Cork weirdo/sicko thread

Ban cars ffs

:man_shrugging:t2:

What a shower of muppets we have in cork city council

Could have been worse. They couldā€™ve bought 300k worth of magic beans.

I love how everyoneā€™s reaction was why not put real trees.

They put all the trees in a tree museum and charged the people a dollar and half to see them

Gobshites irrespective of whether they didnā€™t buy them or not from council funds,homelessness needs tackled,
Total waste of feckin money,
They are a disgrace, city manager, greens and the rest of the cunts,
No real public consultation etc etc

A simple solution to cleaning the air is remove the need for cars in he city. The 2 problems with that is 1. Remove the cars pasding through the city, the infrastructure to avoid the city in cars isnā€™t there. Hopefully the dunkettle upgrade will help some bit. 2. Better public transport in the city. I know thereā€™s talk of a light rail but that wonā€™t be a success unless point 1 is addressed. By removing cars them they can pedestrianise the city for public transport, cycling and walking.

Cork isnā€™t the only city in ireland with the problem of the 2 points above. Dublin is the closest to solving them with the luas. Congestion charges should be Brought in between the canals and remove cars

Era weā€™re bloody awful bad managed down hereā€™

Congestion charges didnā€™t work in London and is only another way of taxing people who have to drive to make a living in the City., turns out not many people just drive to the City for the sake of it

Very fair point.

Its gas how nothings every said about the Amazon forest being torn down to fuck though.

They never seen to focus on tangible culprits whoā€™re really fucking up the environment.

But someone having a steak or driving to work when there is no public transport option here is the problem though.

Yerrah the whole country is

The amazon was cleared to grow soy. Thatā€™s what they arenā€™t telling you. Eat beef save the planet

Total and utter hypocrisy mate.

Once you can so called ā€œcarbon offsetā€ youā€™re grand sure.

I do my bit, try to make better choices as it makes me feel good. I wont make any difference but I can influence my own surroundings and look after my part of Ireland. Iā€™m a big fan and very interested in renewable energy and look to implement whatever energy savings at home (Iā€™m a tight cunt too that helps).

Virtue signalling me ateing a lovely irish steak while you eat a soy based meal with quinoa rice. Spare me the air miles to get that food here, poor wages for the farmers who grow them in South America to say Iā€™m ruining the planet. I know the roaster beef farmers, all in all good folk

Its all a cod mate.

Iā€™ve three bins and theyā€™re all emptied into the same truck every Monday morning.

Its a joke.

Will they tackle the real problem like China etc - they havent done so yet and this talk is going on over 35 years.

A few bicycle lanes will fix it in Dublin/Limerick and Corkā€¦madness.

Theres fuck all that can be done with China. Look it whether or not bike lanes make much of a difference in ireland I still think its a move I the right direction, whether itā€™s for travel or leisure people should be safe when cycling on the road. Do your bit and create less waste. Control what you can and donā€™t worry about how the rest of the world is destroying the place. Youā€™ll melt your head.

This thing in cork probably does work cleaning the air but itā€™s putting a bandage on a severed leg instead of addressing the root cause of the problem, unnecessary traffic in our towns and citys

Dunno tbh,our successive county managers are a law unto themselves, ploughing on with their own ideas and initiatives for decades- untouchable, theyā€™ve fucked up cork city in my estimation,
Glass boxes, wooden trees, a car ban not enforced, little or no compulsory purchasing of long vacant buildings, complete lack of public loos,
bicycle lanes as rare as the dodo bird, dog fouling and illegal dumping not being tackled at all for nigh on 60 plus years -
List goes on - extreme taxes and charges for local independent pubs and businesses, but what grieves me the most is the arrogant uncaring attitude

Run for Council you flute. Fair easy type scutter, sign a form and enter next election.

Magic beans