Dublin Pubs - Hall of Fame

A victim of its own success. Should never have bothered extending it in the first place

It always struck me as a lawless place from when I saw the manager swing a punch at a drunk customer who was taking too long to pay.

A hellhole.

In fairness the sewage was beginning to leak through the roof and the stairs was a death trap.

Twas a grand spot.

I remember Peter letting one of the lads I knew sleep under the jukebox.

From about 2014 it did get too busy tbf.

Peters son used to be on springs behind the bar. It was impressive how he could get over the
Top of the bar and into the melee.

I randomly bumped into him in New York. A nice lad too.

Yes fair enough but they made it too big and when they had a reputation of playing fast and loose with opening and closing time laws they made a rod for their own back. I’d say the guards were mad to get one over on them for a long time.

I preferred it as a daytime or early evening drinking spot

Ya I don’t go there much since it got done up.

Dublin losing a lot of late night spots. The days of being in coppers till it was bright are long gone now as well.

The Ryans themselves are proud publicans no?

They must be disgusted with the carry on.

If the guards actually wanted to stop it, they could just you know. Stop it.

The station is about a two minute walk away

The rugby crowd ruined it for everyone

Surprised at this. Thought Peter had the Gardai onside. Must be plenty of custom from the old Harcourt days.

Are they any relation to the Chaplins Ryans ?

Don’t know that; the families of Dublin publicans wouldn’t be my area of expertise but I’m sure we’ll have someone on to set us straight

T hey’ve had the place for donkeys years.
Old Norrie Ryan was a tough woman behind the bar back in the Seventies. Took no nonsense.
Was a place popular with guards and Faughs. Often intertwined!

Is it closed down ? Of their own volition or taken out of their hands?

I read it that the old licence remains, but the expansion they’ve been chancing their arm with is gone

It’s been gone two years now I’d say

I always assumed they had some arrangement with the Gardai considering how clearly they flouted the lockdown rules right in the middle of the city centre

They did.

During Covid I think the judge who dealt with licences changed and coppers and Ryan’s fell on their sword.