Cancer but got aggressive very quick
A great pal of my dad since his college days, a group of them used to meet up three or four times a year, he will be greatly missed. RIP
Its a horrible, horrible thing and it really drives it home when you see a man who was a tower of strength in his prime stricken so quickly.
He was Mr. Dublin Football back in the day. My father loves talking about the All Ireland under 21 Final in 1975. Kerry rocked on to Sean Treacy Park in Tipp Town with Paidi O’Se, Pat Spillane, Jack O’Shea etc. All those very good lads who had won a Senior All Ireland a few weeks previous. Mullins had won a Senior AI in 74 and tried to take them all on by himself. When men were men.
At the Dublin camogie final in Parnell Park. Na fianna v Vincents. I’d say there is 3k here. Mots sport is rising.
Taggy fogarty and canice hickey coaching Vincent’s!
My dad played against Dublin in the 74 Leinster u-21 final in Dr. Cullen Park. He’d been working in London for the summer and only flew into Dublin the morning of the match. He’d no way of getting down to Carlow so he gave Mullins a call. Long story short my Dad ends up travelling down on the Dublin team bus. Needless to say Wexford lost.
RIP
There’s nothing this prick can’t taint
Its some pity the modern Dublin Team never played a proper knockout match outside Croke Park. Just 1 would have been incredible.
Reading a bit about Cork '83 here and it must have been amazing. The Jackeen’s going down there into the trenches and walking all over the cunts.
2001 in Thurles is still spoken about glowingly too.
A pity neither the 2013 or 2016 Semi Final’s against Kerry didnt finish level. Thurles would have been perfect a replay.
I’d say the old man wouldn’t have had it any other way.
By the way is this not a semi final?
It would be a semi
It is - surprised to see the son Nathan playing
Said in the paper this morning that he grew up in Clontarf. How did he end up transferring to Vincent’s?
Semi final alright. The young lad got sent off for an off the ball incident.
That was the senior A final 9 years ago. Clubs can slip back easy. Vins the better team there today though with a lot of their old brigade. Small ball now no1 in OPER.
You’d think Brigids, OPER and Vinnies should be comfortable Senior 1 teams. Think that’s Vinnies back up now anyway?
Will the Senior 2 Final be curtain raiser to Senior 1 on Sunday Oct 16th?
Vincents back up. Winners of Brigids/Syls will join them.
Brigids and OPER are stronger in hurling than football presently.
Hard to see anyone outside the current senior A semi finalists win it in the next 3 years.
back then it wouldnt have been uncommon for those living in clontarf and raheny to play with Vincents
Vincents also had a not so proud tradition of poaching promising juvenile players from smaller neighbouring clubs.
Na Fianna gave Ballyboden a nice hiding. 1-14 to 0-7

Small ball now no1 in OPER.
It took me way too long to work out who OPER were…