I wouldn’t get offended by much but there’s a lot of people out there who know someone affected by the damage these stupid pills can cause at Festivals so it was a silly enough comment from Will.
John Small makes his first appearance of 2025 in the Dublin panel. Those ‘in the know’ furiously deleting posts and tweets
The Dublin Junior H ( Yes H!) hurling championship draw is a mystery
8 teams in one group and 5 in the other!
If you knew the lad in charge of this stuff you wouldn’t be surprised
The lower reaches of Dublin hurling (as u know) is a broad church. Lgbtq teams, an irish speaking team, teams made up exclusively of lonely country lads and bangers. It has always been thus.
I played a match in the mental hospital in Grangegorman in the late 80s against St Brendan’s and they played 2 x surprised looking patients who happened to be passing, as corner forwards to make up the numbers. Around that time New Ireland’s had a fearsome one legged goalkeeper who wore a Donie Cassidy style wig. You could come across All Ireland winners like Mj Ryan or Richie Reid or Mick Holden playing Division 8 in Tymon on a sunny Saturday evening in july. Vinnie Murphy came on at half time against us in his jeans and runners the Friday evening before a Leinster Football Final in 1992. He scored about 3-5 the cunt.
Played a couple of games in this last year. It was as bad as it sounds. Marked a fella one night that must have just taken up the sport recently. If that’s not the case you’d fear for the chap.
It is as you describe it Binky and sure that is what makes it great !
Fair play to Vinny for stepping in with his pair of jeans and runners on the eve of the Leinster final! I came across Vinny in the early 2000s down in AHL10 when he had put on bit more weight , he was with St Monica’s then, he was playing centre back, reading the play well and lashing the ball over the bar from distance
More than seldom one can run into very good hurlers down at that level
Some country lad that is a banger and hurls a bit in Dublin a bit mid week to stay sharp for his club at home who he is still playing with
A footballer who is a very good footballer playing a high level of football, flying fit who is also a fine hurler but might not have played in a while as he kind of jacked it to focus on football. then the footballers are knocked of the championship and he rocks up to play a bit of junior G or Junior H hurling
A lad that is not a banger from the country or a footballer but actually a fine hurler who is too lazy to play for the higher team in his club or maybe just life circumstances mean that he cant commit to it and then the cunt lords it down in G & H
It is quite a mix down there!
Who would be the worst clubs for this? St Joseph O’Connell’s and The Civil Service would be two that spring to mind. Did a bit of it with Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruadh myself. their second hurling team. I don’t know what division they would be in as I figured the less I knew the better
Portobello were demons for it. Their team photo would be in the herald Tuesday after a game and half the team would be looking at the ground.
If you weren’t asked to tog for Portobello at some stage were you even a culchie
Fair amount of lads pulled a Padraig Pearse for those photos.
I believe @Fat_Pox got a bit of a runaround from a Ballygunner All Ireland Club winner lining out for Portobello a couple of years back.
Park Rangers were notorious for it too but think they’ve folded now. Good few of them used to drink in the millennium bar on parkgate st. Rough enough spot but a warm welcome - we put down a serious afternoon/evening there after a challenge game with them.
Alan Mccrabbe is like a QB in goals for Craobh Ciarán at the lower levels of Dublin hurling the last few years. Putting balls into lads pockets.
Given the standard I’m pretty sure I will still be going strong in 7 or 8 years time at this level
That’s right. We came across a Portabello team 2/3 years back. They were ripping everyone apart in the league so we were expecting a hammering.
My position at 11 quickly became sweeper at a damage limitation level. Got chatting to a few of their players at a break in play to find out who their really good players were. They had a “Johhnny Glynn” man mountain from Galway who had played senior club in Galway the previous year. The other player was a midfielder who was everywhere and must have scored 8/9 points from play. Turned out it was a Ballygunner lad who only a few months previous was on their 24 that won the club AI.
This lad…The deadliest goalscorer in club hurling can't be far off Waterford call-up - SportsJOE.ie
We took our 55 point hammering only to be duly awarded the two points for the game when Dublin County board looked into the Portobello team sheet and found a load of bangers and they were subsequently kicked off it.
I’d love to be playing in 7/8 years but I find my knees to be in bits after games. Every other part of me would be well able but walking like a cripple until Wednesday isn’t worth it anymore. I intend on only playing every 2nd game this year.
Like a malahide Paul McGrath.
That just happen to be home games!!!
Only played last year because we had 3 home games and one away game in a park local aswell. Didn’t go to the other away game, was busy that night.