Yeah I agree. A marquee or a beach or some shit could do the job too though. I’d lean towards that. But sure if the bride wants a church then there’s not much getting around that.
My daughter is getting the communion this year. Over here they take it very seriously. From September there is a mass once a month on a Sunday at 4pm for the kids and the parents. My daughter takes a very selective approach to it and only tells us about it if she feels like it. We’ve worked out now that it’s every third Sunday of the month.
The kids all wear the same style white dress (the girls anyway) and she was supposed to go to be measured for it but she lost the bit of paper with the dressmakers number on it. So we are a few months behind there.
She is getting it with the kids in her class, the next parish to us. So I need to go to our parish priest to get his written permission. Didn’t get around to doing that yet either. And we need to book someplace to take the folks for the dinner.
Over here it takes place on a Sunday and they bring all the kids back for more prayers at 5pm. It’s an excuse to stop the parents drinking too much. And for seven days after you have to take the kids to mass in the evening wearing all the white gear. Tough going by the time you get to Thursday.
[QUOTE=“balbec, post: 1094550, member: 193”]My daughter is getting the communion this year. Over here they take it very seriously. From September there is a mass once a month on a Sunday at 4pm for the kids and the parents. My daughter takes a very selective approach to it and only tells us about it if she feels like it. We’ve worked out now that it’s every third Sunday of the month.
The kids all wear the same style white dress (the girls anyway) and she was supposed to go to be measured for it but she lost the bit of paper with the dressmakers number on it. So we are a few months behind there.
She is getting it with the kids in her class, the next parish to us. So I need to go to our parish priest to get his written permission. Didn’t get around to doing that yet either. And we need to book someplace to take the folks for the dinner.
Over here it takes place on a Sunday and they bring all the kids back for more prayers at 5pm. It’s an excuse to stop the parents drinking too much. And for seven days after you have to take the kids to mass in the evening wearing all the white gear. Tough going by the time you get to Thursday.[/QUOTE]
Ouch.
[QUOTE=“balbec, post: 1094550, member: 193”]My daughter is getting the communion this year. Over here they take it very seriously. From September there is a mass once a month on a Sunday at 4pm for the kids and the parents. My daughter takes a very selective approach to it and only tells us about it if she feels like it. We’ve worked out now that it’s every third Sunday of the month.
Over here it takes place on a Sunday and they bring all the kids back for more prayers at 5pm. It’s an excuse to stop the parents drinking too much. And for seven days after you have to take the kids to mass in the evening wearing all the white gear. Tough going by the time you get to Thursday.[/QUOTE]
That sounds class. The Poles are alright sorts.
That’s all well and good but do they get cash?
You mug.
That’s a bit fucking mental, I hope to fuck they do get reams of cash for that and promptly hand it over to you for your trouble.
Mainly from the godparents. Presents such as cameras, tablets, phones popular now. Probably get a few hundred from the godparents. Not into this culture of begging off the neighbours though. One of my lads just wanted a Borussia Dortmund jersey.
It’s nice that. All my little one wanted for Christmas was a frozen sticker book. Brought a tear to my eye for some reason.
The Stokes’, The Nevin’s and the McGinley’s are all in situ.
A plain clothes Garda presence is keeping a watchful eye from across the road.
@thedancingbaby is hoping to see ructions
It can only mean one thing…it’s First Holy Communion Day in Longford
[QUOTE=“thedancingbaby, post: 1125361, member: 48”]The Stokes’, The Nevin’s and the McGinley’s are all in situ.
A plain clothes Garda presence is keeping a watchful eye from across the road.
@thedancingbaby is hoping to see ructions
It can only mean one thing…it’s First Holy Communion Day in Longford [/QUOTE]
Post reported
All passed off peacefully - pleased to announce I am back in Lovely Leitrim though
Have to attend one of these at the weekend. What’s the going rate for a nephew or niece?
As you said yourself last time around: “whatever your brother puts in the card you’ll double it”
Anyone whose kids won’t be doing the communion craic find themselves being invited to shell out for this racket yet?
€50
Seven years since the last figure given. What’s the going rate for niece/nephew now?
I can see this thread being busy over the next decade…
Power washers and marquees