Copa America - Chile 2015

Jesus what age are you that you donā€™t remember the treatment meted out to Diego week in week out?! And he wasnā€™t looked after half as much as Messi is now. That is a truly hilariously ill informed post.

Messi is a sexed up Gerrard and Lampard. Good effective players when a team structure is built completely around them but badly exposed on their true ability when the dynamics changed.

Just like Gerrard and Lampard never did it for England, Messi has never done it for Argentina.

haha so because Maradona is ā€œreveredā€ in Naples more than Messi in Barcelona this some how backs up your claims?

Iā€™m sure Messi would handle a couple of bad tackles better than having 5 lads close him down completely every time he went near the ball.

Heā€™s most likely going to be their top scorer ever ffs. He has led them to the Coca America final and will probably lift the cup on Saturday. Just like Lampard and Gerrard though

Messi has now featured in the final of every major competition he has featured in his career in the last 12 months.

Haha, ā€œbad tacklesā€? Thereā€™s no such bad tackles as those that Maradona suffered week in week out in the game anymore. And to even think that Maradona wasnā€™t closed down, ah here, you are talking out your hoop.

You brought it up pal. We know two Messis, the one who rips it up with Barca who are one of the two teams who have dominated Spanish football for the last century and the one with Argentina who consistently fails to deliver with one of footballā€™s traditional power nations in star studded teams.

We know one Maradona, the guy who ripped it up with Boca, Barca, Napoli and Argentina.

Itā€™s that easy really.

A shame he has been holding his countrymen back in them though.

How did he lead them to the Copa final. He has been shit once again for Argentina.

You havenā€™t watched any of the tournament. He has been the best outfield player on the pitch in both Argentinaā€™s games in the knockouts

How do you know I havenā€™t? Heā€™s been bollocks once again. How can a guy who scored 60 odd goals for Barca last season fail to net once from play in 480 minutes of football? Itā€™s an issue you are loathe to address.

There are two Messis. The Messi who shits himself when outside his comfort zone has been the one who has appeared at the Copa again this summer.

I know you havenā€™t watched it because you comment on here on every game you see. You spend most of your time in threads on your own doing a running commentary on games nobody gives a fuck about. Heā€™s been brilliant in the last two games and the reason he is not scoring is because he is playing deep and setting up everything through his brilliant passing and dribbling. You obviously wouldnā€™t know this as you just check who scored and decided whether he played well based on that

Messi is a brilliant player and the best in the game right now. However he can be shut down by a well organized team, like the Germans did in the WC final and in pretty much every game he has played at international level against the top teams. As far as comparisons with Maradona, totally laughable as Diego could never be shut down in an era when you could get away with kicking lumps out of players, especially tackling from behind which is now outlawed. Messi wouldnā€™t have lasted a season playing in Serie A in those days. The ā€œphysicalā€ side of soccer is a jokeshop today compared to in Maradonaā€™s day. Paraguay put up about as much resistance last night as the town bike on a slow night, they were dreadful. Chile are a serious outfit so we will see how Messi and Argentina do on Saturday. Personally Iā€™d like to see him play well and Argentina win as its a serious cloud hanging over his career, the fact he has not been able to carry Argentina to a major tournament win. Have a feeling Chile will beat them though, as Argentina are very flaky at the back.

Thats a clamping. So it is.

How is it a clamping? I never said Messi was better than Maradona

Horseshit that he is playing deeper. Argentina have a bench of top attacking talent across because they want to allow Messi play much higher up the pitch to bring the best out of him. Heā€™s not playing deep, heā€™s playing in the final third and heā€™s doing fuck all. If Messi was as good as you seem to make out the Argentina would not be such a dysfunctional attacking unit.

Great players are able to adapt and adjust but Messi canā€™t be the player get he is at Barcelona. If heā€™s the best in the world then itā€™s a sad indictment of todayā€™s talent. The way Barcelona play allows Messi to be devastating but itā€™s obvious to knowledgeable football people that he canā€™t when you take away that support around him. Barcelona is like a well oiled machine, all the components are imperative. Other players have been stifled there as itā€™s all fitted to Messiā€™s liking.

The team is a bespoke supporting cast and when you take that away from heā€™s not what people think he is. He doesnā€™t have the instinct of a true great.

He is playing deeper. You obviously arenā€™t watching the matches. Aguero is the main man up top with Di Maria fairly rigidly on the left and Messi on the right with licence to roam. Anybody who has watched them would tell you that Messi spends a lot of his time coming deep to get the ball and then turn and try to create something either through dribbling or passing

A question for the lads that saw Maradona. I didnā€™t see him so canā€™t say whether he or Messi was better. Were the defences as organised in those times? As in would he be trying to play against a tight defence with ten men back or was it less packed around midfield and defence back then?

Nembo hasnā€™t a fucking bullā€™s notion, and obviously hasnā€™t been watching the matches. Donā€™t know know many times Iā€™ve seen Messi get the ball near the centre of the pitch with 3 Argie players in front of him. Heā€™s obviously playing a lot deeper than he normally does.