They have a senior B football championship afaik. It’s there 33rd best team v Kildare/Meaths 13th afaik.
That makes sense now. Still seems wrong, but what’s the point of getting some big club maybe pissing the intermediate at the same time? Hardship.
In football there is a separate championship for club second teams so you don’t get a big club winning the Senior B or Intermediate.
Regardless if we stopped playing to clubs egos and called our second championships Intermediateand our third championship junior we would be much more successful at leinster club at these levels.
Tbh with you, I had a feeling there was something along that line in terms of ego. Kerry are probably the most successful in the country at winning provincial club football, Kk at hurling also I’m guessing. Would do ya’s no harm.
We better hope Pat McDonagh stays on board🫣
Hard to get lads who have invested so much for so long (these were proper length seasons) to commit again I’d imagine, after putting all other work/ family/ life commitments on the back burner. It would be a tough sell to potentially go back to that or something potentially more time consuming. Another downside of success
Roughly translated as "Lads got a pain in their bollox winning All Ireland’s ".
It’s tough at the top
Don McLean. ![]()
![]()
Con for O’Dell and that forward line is the best in the country.
What country?
I only mentioned Sean Doherty in conversation to a Wickow man the other night. Anton O’Toole was the first of the gang to die. They’re departing at a rate of knots now. Roy Curtis will be kept busy over the next few years.
@Fat_Pox @binkybarnes what’s the craic with Niall O Ceallachain anyway? Did he just manage up through the ranks of Na Fianna? Like I’d have never heard of him before this year I’ll be honest. Doubt he even played hurling with Dubs? Obviously has a great mind, and a positive future as a manager.
@binkybarnes would be better than me to answer this.
He played minor and combined schools hurling for Dublin around 00/01. Conal Keaney would be the same team. Fairly sure after that Naf was all he played.
Would have taken a few underage teams in Naf while still playing senior and won 14s/16s/minor county finals.
Managed their seniors about 10 years for 2/3 years. The first batch of good players were coming on stream then. Id say a co QF was as far as they got.
Took over again in 2020. A long journey, sf loss in year 1, co final losses in year 2 +3, Leinster final loss in year 4, AI in year 5.
I’m told he is very well organised and a brilliant delegator.
Yeah. @Fat_Pox more or less covers it. Nellie would have hurled with na fianna when hurling was an afterthought. Started coaching juveniles at a very young age when he was still playing. He would have coached previous Dublin players like Tomas Brady, Joey Boland and Jonny Cooper. Then was the driving force behind the seniors rise to success. Very smart man and an alright sort.
Cheers men
ah he interests me, cause it just doesn’t feel like your typical Dublin hurling appointment. He strikes me as a smart fella with a very bright future ahead of him. Hopefully the county board for the sake of Dublin hurling work with him to strengthen the hurling squad.
cause it just doesn’t feel like your typical Dublin hurling appointment.
That’s because he’s not from Galway. ![]()
Be interested in your end-of-term assessment of management’s performance. They’re the best we have, and inexperience at this level is a given. However, they did some stuff very well but some other stuff was head-scratching I feel.
I think they have had a solid year. Beating Limerick and getting to an AI semi final being the highlight. The Galway loss as well as the Offaly and Waterford ones in the league with 14 were galling.
I think difficult and courageous decisions need to be taken next year.
-
I’d be going hard to get EOD and Con to join the squad. Gamechangers at both ends of the field. EOD ain’t perfect but he is a step up on 3 at the highest level.
-
The biggest problem is 6. Chris is not the answer. I’d be radical and propose Donal Burke there. I’m fairly sure he played minor there. An excellent reader of things, good in the air and brilliant in possession. I could see him doing a Hannon conversion. He is finished as an IC forward for me.
-
There needs to be a focal ball winner in the HFL alongside runners. Our puckouts were okay this year but now layers need to be developed on them.
-
The brainfart moments need to be eradicated. The red cards in league, the non shows for a half vs KK and the full game vs Galway
Get the four things above sorted and Dublin are in a right place. For the first time in my time here there is genuine depth in the county. There is a 15 not on the county panel that would give the subs a real good game.
(J Tracey,
Eddie Moran, E Donnell,Donncha Ryan
Cian O Cathasaigh, M Grogan, Conor Murray
Dara Purcel Brian Ryan
Ciaran Stacey, Joe Flanagan Darach McBride
Alex Considine Cian Boyle Ben Coffey)
I’m looking forward now to the county championship and hope a few more lads can kick on.
Here is an aspirational team for next year.
Gibbons
Smyth
O Donnell
Lucey
Doyle
Donal Burke
O Riain
Conor Burke
Brian Hayes
Sean Currie
Chris Crummy
Ronan Hayes