Cork - the softest of cunts 🐐

Ended up going to Kirby’s, kids got the half roast beef, food was very good :ok_hand:

Was in Fermoy earlier for the first time in years. A more pleasant experience than expected, had a lovely full Irish in Route 57 on the main street. The traffic though, jaysus. The auld motorway hasn’t done much to alleviate pressure on the bridge.

Christ almighty there are about 40 fecking places to eat in Midleton now - imagine back in the day you only had Keohanes, Mill Grill (if Keohanes was closed), La Tra (if you wanted to get food poisoning), Puc Fada or O’Donovan’s (if you were rich and it was your birthday).

Went into Pan, which gets great reviews and it was overpriced/mediocre. 50 euros for some standard coffees, fish and chips with mushy over-cooked fish in cardboard batter and pasta swimming in some watery cream cheese mess. At least the little one liked the pancakes. Presume it gets good reviews purely based on its “instagrammable” desserts.

TBF Midleton town seems to be doing well, unlike other towns in Cork county and the city itself.

It’s thriving, has been for a long time.
I don’t know of the place you went to but I’ve been very happy with most of the grub I’ve had around Midleton, my sister lived there until recently

Cork

You made it?

We just ate in Corbett Court in Ballyhea. Fab food great service.

You got home alright?

Cork City is thriving even if you wouldn’t think it on Patrick St

Ah that’s good to hear. Retail seemed dead but I suppose a lot of the closed down places are department stores which are dying everywhere plus bookstores.

Is Easons gone completely? I saw a couple of people with bags from there pottering around.

The English Market is still painfully overrated - the fucking pricing is crazy there.

Still on patk st

English Market is a cod of a place

Only if your into fancy foid and artisan bread etc

Relocating.up the street to the old Victoria Hotel.

lapsy pa, what does it mean ?

The signs out front with the Eastern european looking waitress freak me out. Especially when driving at night.

He’s a bit of a lapsy pa = he is a prize clown

I was lapsy pa = I was very drunk

The lady of the house and I went to Yuan Ming Yuan last evening. Got the sharing starter dish and half duck between us and all at once, lovely grub. Good service and there were Chinese eating on two of the tables which they say is a good sign. Place was busy as was Princes St in general. Went to The Roundy for a few before getting the 206 bus back home. A grand date night out in Cork.

A bus on a date night?
Standards have slipped.
I blame the greens……

There’s no need to be making up shit like this, it factors heavily into why the rest of the country hate Cark.

I can confirm he just made that up. In my 7 years here ive never heard that expression.