Disgraceful Scenes in Cork

Itā€™s at the next bridge down from Patrickā€™s Bridge, the one immediately westward

I too think itā€™s more recent footage, I donā€™t think itā€™s the James Duncan killing

Dunno,sent a lash of similar crap last year, doesnā€™t matter itā€™s awful shite altogether,Iā€™m big n bold,sons a black belt and donā€™t feel at all safe when we venture into town

That video will probably be used to convict the lad.

Phones are out all the time. Today in the pub lads were jumping around after landing a winner and two of the gang were recording it. Itā€™s everywhere, relentless, a joke.

Up to the point were he picked him up it seemed a ā€˜normalā€™ row, and despite the claims no one would have intervened.

With fatherhood and maturity I would nowadays try stop a row if I was beside it but itā€™s not always easy.

Irony bypass

Never ever get involved in an altercation where you donā€™t know the participants, itā€™s dodgy enough getting paid for exactly that inside a private premises but better some poor random bastard laying inside a coffin than yourself for attempting to be a hero.

Spot on.

If the offspring of some of the posters here did the same theyā€™d be so proud their kid recorded it & the film could help sentence the attacker. :man_shrugging:

I killed a man once in bare handed one to one combat. Someone tried to intervene and I killed him and his entire family.

How so

To make such a claim youā€™d have to understand what irony is in the first place, and in two years on this forum I donā€™t once recall a post in which you demonstrated any understanding of it

You donā€™t get it

Lads donā€™t understand the beast inside us all. I pray you never see yours.

@Corksfinedtboy has some boxing skills .

Heā€™d box the head off you

Donā€™t speak to me you parasite.

Lads going on about how the footage will convict the attackeršŸ˜‚. Do you think the gowl that recorded it went straight to the police with the footage? I doubt it. More likely will delete it from his phone and deny he recorded it. I donā€™t think the police can just use a recording they found online without proving who recorded it. Perhaps @artfoley would know better?

You wouldnā€™t be able for what heā€™d bring

I worked in pubs for long enough and have a good sense of sizing lads/trouble up, I canā€™t sit facing a door in a pub these days due to it as I will literally eye up every person who walks through it out of pure habit. I was never one for getting in rows as a younger man and often wondered about the mentality of those that do especially as most are due to small perceived slights but I do have one regret going back about 8 years ago when I was living in the uk.

I was in the Walkabout bar with a friend on a Saturday night. I spotted a group of lads who were absolutely bananas from drink and other substances, some of the group were drinking bottles of rose wine by the neck. The toilets were downstairs and there was a tight enough staircase. One of that group was walking down the steps ahead of me, another lad was coming up the stairs when the lad ahead of me blindsided the fella coming up the stairs with a dig and started grappling with him and roaring about some perceived slight.

From what i could gather from the shouting from the victim the two lads didnā€™t know each other and it was mistaken identity. I thumped the fella who started the whole thing and he fell down the last two steps, the other lad ran up the stairs. I walked out over my man and kept going to the jacks.

About a minute later as I was taking a piss at the urinal he burst into the jacks demanding to know who had hit him. There were three or four people in the jacks along with the African attendant. I turned around, said nothing and just stared at him waiting to see what move he would make. After a few seconds he left off a few expletives and left the toilet. I washed my hands and made small talk with the African lad and left the jacks about a minute later. As I turned the corner to the stairs i found a young lad laid out on the ground in a pool of blood, his jaw bust. He was 18 and about 11 stone. The prick who stormed out of the jacks in a temper had laid him out for no reason. It took me a minute to realise this as I was more worried about the young fella on ground unconscious. I went upstairs to seek out the assailant, him and his entourage had gone. There couldnā€™t have been more than 3 or 4 minutes between when he hit the young fella and the time I went upstairs, I still to this day donā€™t know what I would have done if he was still there.

I often think about that incident and the what ifs of it and unintended consequences. In hindsight I should have just left it well alone. Instead some poor young fella who was minding his own business ended up hospitalised and god only knows what impact it had on him mentally and emotionally and it could and should have been avoided if I had made different decisions.

I wouldnā€™t draw too much judgement on the lad with the phone in Cork. He wasnā€™t to know what was to happen and itā€™s not his fault that society has shifted to the point where everything is captured on phones these days.

Two completely different parts of Cork city you moron.

Cork is an awful place, no wonder you left

Thatā€™s a bit harsh. Iā€™m I wouldnā€™t know Cork that well. All I do know is that, as a general rule, they are know-it-allā€™s who know fuck-all at the back of it all cunts.