My main Subbuteo team was Argentina. I still actually have them, a few broken and battered, but mostly intact.
I got Argentina and Italy Subbuteo teams as a present for my 11th birthday.
I fucking loved Subbuteo. I
also loved that battery-powered football game where you could move a player by moving the dial and then shoot/pass twisting said dial
Alas, along came Super Nintendo, megadrive and they were cast to the games cabinet to live a solutary existence beside jenga, checkers and guess who.
Iâm sure you do. You were also 14
Well hello Douglas Murray.
Was he any good?
Weâll have to wait on @Fagan_ODowd judgement here so. I think he was leaning towards Pele as the GOAT. Iâd be interested to see who heâd choose between Messi and Maradona. Though maybe he struggles to take the modern game seriously in a similar way to John Giles.
Youâd have to be at least 80 and have lived in Brazil between 1957 and 1970 to have an opinion on Pele worth listening to.
Pele was the greatest. As between Maradona and Messi well Maradonas performance at the 1986 World Cup was the greatest ever. Thatâs the long and the short of it. He didnât have the longevity of Messi but that is neither here or there. Messi did a McIlroy at the Masters at a number of World Cups before he finally fell over the line in 2022. He was a grand player at club level, but he was either not interested or couldnât handle the pressure at World Cups for a long time.
So if you canât handle the pressure at all world cups except one in the middle of your career itâs worth more than not handling the pressure at all world cups except one at the end of your career.
Pele and Maradona both won World Cups in Mexico. Messi still has to win a World Cup in Mexico. A minority of the World Cup which starts 421 days from now will be in Mexico. It would be great if Trump did something to get FIFA to take the hosting off the US and Mexico got the lot (I suppose Canada can still have its token amount of matches).
Mexican '26 sounds a lot better than Canusex '26 or United '26 or United 93 whatever itâs called.
âthe Trump World Cupâ
See also âThe Trump Olympicsâ and the â The Trump celebration of Americaâs 250th anniversaryâ
You wonât sleep tonight now.

âthe Trump World Cupâ
See also âThe Trump Olympicsâ and the â The Trump celebration of Americaâs 250th anniversaryâYou wonât sleep tonight now.
Sure Infantino has already been to the White House. He likes despots.
Itâll be a grotesque spectacle but sure we already have a grotesque spectacle every day of the week, every week.
I donât count the 1991-92 Rumbelows Cup as a proper competition because of Trumpâs involvement.
Rumbelows quickly went bankrupt and folded after their association with Trump. Saint and Greavsie was cancelled at the end of that season. Heâs that kind of guy.

I fucking loved Subbuteo. I
Subbuteo was all style over substance. It looked great but it was a fiddley fuck of a thing when you actually tried to play it.
The Undertones knew!
Even at the age of ten Smart boy
Kevin was a smart boy then
He always beat me at Subbuteo
'Cause he âflicked to kickâ
And I didnât know
Id a cunt of a neighbour who was a dinger at curling his player to strike the ball. Imvariably bate the bollix out of me when we played home or away
Super Cup Football, only from Tomy
Think they were in cahoots with Duracell. Plough through the batteries in an afternoon
What were the batteries for?
The flood lights?
It sounded like a con saw. Always reminds me of the half day before summer and Christmas when lads were allowed bring in their own toys