lacked the class up front that Nemo have. O’Mahony and Barry O’Driscoll’s goals were absolutely top class I thought, some serious pace and finishing.
TBF to Shields he is probably half knackered himself by this stage of the season - I agree that he really didn’t stand out at the end when you would expect him to, but the Barrs were getting so cleaned out by that stage in midfield it didn’t really matter.
As an aside, Midleton beat Na Piarsigh in the Flower Lodge today in the Minor Premier Hurling final, 1-15 to 0-12. Cracking game of hurling with some fine individual displays.
gutted i missed that as i had to head off early.
how did ballinhassig do before that?
midleton have serious players coming thru,
the coaching Lehane got in the CBS now doubt helped them progress
John Lockes Callan are Junior champions in Kilkenny after winning a replay against Barrow Rangers by 1-14 to 0-14 Yesterday,I couldnt attend Yesterdays game but apparently they were the better team on the day,Paulstown should have won the drawn game of course but the Callan lads wont mind that and horse loads of beer were likely drank last night in the picturesque,quaint town of Callan.Locke,Piles etc are going to be in shook order today id imagine.
It hasnt really dawned on them yet but theyre going to be cannon fodder for most of the Intermediate teams in the 2011 championship,theyve eight or nine woefully average cunts on board and the fairly decent standard of intermediate hurling in Kilkenny will expose the average badly,it aint going to bev easy for them but shur theyre happy today anyway,gwan the Lockes and all that.
Didn’t see it now Mickee, but have seen alot of both teams this year, and Niblock has been excellent, he got a good report on sunday as well, but i’d be more willing to listen to ye lads as the local press in Cork are brutal judges of games. Guy left back is Colin O’ brien, really nice footballer, might be a bit light and small for IC though, he was a Cork U-21. sean O’ brien plays a funny game for them Mickee, and its effective, but he will never look great because of it. He is basically there to drag full backs all over the shop and make space for the 2 lads inside. O’ driscoll is going to play for Cork if he can stay injury free. I had an horrific introduction to him a few years ago in an Intermediate league game, i’d say he was only 17, unreal pace.
Kavanagh needs a break, but he’s been injured since before Clon game. As Turenne says, Rob O’ Mahoney was yer man, dropped for last game, a bit of a prodigious talent, and was on Senior panel for a short time.
People (including myself) expect alot from Shields with the Barrs, but i have heard back he was warned in recent games to stay at home. Carbery and nemo have deadly forwards so they wanted their best defender back there all the time. As i say, i wasn’t there, but maybe there is a time to say fuck it and drive on too. But Nemo are the best team in Ireland to make a fool out of attacking half backs.
Barrs midfield only has 40 mins in it, Aidan O’ Shea is 37, Jim O’ Donoghue is 35-36. Eoin Keane is very raw and green then at 20. Thats generally the 3 that play there.
I think Dr. Crokes will give them plenty of it too. Midfield is the vital battle, win that and there won’t be enough ball going into Gooch, who i think Crokes will try and match up with Kavanagh. This is all of course if both teams get through, no certainty of that either the way things have gone in recent years.
The top few teams in Cork now play at a very high level, i’d put this down to the massive improvement in the leagues, and a more condensed Championship after Rd. 3-4.
Couldn’t make it up yesterday either but had constant texts from the brother about the progress of the game. Had a few noble pints last night in the ‘Lockes’ honour last night. Great to see them back up. Looking forward to see how they get on in the Leinster series.
As for us being cannon fodder, survive the first year at least and then take it from there. I’d say we’ll be able to compete with the likes of Graigenamanagh/Mooncoin/Glenmore/The Rower and won’t fear Dansfort/Mullinavat/Freshford (who am I missing). Bring it on I say. The couple of years down Junior will stand to them. Sully and Deccie will probably call it a day now, well done to both on their contribution! The team is young, we’re back up at a level that we should at least be at and the future is bright.
You’d say wrong my friend,you’d say wrong.Yer not exactly mister current affairs when it comes to the requirements of hurling at Intermediate level in Kilkenny either Locke,in addition to Adrian O Sullivan and Declan Roche the following might aswell retire now too for all the use they’ll be at Intermediate level…Paul Morrisey,Michael Roche,Robbie Jackman,Jacko Corcoran,PJ Coady and possibly Mick Hartley and John O Neill.
lockes play Ballyfin of Laois next weekend away, will there be much sauce taken on over the week down there? Ballyfin lost in the Leinster Junior Football 1st round on Sunday last.
Glencar Manorhamilton up against St Brigids from Roscommon on the 7th in Carrick. It is about time a Leitrim team made an impression in the Connacht Club (St Mary’s drew with Caltra in Cloone a few years back) and Manorhamilton are probably as good of a club side we have had in years. Brigids are a decent team though with Karol Mannion and Frankie Dolan back for them, and beat Eastern Harps from Sligo handily enough.
Sully and Deccie yes. Robbie and Paul are my age, maybe Paul would stay on as he’s in the goal. PJ might as he’s not starting, the rest are only around 30/31, they’ll stay on. Should have put The Rower in the “not afraid of” list, my bad
[quote ‘MBB’]
lockes play Ballyfin of Laois next weekend away, will there be much sauce taken on over the week down there? Ballyfin lost in the Leinster Junior Football 1st round on Sunday last. [/quote]
They’ll be on the beer for a couple of days alright but they should be okay for the weekend, same as any club. T’wud have been nice to finish off the job the first day and get the bit of a break but Callan were lucky to get a 2nd bite at the cherry in the end.
They’re tidy enough Locke, but you’d have to wonder how interested they’ll be given they didnt win the Intermediate in Laois this year. They were favourites from a long way out but got caught by Camross in the final. You’ll only have yourselves to blame should you lose this one I’d say.
Lads from The Rower might be into that kind shit with influences from New Ross but not the Callan lads. You’ll have to take back those comments there Link
Rathdowney Errill take on O Loughlin Gaels this weekend in the Leinster Senior Hurling. No idea what the Gaels are like but I hold a sneaky fancy for RE in this one. No logic to it and I leave the floor open to KK contributors to set me straight?
O Loughlin Gaels are a very solid outfit with a very even side of goodish hurlers,Martin Comerford and Brian Hogan will be about the only names recognisable to the masses but they have good operators in Andy Kearns and Niall Bergin at the back,Maurice Nolan at midfield and Danny Loughnane and Alan Geoghehan up front,they were brilliant when beating Ballyhale in the semi final scoring 2-16 but were far less convincing in the final only managing 0-17 against a badly off colour and fairly limited Carrickshock side in the final.Depends on where the game is on really for Rathdowney,if they got OLG into a tight pitch they’d have every chance,Comerford and Danny Loughnane in particular operate well in open space and thier backs wont concede much,keep the score down and hope for a wet day id be saying,they have a chance.