Eircom Broadband

Seems that Eircoms DNS servers got banjaxed over the weekend, possibly due to hacking, and there have been serious issues all over the country as a result. My internet at home was dog slow all day yesterday.

Seemingly people trying to get to sites like Facebook and RTE were instead directed pictures of nuddie ladies.

[quote=“The Runt”]
Seemingly people trying to get to sites like Facebook and RTE were instead directed pictures of nuddie ladies.[/QUOTE]

sounds like MBB’s modus operandi.

i had no access to internet because of this from about 8/9 last nite and the night before… rang up and they couldnt even give an estimated time they hoped to have it fixed by…

If it’s still affecting you tonight, and assuming your reasonably ok at using computer using this should solve your problem:

https://www.opendns.com/start/

It’s a free DNS server that you can use instead of Eircoms own servers. You need to log onto your router, enter Expert mode and enter the DNS settings given at that website.

Easy lads, the internet isn’t broke…

Brief statement from eircom.

Some eircom.net customers may have recently experienced delays in web browsing and may have been unable to access the Internet. In some cases, customers may have been redirected to incorrect websites.

This issue has been caused by an unusual and irregular volume of internet traffic being directed onto our network, and this impacted the systems and servers that provide access to the Internet for our customers.

eircom is working continuously to minimise the impact for customers and has taken a number of steps, including software updates and hardware interventions, to fully restore internet service.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Easy lads, the internet isn’t broke…

Some eircom.net customers may have recently experienced delays in web browsing and may have been unable to access the Internet. In some cases, customers may have been redirected to incorrect websites.

This issue has been caused by an unusual and irregular volume of internet traffic being directed onto our network, and this impacted the systems and servers that provide access to the Internet for our customers.

eircom is working continuously to minimise the impact for customers and has taken a number of steps, including software updates and hardware interventions, to fully restore internet service.[/QUOTE]

Of course they’ll say that. It’s been going on since last week and they are only making a statement now. The fact that web pages were being redirected to specific advertising portals would point to their servers being hacked.

[quote=“The Runt”]If it’s still affecting you tonight, and assuming your reasonably ok at using computer using this should solve your problem:

https://www.opendns.com/start/

It’s a free DNS server that you can use instead of Eircoms own servers. You need to log onto your router, enter Expert mode and enter the DNS settings given at that website.[/QUOTE]

Jesus but you’re a right handy fella, runt

the quality of service over the last number of weeks has been dire… hmm now if only i had money to buy a decent router instead of shitty free one we got from eircom bout 4 years ago

Your router won’t make much a difference. The quality of service with Eircom lines in generally shit.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Easy lads, the internet isn’t broke…

eircom is working continuously to minimise the impact for customers and has taken a number of steps, including software updates and hardware interventions, to fully restore internet service.[/QUOTE]

Stewie: “Rupert, did you know that the word ‘gullible’ isn’t in the dictionary? …[passes dictionary to Rupert]… What’s that, it ISN’T? …[takes dictionary]… Oh, Rupert, hoisted by my own petard! Haha! Haha!..I am so alone…”

He’s someone you need in a tight spot.

Some sites didnt load for me such as youtube/bbc etc and I had to refresh my browser a few times to get them. I was messing around with the router the last few days so its Eircom fault. Feckers.

ya na the router is shite too … even before the quality of service was dipping completely… but router keeps dropping connections if you have anything downloading … and the wireless has to be kept been rest

Thinly veiled “I haven’t been able to watch porn in days” post there from Shan…

Thinly veiled “I haven’t been able to watch porn in days” post there from Shan…[/quote]

You got me there. Least I have my “private” stash on the comp. :smiley:

Eircom Internet services hit by new cyber attack

Eircom Internet services were seriously disrupted again last night due to another suspected cyber attack.

Many of the company’s 500,000 subscribers suffered Internet outages or delays after what the firm says was an “unusual and irregular volume of traffic”.

The situation reoccurred yesterday, but services were restored last night and technical experts are now working to determine the source of the problem.

The outages are likely to have been caused by a deliberate attack on the Eircom network by computer hackers.

[quote=“The Runt”]Eircom Internet services hit by new cyber attack

Eircom Internet services were seriously disrupted again last night due to another suspected cyber attack.

Many of the company’s 500,000 subscribers suffered Internet outages or delays after what the firm says was an “unusual and irregular volume of traffic”.

The situation reoccurred yesterday, but services were restored last night and technical experts are now working to determine the source of the problem.

The outages are likely to have been caused by a deliberate attack on the Eircom network by computer hackers.[/quote]

Don’t I fucking know. The dessie was like a maniac looking at the router settings. I told him that he shouldn’t bother because Eircom are shite and that a move to NTL 20mb broadband is the only option.

Magnet 50MB, your only job.

Hi yo. Nice one for pointing me in that direction. Will have a look into it.

Ya, sounds great but it is pricey:

http://www.magnetentertainment.ie/products/index.htm

They are a good good crowd to deal with though.