Does anyone here actually really like their work? PS please could you give a clue as to what you do if so

My boss today told us on our team MS teams group chat he had a Tony Soprano panic attack/mental breakdown yesterday evening.
We were shocked. That he had one but also that he told us (he might be regretting he informed us now perhaps)
In fairness he works insane hours, evenings, weekends often. A single man.
Still all us were shocked.
Anyway not sure of my point really. Be nice i suppose to others. You never know whats going on with someone etc etc

I believe our health service had some form of a mild cyber event today too. The CISO folk will be giving the chamomile teabag an extra squeeze tonight.

That poor man will drive himself into an early grave - for what?
This little fairytale just nails it nicely….

You should reach out to him. He might be looking for someone to talk to.

Aside from being the decent thing to do you might get a pay rise of it as an added bonus!

You’d wonder why, we all have our demons i suppose.

Fair play to him for being so open. If he has any sense he’ll take a good chunk of stress leave and pick up a healthy hobby or two. Some fellas need to be told this though.

Our job is all targets, deadlines and so on. It can be stressful to say the least. He is a gym bunny in fairness but outside of that, I’m not sure really what he does for hobbies. Ah he is a good guy (younger than me too).
My wife has met him a few times at work events, she wasnt too surprised, thinks he has bad social anxiety

My bro in law had similar a few years ago… worked all hours in a shit job after he got made redundant from a good gig. Was trying to prove something i think… anyway, he just completely snapped one day and walked out the door - serious breakdown. He had a good wife to push him to a counsellor and get the medication he needed for a while… maybe check in with him on this front, is he talking to anyone about it.

He’s shown weakness. Like Jerry Maguire, he is now finished

Does he live nearby you or any colleagues? Might be dealing with some loneliness as well. Maybe a walk or something.

Now is the time to go over his head to his boss, tell him your man isn’t able and you’ll take over.

It’s not personal, it’s business

I like how you think

Chaos is a ladder

He is UK based, living in the area where he grow up. Lots of family around.
Not the type to talk openly however. Another lad in our team lives near him so he’ll definitely reach out.
Anyway i sent him a 1-1 message on teams earlier saying i know well how life can be shit and the importance of taking a break. No reply which isnt like him at all! He either hates me or actually taking a break for once :crazy_face:

In fairness his boss used to be my boss a few years back. I know him well.
Although feck that going into management. Not for me. I can barely manage myself and it may disturb my daily post lunch naps

Poor fella and he obviously thinks very highly of ye to reveal that.

Stress-leave seems the way to go. Easier said than done because he’d need to be braced to ignore the professional snobbery that comes with it. Life is much more than work but I know for the professionally motivated it can feel like a death knell for their ambitions. Higher-ups will still take the stone-age outlook that your boss couldn’t handle the responsibilities but fuck them anyways.

I regularly tell my troops of dossers and graduates that all the unpaid overtime and weekend work is quickly forgotten when the top brass need to trim headcount. You need to have a balance where you forgot about your job when you log off or leave the building.

My missus uncle had a very stressful job as a PM. I’d say its a cunt of a job, at least i get good bonuses and commission for the stress.
Anyway kids grown up, mortgage paid. He said fuck this and took a handy delivery job. Pop home for lunch, podcasts in the van, bliss.
As a mad side story, the job was delivering bloods to hospitals and various medical spots. Didnt he have a massive heart attack when he happened to be delivering bloods to a hospital. Talk about being in the right place at the right time! Was clinically dead for 9 minutes but the hospital staff resuscitated him. He is pretty grand now the lucky fucker!
I asked him whether he saw any tunnel etc but alas no, nothing, zilch. Sorry religious folk

I’ve cried twice in my life. By the time tyrone cheated their third all ireland, i had no tears left.

Fin. Fuck this shit

Best of luck on your travels pal. Hope it brings you some peace.

Fight the power