Does whiskey go off after its been open for a bit?

Queens shillings

Perhaps another straw in the wind for what will be good, down.the line:

There’ll be carnage. There’s a heap of new distilleries where the diggers are only going in turning the turf now. I think I read there’s 3-4 alone in construction around Kerry. It’s utter madness and has a real bang of Celtic tiger off it. There will be a trail of unpaid debts somewhere down the line, and you’re right that it’ll be canny bonders who’ll benefit once they establish whose liquor is worth salvaging from the ruins.

Snap.

Unfortunately…

I think a lot of lads (I’ll probably do it) are buying a cask between a few lads to have an interest and if worse comes to worst will have 250 bottles of crap whiskey for Christmas presents

It’s certainly a charter for spoofers and charlatans. A lot of places don’t even offer own bonded warehouse which seems dodgy

Have never looked into buying a cask, as an investor, because this option seems to me the ultimate in blindfolded darts. And I believe the hidden costs in getting a cask bottled can be considerable.

Anyhow, how many people who buy a cask know the distillery’s caskbill, a crucial factor in eventual quality? Type of warehouse, as broached before in this thread, is likewise central in a quieter fashion. Casks stored in a warehouse with a concrete floor supposedly mature less well than casks stored in a dunnage warehouse – but dunnage is more expensive and far less space efficient. So… We can guess what type of warehouse start ups will prefer.

A still can be fitted into a relatively compact space. Warehouses are obviously another matter. No surprise, then, about new distilleries with no provision for adjacent bonded cask storage. There is a gold rush feel…

Yeah - duty VAT bottling and labelling is probably four to six grand or so.

Trying to duplicate something because it sounds easy can be a foolish strategy.

It’s about a third again when you’ve added duty and bottling.

The other issue is that Waterfords’ outstanding marketing and subsequent stratospheric resale value have made startup whiskey a speculative bubble. The taste of the stuff is of secondary importance, if that.

Very much so. Not sure of you follow the a, particularly the Irish ones lately, have seen crazy money exchanged. Reputable, well-aged Scotch going for half what some start-up’s 3 year old with a fancy name goes for. It’s completely unsustainable

What’s the A? The irish whiskey auction? I look in on that alright each month, it’s a real sellers market, in only 12 months everything has gone up a mile and the auction has really taken off.

Yeah. It’s gotten much more popular than the owners were expecting. Site regularly crashes towards the end of the auction.

It’s very much a sellers market. I can’t see how these mad prices will continue though. Someone is going to get lumbered with an expensive whiskey collection that’s suddenly worth fuck all.

They might even have to drink some of it

God forbid

Fair play to you for having such a sharp memory… I did say “tannic”. Checked.

Basically, I was much less impressed by the bottle of Red Spot I subsequently bought than by the shot in the pub. Probably natural. A pub is for unthinking enjoyment and they were giving me the first shot. Would have been a bit churlish not to be positive.

I gave the bottle plenty of time and drank other stuff beside it, which I like to do with a significant bottle.

Not that Red Spot, by any means, is poor whiskey. Just a bit hyped.

One of the papers was saying McGregor sold his stake in his whiskey company for €300m… that’s some money in a short time.

Him and his manager sold their share for €130m so McGregor gets €65m if they were 50/50. His overall wealth is now meant to be £300m but I’d say that’s exaggerated

@Mac

Another crowd doing similar to the dick macks offer… Albeit smaller miniature sizes

cc @gilgamboa :wink: