Decent Journalism

[quote=ā€œMark Renton, post: 854343, member: 1796ā€]I hear you pal, we moved to moyross in the early days, all new built houses in Delmage pk. My whole street was full of young families looking for a fresh start and away from the old tenements in around the city. I guess what was strange about Moyross was that families moved from all sides of the City to live there, which may sound like nothing, but Limerick working class folk are very clannish and loyal to their side of town, probably the same country wide.

Anyway, hundreds of houses lashed up, and no facilities. We got out early enough, and growing up in a working class area like that was gas, always an argument amongst neighbours, every woman on the street acted like your mother, every game of soccer was a world cup final, throwing stones at the glue sniffers down the tracks, skinning orchards on the Ennis roadā€¦ At the time it was normal, but when I think back now some of the lads I went to school with or played soccer with came from totally destitute families. I remember one poor fucker who couldnā€™t afford shin guards, so he made his own from tins of beans and duct tape :smiley: Another poor lad would always be tapping you for the arse on whatever you were eating, he died at 10.

Of course this all became a breeding ground for crime, and while we were innocent out, the next lot were all too clued in and used by older lads for running drugs, guns, watching out of the pigs etc.

Of those that stayed on from my road, 1 in jail for double murder, 1 on the run for a few cases of GBH and another did time for busting up a bar and a few people in it. The surrounding streets are all the same, and I see that scumbag Gary Campion was in the news the other day, he got busted up in jail (his whole family are in for various murders). He lived around the corner and I stole his steel tennis racket from his front garden circa 1990ā€¦ take that gazza you lowlife cuntā€¦

All those houses are gone now and all folk in them are largely gone too. I actually saw the shin guards chap not so long ago in the city, with about 8 kids hanging off himā€¦ And on it goes.[/quote]
Renton >Frank mcCourt

[quote=ā€œKinvaraā€™s Passion, post: 854528, member: 686ā€]Tit on the outside :smiley:

It was a scintillating undercard to tit on the inside in fairness.

Down behind the sea wall in Kinvara on a cold autumnā€™s night after coming from a House of Pain gig in salthillā€¦ with the words of ā€œJohnny had a gunā€ still ringing in my young innocent headā€¦ hands blue and nervous.

She was a lovely girl.[/quote]
I may have been at that same gig mate-around 1995 maybe? I remember I was dying with a cold and too young and sick to be drinking but drank away. Everlast sprayed us with cans of Heineken as we hopped around Leisureland off our drunken teenage heads. Good times.

That was the gig. My first proper music event.

Outruled were the support act on the night. They were a band from Tuam. I bought their debut single in Zhivago the following Saturday and sure enough the lead singer was queuing behind me and seeing my purchase he stopped me and asked me did I enjoy the gig and signed the album for me. I was sure Iā€™d make a million off it some day.

Id say twas 1993 maybe? I definitely had tit on the inside well before 95.

I had pegged you for younger pal. Fair play to you for your youthful outlook and positive disposition.

[quote=ā€œMark Renton, post: 854343, member: 1796ā€]I hear you pal, we moved to moyross in the early days, all new built houses in Delmage pk. My whole street was full of young families looking for a fresh start and away from the old tenements in around the city. I guess what was strange about Moyross was that families moved from all sides of the City to live there, which may sound like nothing, but Limerick working class folk are very clannish and loyal to their side of town, probably the same country wide.

Anyway, hundreds of houses lashed up, and no facilities. We got out early enough, and growing up in a working class area like that was gas, always an argument amongst neighbours, every woman on the street acted like your mother, every game of soccer was a world cup final, throwing stones at the glue sniffers down the tracks, skinning orchards on the Ennis roadā€¦ At the time it was normal, but when I think back now some of the lads I went to school with or played soccer with came from totally destitute families. I remember one poor fucker who couldnā€™t afford shin guards, so he made his own from tins of beans and duct tape :smiley: Another poor lad would always be tapping you for the arse on whatever you were eating, he died at 10.

Of course this all became a breeding ground for crime, and while we were innocent out, the next lot were all too clued in and used by older lads for running drugs, guns, watching out of the pigs etc.

Of those that stayed on from my road, 1 in jail for double murder, 1 on the run for a few cases of GBH and another did time for busting up a bar and a few people in it. The surrounding streets are all the same, and I see that scumbag Gary Campion was in the news the other day, he got busted up in jail (his whole family are in for various murders). He lived around the corner and I stole his steel tennis racket from his front garden circa 1990ā€¦ take that gazza you lowlife cuntā€¦

All those houses are gone now and all folk in them are largely gone too. I actually saw the shin guards chap not so long ago in the city, with about 8 kids hanging off himā€¦ And on it goes.[/quote]

Outstanding stuff Renton.

Thatā€™s Limerick Citaaay! :clap::clap::clap:

[quote=ā€œKinvaraā€™s Passion, post: 854552, member: 686ā€]That was the gig. My first proper music event.

Outruled were the support act on the night. They were a band from Tuam. I bought their debut single in Zhivago the following Saturday and sure enough the lead singer was queuing behind me and seeing my purchase he stopped me and asked me did I enjoy the gig and signed the album for me. I was sure Iā€™d make a million off it some day.

Id say twas 1993 maybe? I definitely had tit on the inside well before 95.[/quote]
Ha my first music event also. Donā€™t remember the support act tbh. Jesus if it was 1993 I was 12 or maybe 13-thought I wouldā€™ve been older. I remember it was on a Friday night and my parents were gone away for the weekend and my two mates stayed in my house after the gig. My older sister and her friends were drinking in the house afterwards ā€œmindingā€ me and my younger brother. He was the only one not drinking in the house that night and nobody in the house was more than 16.

Fuck me and I canā€™t remember where I went on holidays last summer.

Thanks, pal. I like to use TFK to keep up with what youngsters like yourself and @Mark Renton get up to-keeps me fresh and bright.

Real Limerick people telling real Limerick storiesā€¦ McCourt had it fuckin easy the pussy.

Youā€™ve got your finger on the pulse Horsebox.

Thatā€™s what your mother said.

Iā€™m about the same age as your self kid, I just ride a lot of young wans is all, or at least I did.

Act your age.

Whatā€™s the age gap with your princess pal?

Youā€™re only as old as you feel Mark. Iā€™m 32 and I feel like a 29 and a half year old-life is great.

The day mother or fart jokes arenā€™t funny to me put a bullet in my head, mate.

5 years.

#nice

Smashing. How did she manage to tie you down Rents?

Youā€™d have to see her mate, a vision of beauty.

You know the rules.