Electric Picnic 09

Electric Picnic 08

Dont know if there’s an existing thread on this but is anyone going this year??

There’s a really great line up.

Acts to see; Sigur Ros
Tinariwen
Sex Pistols
Jape
Cut Copy
Hercules and Love Affair
Elbow
My Bloddy Valentine

and maybe a bit of christy moore/crystal castle/goldfrapp if there’s time.

The silent disco and the pussy parlour will be host to much maggot acting!!

Is it 09 already?! Where the fuck did 08 go?!!!

You’re my boy blue !!

Saw Tinariwen at a free gig in meeting house square last night and was very impressed. Looking forward to seeing

Underworld
Sigur Ros
George Clinton & the P-funk allstars
Digitalism &
Booka Shade

also

Not going but if I was…

Joan As Policewoman
My Bloody Valentine
The Breeders
Giveamanakick
That Petrol Emotion
CSS
Grinderman
Jape
Sex Pistols
Underworld

…would interest me.

It’s a good line-up, and I’d like to go, but I’m not missing Dublin’s semi-final in Croker that weekend. First things first. Not even entertaining the possibility we won’t be there.

What do ye make of the ol picnic as a venue lads? I reside not too far from there in the big smoke of the big town, looks like a weekend of debauchery from the distance, the locals do alright out of it.

I think it’s perfect. Far enough away from any city to keep away the undesirables. It also helps that not too many main stream acts play i guess.

It’s also Near enough to the ‘big town’ for a fry up! A good start makes all the difference at these things.

It’s a crackin weekend altogether. Also good no clash with the All-Ireland final this year.

Jape and the Breeders are the particular alure but to be honest the line-up is somewhat immaterial as there will be cans for breakfast regardless.

anyone at mark ronson last night? heard it was awesome

Anyone else going to what promises to be the best weekend of the year bar none ???

sure am. stockin up on nobleman & dry orchard. i will be wide of plainclothes cops this time the fuckers

Cunts are all over the place and their attire is gas… pretending to stumble around with a can of dutch gold while wearing something like a bob marley t-shirt, or some shite reference to one drug or another “free the weed”.

We got hit by a swarm of such gee bags a few years back, couldn’t stop laughing at the get up of them during the “Ordeal” … but then again i wasn’t carrying anything unlike some of my mates so i could laugh, nor had i a joint in my mouth while telling the boys about the bird i had shagged the night before when they swooped… Whats your memory of events Phil??

[quote=“ChocolateMice”]Cunts are all over the place and their attire is gas… pretending to stumble around with a can of dutch gold while wearing something like a bob marley t-shirt, or some shite reference to one drug or another “free the weed”.

We got hit by a swarm of such gee bags a few years back, couldn’t stop laughing at the get up of them during the “Ordeal” … but then again i wasn’t carrying anything unlike some of my mates so i could laugh, nor had i a joint in my mouth while telling the boys about the bird i had shagged the night before when they swooped… Whats your memory of events Phil??[/quote]

Aaaahhh yes ChocolateMice …

Electric Picnic of 2005. What a weekend - its hard to believe its 3 years ago already. I can remember it all like yesterday…up the front at Arcade Fire in a tent with about 8,000 other punters when the place could only hold 4,000 at best I’d say, James Blunt getting battered with eggs, all the batty boys giving it loads to Human League, one of the lads going missing for half the weekend after taking some insane magic mushies and of course Chocolatemice losing his temper with his mates in a drink fuelled rage more than once! what a plonker!

Back then there was no music on the Friday night - just Lost Vagueness and the Silent Disco so the place was like Coppers in a field with 25,000 people all well up for it. Glastonbury has 2 nights like that and the atmosphere is foookin class with the anticipation of the main event. Anyway late that Friday a few of us are out maggot-acting as you do and I end up with this fairly fit but extremely posh D4 type bird. I’m thinking ‘right this one will be hard work’ but alas after plenty of Limerick charms and without too much effort really its back to my tent for an all night session of filth. I had to kick one of the lads (that had gone till sleep at midnight) out of the tent, which for him meant a 2 mile walk back to the car at 4am in the morning! Top man in fairness and still reminds me that I owe him big time. Anyway its mid morning time the next day, the posh bird has departed, I’ve had zero sleep and I’ve got my head sticking out of my tent joint in mouth while all the boys (perverts everyone of them) are sitting around in the circle around my tent looking for the lowdown the previous night. Next thing my weary eyes make eye contact with this blonde bird about 10 metres away looking over and smiling back at me - there’s me thinking bloody hell this is my kind of festival as she continues smiling and starts strolling over to us. She gets over beside me and kneels down - I’m about to hand our the bloody J when she pops up with a nice smirk “Gardai lads” and suddenly we all notice that we’ve got loads of the undercover cunts that CM described above all around us. In the end it was mainly friendly banter as they knew we were decent bunch of lads. They did find some stuff (not all) and took some names but they pretty much told us nothing would come out of it which was true. Still its best to be careful always as a mate of mine ended up with a day in court after being caught with one pill going into Creamfields. Court day ended up clashing with a family members wedding so was a nightmare for him.

Hopefully for me personally EP 2008 will be less of the latter and more of the former from the story above. Roll on tomorrow…

Did you get hit with a fine or anything Phil? Seems fairly up to their discretion whether they confiscate or decide to prosecute.

cops attitude a lot different in creamfields as well id say, full of skanks

Have worked at a fair few concerts over the years and you’ll usually find it can come down to the attitude of the cop, the amount they find, and how much of an arsehole you act when they take it off you. Found one lad going into Oxegen with 350 pills and he tried to convince the garda they were for personal consumption

She searched me and found nothing and even though I had a spliff in my hand she didn’t bother taking my details. They found smoke on some of the other lads but nothing major. Nobody ever heard anything back so all they did was confiscate the weed and that was the end of story from there.

But I it could depend on the type of cops. They were fairly sound in all fairness and the female cop ended up knowing some people we knew from Limerick so perhaps we got lucky.

She searched me and found nothing and even though I had a spliff in my hand she didn’t bother taking my details. They found smoke on some of the other lads but nothing major. Nobody ever heard anything back so all they did was confiscate the weed and that was the end of story from there.

But I it could depend on the type of cops. They were fairly sound in all fairness and the female cop ended up knowing some people we knew from Limerick so perhaps we got lucky.

The memory isn 't the best these days is it Phil? you seem to have left out the part about the D4 bird wearing big red boots and how you made her leave them on in the tent when you got down to business! Little red riding boots or something i believe you called her… Omega 3 or fish oils are good for the memory.

I later seen the same crew of cops eyeing up two lads who were sitting on the ground having a smoke. I strolled over to them and said “you are about to be busted by drug squad if you have anything dump it”, but not a hope in hell did they believe me and swore they had nothing. “Your gand so” i says and in came the boyo’s, “drug squad, empty your pockets” and the two lads throw out a a little bag of pills and some hash. I recall the cops saying the boys would hear about it and if they had only listened to the kind words of a very druken stranger they could have avoided it.