Hopefully the virus is woke enough to play ball
Don’t mind that arsehole @Thomas_Brady , he’s been all over the place during the entire ‘pandemic’.
As for the gom @Malarkey , he’s a middle aged sad case that literally follows every lead ‘The Guardian’ feeds him. The most hypocritical paper in print and this fat head with his few stock cliches hanging on it’s every word. Kango indeed.
A thousand women Desperately sad stuff. TTMFTRS.
I fear that there has been a massive and subtle goalpost shift, from basing the reopening on % of adults vaccinated to basing it on the % of the total population vaccinated.
Archbishop Tony during the week saying he was optimistic we could reopen if we ever a similar % of under 18s vaccinated as over 60s - he knows that’s very unlikely to happen.
Look at this absolute bullshit now coming from SAGE, unbelievable stuff.
New variant could kill one in three people apparently.
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/new-covid-variant-could-kill-24656837
That would be fine, at least it would be a proper pandemic then, with some point to the lockdown.
There will be
Fuck, that’s very worrying.
It might be best to pause the easing of the final few restrictions for a few months.
Catching up on yesterday’s posts, if @Horsebox has anything about himself as a man then he’ll have baked some scones and dropped them over to his pregnant friend.
As regards vaccinating children, I’m all for it. Anybody above 1 should be vaccinated to avoid the crèche potentially being shut down for 2 weeks again.
And it would mostly kill the right wing tin foil hat brigade.
Sage predicted the first wave would kill about 7%. You have to admire their optimism but I feel they’d be better off starting over with an entirely new virus
100% , we’re either all in this or we’re not. Everyone needs to be vaccinated or we can’t open up… Why should parents have to be segregated from the rest of society?
Phil might have a point here
are ye still shiting on about this shite? it over ffs. Paddy Irish man is like the Japanese soldiers on remote pacific islands in the 1970’s still thinking WW2 was going on
The UK is done with covid. It over.
Ptown during Bear week, I’ve never been there on that week but from my previous experiences there and friends who go…it sounds like the best place for Covid to spread!
“Done with Covid”.
It’s an interesting take that this outbreak is an example of vaccines working. From all accounts this was a mad week of partying, a lot of it indoors, mostly young people in their 20s and 30s. At the time of the study 469 people had been diagnosed with Covid, 364 fully vaccinated and 105 unvaccinated. 80% of the 364 vaccinated reported symptoms, 1% were hospitalized. Of the 105 unvaccinated 1% were hospitalized.
Admittedly it’s a small sample size, but this suggests to me that for young healthy people the risk from Covid is similar whether you are vaccinated or not, and that the Delta variant is not more deadly than prior variants (there were no deaths from the extended sample of 833 in the above article and 7 hospitalizations). Immune systems work! The other conclusion is that vaccinated people who get infected carry as much virus as the unvaccinated, this has been confirmed by the CDC.
I think the take home message is if you go to a super spreader event don’t be surprised if you get Covid, whether you’re vaccinated or not. It’s clearly still not a good idea to go to a crowded bar or restaurant if you are in a vulnerable category, and maybe there has been a small bit of overconfidence on display from the vaccinated.
So we are back to where we started, the vulnerable need to be protected, and thankfully based on the evidence vaccines are doing that.
The ZeroCoviders have lost interest in the UK and have now turned their attention to Florida.
Well done to those who said Ron Death Sentence was doing a great job.